We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and presentation!”
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and presentation!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I ate here just last night and can't say enough positive things about our experience. The atmosphere on the beach is incredible and the service matched the ambience. We both chose the 'surf and turf 2' -- steak and shrimp--and it was delicious along with a tasty, cheesy baked potato and grilled eggplant. Presentation on handmade, wooden platters was unique. We will definitely return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    166
    63
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Genius”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is such a creative/genius way to cook. We visited the Manuel Antonio location and it was the perfect spot to watch the sunset. I had a NY strip, cooked to perfection and full of flavor. The potatoe was one of the best I've ever had. Loved it

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This is really hidden away, we only decided to look for it from TA reviews. Thank you TA excellent food and service.A little walk on the beach however it is lit. The steaks were delicious. Yes its a little expensive compared to others . The portions are a godd size though.Dont miss is. They give you a 20% off voucher for next time too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice friendly resto”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good value for money - not exactly cheap but marvellous place, at the beach. Nicely furbished with wooden chairs, very good meat, excellent calamares, grilled veggies. We also loved your piña colada, margarita and caipi's ;-)!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion_vdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“very good beef”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we always go to Lagarto when we feels like eating a good steak! nice location on the beach and under a big tree, nice atmosphere and good service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smartins478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing