We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach in Costa Rica”
Review of Samara Beach

Samara Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Small-Group Ocean Kayak and Snorkeling Tour in Chora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Costa Rica”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Samara Beach is wonderful! The waters are easy for swimming and for those who want to surf there are different times of day to surf depending upon the tide. You don't really need water shoes here as the beach is a sandy bottom. If you are hungry and want to get a bite to eat while your at the beach there are several restaurants. My fav is Gustos at the Beach...try their watermelon water...know it sounds wierd, but it is wonderful!

At night the restaurants have the palm trees lit and it is a fabulous way to end your evening. You are not in the US so there will be dogs at the beach and there is the occassional horseback riding at the beach. Make sure to take plenty of sunscreen and buy it before you go and pack in your suitcase as it is expensive there.

At low tide you can walk to the west and explore part of the coral reef that protects Samara Bay. A short ride to the South you will find Carillo Beach where you can take picture perfect postcards of palm trees overhaning the beach!
www.costaricatravelguru.com

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    302
    98
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The BEST beach in Costa Rica!!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I traved up and down the coastline and fell in love with this place the first time I stayed there. I loved it so much I took my kids and husband back. There are coconut trees that line the beach, where you can hang your hammick, or enjoy the shade. The beach is filled with kids laughing and swimming, when the tide is low you can ride your bike on the beach, in the morning you may even see horses running down it. If there is an undertow we never experienced it in the 6 weeks we were there. I never worried about my kids being overtaken by the waves. THEY ARE GREAT SWIMMERS, 11 and 9 years old. You can surf, but the waves are small and great for kids or beginners to learn on. Kayakers were out everyday. This is a great place to take your family!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A wonderful beach, lots of sand and gorgeous water.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReneeK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“samara and carillo”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

these 2 beaches with in 10 minutes of each other are absolutely amazing and worth a visit to

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gazoo7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love it..beautiful and warm water”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I loved all the palm trees, loved the warm water, and the people are so friendly..

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Coconutbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara Beach also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing