We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Love it”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my couple, and let me tell you this place is magic, the room #2 is perfect for couples, very quiet and retired, very clean, the room service and food are awesome, very comfortable, Dixie and crew are very friendly and helpful, will come back, ohh almost forget it, Carrillo Beach (one of the most beautiful) it's only 1 minute from the hotel!!!

Room Tip: For me and my girl room #2, retired and in a second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    93
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
214
459
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

That little hotel with only 12 rooms is well hidden. It is like being with family.
The staff is most helpful and always with a smile and very friendly. So is the owners who are always available to help.
The pool is great so is the FOOD
Great place!!!
Highly recommended.
We will definitely go back to Hideway next time we go to Samara.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor corner unit. Our room was large so was the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredandHappyinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights here 2 weeks ago, had a great time. Doug and Rosie (the owners) are real people who want you to have a great stay and be comfortable, they are generous, fun and happy people. It felt a little like we were visiting their home. It's not fancy, but it IS classy and Clean. The grounds: simple, clean and I can't stress how comfortable everything is. Sort of like you're protected from whatever world you just were transported from; when you get to the Hideaway, you are hidden away.

Pool: Small but perfect for cooling off, if you want to swim, you do have the entire Pacific Ocean 2 minutes away on foot

Food: Simple, Fresh, Plentiful. Desserts were pretty remarkable.

Drinks: They know how to make them and beer lovers: Doug actually stocks the local micro-brew from San Jose, I think they had 3 different kinds from 'Costa Rica's Craft Brewing Co.'...that's the name of the brewery... http://beer.cr/

Rooms: A/C works great, it was hot out, so definitely needed it. Small fridge + Microwave in room, awesome big bathroom with walk-in stone showers. TV, but no time for TV in Samara, it's too beautiful.


To get to the 'town' of Samara, you'll either want your own car or you can take a taxi, but they are all very reasonable, maybe $5 one way. You could walk or bike, but be careful, it's a windy road with no sidewalks between the hotel and the town.

Beach is about a 2 minute walk, we did a kayak+snorkeling tour one morning which left right from our beach access at the hotel. There were almost no other people at 'our' beach. I don't know when the high season is for visitors, but I get the feeling that this is always a relaxed and pretty secluded area.

Having Doug, Rosie and their staff there to answer questions, arrange tours, etc...made this a an easy place to stay and they know how to not make you feel like a stranger or a tourist. You sort of feel like you've got some inside local knowledge, but everyone in Samara was nice...Pura Vida, stay at this place its just right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaggship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We loved the Hideawy. Doug and Rosy do a great job and the staff is wonderful. All you need to know is its perfect and so are the Mango Margaritias!!!! Carillo Beach is a short jaunt away and is perfect.

Room Tip: i think they are all probably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsoloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I recently got married in Playa Samara and had my entire wedding group stay at the Hideaway for our destination wedding. The owners Rosy and Doug and their entire staff were beyond amazing. Many in my group had not traveled internationally much or at all, some were older or had physical limitations, there were 3 kids, and most did not speak Spanish. Everyone in our group was so happy and comfortable with the rooms, food, and service.
The rooms are spacious and luxurious with great AC. There is a beautiful beach just a minute's walk from the hotel, and if you want to head into town for shopping, surfing, etc it is a short $6 cab ride away.
Doug and Rosy or their staff will call you a cab, book an excursion, and answer any questions about the area.
Also, Doug makes the BEST mango margarita! We also saw more monkeys and lizards right on the property than we did on paid guided tours in Arenal.
I can't say enough great things about our experience there. It felt more like a charming guest house or B&B than a hotel. 5 star experience at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We stayed in room 12 which had a partial ocean view and monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillburynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hideaway and had a perfect vacation. The location is great...not too far away from the action but far enough from the commotion. The area is safe and secure, and you have your choice of beaches to walk to. The rooms are terrific, as is the pool, restaurant, and bar. The staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hideaway Hotel for three nights in March, 2014. We had a fantastic stay there. As a family of four with two young children who aren't the best sleepers, we reserved two rooms, one on top of the other, and this worked perfectly for us. One parent and one child in each room meant that everyone got a pretty good night's sleep.

The rooms themselves are large and very clean. The pool is wonderful with lots of shady and sunny seating nearby. Wifi is available only near the pool, which is actually pretty nice since it's impossible to be connected in the rooms. Breakfast each morning was wonderful - fruit and hot drinks and juice and a choice of main course (we usually had the eggs/rice/beans or pancakes or french toast).

The staff and owner were friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange a day trip on a boat and suggested activities suitable for the kids. We went to nearby Playa Carillo every day. It was the best beach we found in Costa Rica for swimming and playing in the sand with kids.

All in all, this was the best part of our 2.5 week trip to Costa Rica, and we wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing