We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

When we were planning our trip, our first thought was to go directly to The Hideaway since we had such a great experience three years ago and hoped to repeat it. "They" say you can never go back, but this trip and experience of the hotel was exactly the way we expected and totally contributed to the wonderful vacay that we experienced. It's quiet and the hustle/bustle was what we wanted to escape so that was perfect. Food fabulous as always and staff wonderful; many were the same people we met last time. We like doing our own thing and The Hideaway makes that possible, especially since Doug and Rosie are so helpful in helping to book excursions and making recommendations. Try it; you'll love it!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 856 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Hideaway Hotel for a week in March 2014. Pool is great food is fabulous, including homemade pasta and icecream! Staff is awesome, especially Brian and Dixie. Doug and Rosie went out of their way to help us with tours, restaurants and other info. Rooms are large and clean and the birds and monkeys were a bonus. Would stay here again in a second and recommend to friends!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had a great time at the Hideaway. My wife and I visited with another couple for several days. Doug was a very gracious host. Quiet peaceful hotel. The mango margaritas were outstanding. Short walk to Carillo beach. Nice pool. Left fresh fruit in our refrigerator the night before we left for our early morning fishing trip. Went out on the Kingfisher and caught seven sailfish. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great stay, very relaxing, Doug, the owner, and his staff are very welcoming and helpful! The food was great. Just ask them for any help with activities and sights in the area. I had a wonderful horseback ride with my twin 13 yo daughters,from a very quiet beach up to the high hills overlooking the Samara coast with a gorgeous vista.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is an extremely quiet hotel where you will find a nice place to relax and rest after your daily activities. The hotel staff is very friendly, also the owner of the hotel is always around checking that everything is fine. Delicious food and a pleasing swimming pool at a very acceptable distance from the rooms. By the way, the rooms are medium sized and nicely decorated, I would just add a flat screen tv to match the style. You will be able to see some congos, iguanas and birds around the pool. At night it is extremely quiet, it may be good or bad depending on what you are looking for, if you want more activity at night there are some other places to consider in Samara or you will need to drive somewhere else.

The hotel is located at the south side of Samara beach which is quieter, but at a small driving distance from Samara downtown where most restaurants are located, also, it is at walking distance (or very small driving distance) from an extremely beautiful beach such as Carrillo, I strongly recommend going to this beach instead of Samara since the sand is better, the water very quiet and it is cleaner overall. I also recommend going to the Guanamar Hotel's bar to see the sunset.

Finally, I would just improve the dinner times, it is served very very early (6:45 pm), makes it almost impossible to have it here, also our room has a humid smell, nothing serious.

I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiMurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Doug s amazing attentive to all our needs. Can help plan days according to specific personal needs . Hotel beautifully landscaped excellent food and high quality service. My room ( rm 12) was very quiet and had a lovely partial view of the ocean
Would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinnycandsagharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our stay was not bad. Our disappointment is about the reservation. We booked directly and asked twice to have a quiet room at the upper level. And we had a ground level room with 3 air conditioning machines fixed at the wall outside the door of the room (and 3 at the upper level) making a lot of noise. The manager said at first that there is no other room available. Half an hour after, he came to us and proposed another room at the upper level without air conditionning but the bathhroom was in work. we accepted. The staff is very friendly. The hotel looks nice but is not exceptional.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jmfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monreal, Owner at The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Here at The Hideaway Hotel we always do our best to accommodate our guests requests and this guest was no exception. When JMParis made his reservation request we reserved our last room available for him. He had 3 criteria: quiet room, King bed, upstairs. We reserved a King room, away from the pool (for more quiet), but we did not have availability for a 2nd floor room. (We have only 12 rooms in our hotel, and only 2 of those are 2nd floor King rooms.) When JMParis arrived the room was not to his satisfaction. At that time we had no other rooms available to show him. Shortly after we spoke, a room that needed plumbing repairs was completed and I was able to offer that room. The room did have air-conditioning: all of our rooms have AC. (As one of our guests said, the hum of AC sounds like a cool break from the heat at the beach.) Our staff moved the guests' luggage and we apologized for the inconvenience. We did address this guest's complaint to the absolute best of our abilities with all the tools we had available at the time. Unfortunately when running a hotel no matter how hard we try, there are just some items completely out of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
13.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: $85 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing