We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hideaway Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hideaway Treasure”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We just returned from our wonderful trip to Costa Rica. We stayed for the last five nights of our vacation at the Hideaway Hotel and really enjoyed our stay there. When we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly greeted by Rosie. She gave us a map of the area with recommendations on where to eat. Every time we had a question about tours or the area, she was more than happy to provide any assistance. When I had to change our pickup time in San Jose, Rosie offered to phone and make the necessary arrangements if I did not speak Spanish. Both Doug and Rosie went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
On New Year's Eve the hotel put on a special dinner. We dined by the pool that was decorated with candles. The food was excellent and Doug was an attentive server. By the way, he makes an awesome mango marguerita.
Our room was comfortable and spacious and it included a sitting area. as well as a small patio complete with chairs and a small table. We especially loved the huge tiled bathroom with the walk in shower. I also liked the number of hooks and towel racks in the bathroom.
The hotel also has a security guard in the evenings to watch the vehicles in the parking lot.. We slept a lot easier knowing that our car would be there in the morning.
We would definitely return to this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfieldguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    93
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
214
459
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thunder Bay,Ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed for four days after our sons wedding in Manual Antonio.There were no surprises at Hideawy .The web info is accurate in all respects.This is a great spot to relax.Samara has many great eating spots and the owners gave us very good tips.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

An elegant, quiet hotel (except for the awe inspiring howler monkeys) at the end of Samara beach. Two minute walk to Samara beach and 10 minute walk to palm tree lined Carillo beach. Friendly and attentive staff, and helpful host and hostess. A night swim in the pool, and an attractive room made it a pleasure to return to the hotel at the end of the day. The location had a minor draw back for those who do not have a car because it was about a 10 minute taxi or bus ride into town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebud32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Excellent Hotel located only a few yards to the beach! Rosy and her staff took excellent care of my boyfriend and I during our 3 night stay in Samara- They took care of arranging day trips, transportation and restaurant reccomendations for us- The pool was a lovely addition after long days exploring the cute little town. This small, charming hotel was super clean and the rates were excellent. The staff even prepared some freshly caught fish we had caught during a day fishing excursion for us, which was awesome! Definatly would reccommend to anyone looking for a clean, friendly, reasonably priced location in Samara- close to beach, but a little trek to the center of town, so be prepared for a nice walk to dinner/ or a taxi ride...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cec33399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Hideaway is a little gem of a hotel. We have stayed on two different occasions and loved it both times. This time we brought family members and they could not believe how great the hotel was for the price. Everything is super clean, staff is very friendly and service is great. The congos also showed up, which made for some great pictures. A perfect little hotel by a perfect beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I recently had the pleasure of spending a night at the Hideaway Hotel in Playa Samara, Costa Rica. The hotel has a distinctly European flavour and boasts comfortable beds, reasonable prices for food and drink, and a spectacular location close to an almost deserted magnificent palm tree studded tropical beach. Well appointed bedrooms, fresh local foods for breakfast, and very friendly and efficient staff made this a most memorable visit. The owner even found time to do a little computer trouble shooting with me!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Sev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We were chought by surprise when we came to hideaway hotel. It is the best hotel we`ve been to in this pricerange. Friendly staff combined with spacy and nice rooms made this into the best accomodation during this holliday (even compared to some of the hotels that costed three times the price). The fact that it`s hidden away gave us the feeling of total relaxation. But it is also close enough to Samara so that you easily can get there. The staff was very helpfull with affordable packages on fishing and dolphin-safaries. Nice breakfast aswell.

Two happy norwegians

Gaute and Marthe

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticoNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing