We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samara Beach

Samara Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Samara Beach Stand Up Paddle and Snorkeling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This in to a tourist over run location. A good mix of tourists and locals makes for a great time. The restaurants and bars on the sand and great surf/boogie board waves make this a place to hang out all day. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    299
    98
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Samara is a great beach that's wide and clean with many great restaurants and activities. You can lie on the beach, rent a boogie board or surf board, ride a horse, or hang out at one of the restaurants with a cold drink.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annette010160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice beach which is great for children to learn the surf. Boggy boards are readily available for C1000 (or $2) per hour. Not too crowded and enough locals to make it unique.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4_inda_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Rancho De La Playa in Samara. Absolutely marvelous trip. Beautiful sunsets each night and relaxing days in a calm Pacific Ocean. During an afternoon stroll down the beach, we heard Howler monkeys just off the beach. We were able to walk directly under the trees and watch the monkeys, including a baby jumping around in the tree. Great family vacation spot!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not what I expected but extremely relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was at the beach late November/December. Aside from the nightly beach fire there was virtually no trash on the beach. I collected beautiful seashells. Which the Costa Rican TSA promptly took from me at the airport. Pack them in a carry on and don't take any live animals which I did not. Everyone goes to the beach in Samara and everyone is extremely friendly. I was initially disappointed expecting a white sand beach, then the picturqueseness of the beach and the people far outweighed any disappointment. There was plenty of space at times it seemed like a beautiful deserted island cove.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank katlat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara Beach also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing