We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach”
Review of Samara Beach

Samara Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Samara Beach Stand Up Paddle and Snorkeling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frittenden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great beach”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

watch the surfing, have a cocktail, watch the horses and dogs! We loved it and it was very quiet and clean. Longing to go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaFrittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    299
    98
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surf beach”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nice beach, with lots of restaurants/bars; surf ideal for beginner surfers. Strong undertow, so caution with children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KreaHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hazelton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and beautiful”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

So nice, so quiet, amazing sunsets!! There are jelly fish…so prepare yourself… but truly an amazing place!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Playa Buena”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Nice beach for jogging, walking, swimming and surfing. Safe to walk at night as well. There is also a fresh water shower near Ticos Surf inside the banyon tree. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Matheus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and not too touristy”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

When planning our trip to Costa Rica,we debating between about three Pacific coast beaches, and ended up with Samara. We wanted to avoid a touristy beach, and were happy with this choice. However, as we had reach on the message boards (which seemed to be debated), there was poop (horse, perhaps dog as well) on the beach. I can attest because although I was being very vigilant, I still managed to step in some--ugh.

We went sea kayaking and snorkeling here which was fun. I'd recommend a stop here--just make sure you look where you are walking!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank etak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara Beach also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing