We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The perfect spot!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We much prefer to stay in a boutique hotel like The Hideaway than a huge resort. From check-in we felt very welcome. The hotel has 12 spacious rooms set apart from the main part of the hotel, where check-in and the restaurant are located. The hotel is located a very short 2 minute walk up a small dirt road from the Playa Samara. We would get up in the morning, eat breakfast, swim in the pool and then head off to Playa Carrillo or into the town of Playa Samara (5 min drive north) and take surfing lessons or just enjoy having lunch right on the beach. The town is busier and we appreciated the quiet of The Hideaway. There was a mix of couples and families at the resort, and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

The grounds are beautiful. Sitting at breakfast overlooking the pool you feel like you are in a tropical paradise. We visited in late March/early April and it was hot and dry with a light breeze to cool you down - perfect! The A/C in the rooms worked great, always had hot water and they were very clean. There is a small mini-fridge in the room which is great for keeping snacks. One piece of advice: bring conditioner for your hair! As in all of the hotels we stayed at in CR, there is only soap and shampoo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was huge and delicious! Large plate of fruit and juice and then your choice of a typical Costa Rican breakfast (eggs, rice/beans, etc or pancakes or french toast or eggs and toast) + coffee. We ate dinner there 2 nights and enjoyed our food and the atmosphere by the pool. Be warned they can fill up for dinner so you need to let them know you plan to eat there. The owners circulate amongst the tables and act as concierge - what are you interested in doing? Doug makes a call and lines it up for you. We enjoyed surfing, ziplining and a few restaurants in town based on his suggestions. When we left to drive to Arenal, they helped us with the route and told us the best spots to stop along the way

Howler Monkeys were fun to watch up in the trees. They don't come down, but they moved around quite close above our heads - babies and all. Our kids loved the pool and watching the monkeys, we loved relaxing and feeling like we were enjoying our own backyard (with a waiter, cleaner, pool guy, gardener, etc!). We would go back in a heartbeat. Lovely, lovely place. Thanks Doug and Rosy! - Laney and Tom

Room Tip: We had hoped to get a second floor room, but none were available. 1st floor was fine, but I think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenasierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    94
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
216
460
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying here last month. Doug and Rosie were fantastic and amazingly helpful. Its a great little property, well maintained, clean and comfortable rooms. The pina colada's were amazing as well as everything else we ordered off of the restaurant menu. We've stayed at quite a few places over numerous trips to Costa Rica and this hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first time to Costa Rica and we chose the Hideaway in Samara based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We can only say that the reviews were bang on. The Hideaway is a gem.
Doug and Rosie are great owners/ hosts. They are very attentive but not intrusive. There are 12 rooms, located in 2 two storey buildings. The buildings are designed to blend in with the surroundings and there is abundant greenery all around.
Our room was on the second floor, it was large and clean with great beds and had a really well designed roomy bathroom.
The restaurant is beside the pool and serves great food in a casual atmosphere. Rosie makes the brownies and Doug makes sinfully good ice cream. By the way the music that is played around the pool and restaurant is really great.
The Hideaway is close to Samara beach, a short 3 minute walk on a quiet little road and “wham”, a beautiful, sandy beach where you can walk to the town of Samara in about 40 minutes. Don't let that scare you, how hard is it to stroll along a sandy beach listening to the waves on your way to town and don’t miss the sunsets from the beach, they are stunning.
The staff can arrange a fishing, snorkeling or Dolphin watching trip with Freddie, a local fisherman. We went out for 4+ hours and caught a Tuna, 28 Red Snapper, we were followed by a pod of Dolphins and saw a whale all this for half the price you would pay at a large resort. Doug and Rosie will cook up your catch when you bring it back. There is cool canopy zip lining (Wing Nuts) 5 minutes away that the staff can arrange as well.
Thanks for making the first trip to Costa Rica such a success guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stumbled across the Hideaway and how lucky we were!!! The rooms are immaculate, the beds SO comfortable (a hard thing to find when traveling through Costa Rica), the pool and landscaping are breathtaking and the food is delicious. Top it all off with Doug's homemade ice cream and this truly is a little piece of heaven on the Nicoya peninsula. It was a pleasure getting to know Doug and his wife Rosie, who have worked hard to build the Hideaway. You won't find many hotels in the country built to the level of quality you'll find here. By far, our favorite place to stay in all of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as nice as the rest. Upstairs or down is really the only difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thank's to Doug and Rosy my wife Lise and moi Lionel had a great experience in Samara Hideway Hotel .Great welcome felt like home away from home.The food the rooms the pool the ambiance where close to perfection...The first words said ``WOW this is paradise``Thank's to everybody that made our stay in Samara a great one ...Yes the Hideway is THE place to stay in Samara no dout about it.The wife and I will go back again to Samara and we will go back to paradise at the Hideway Hotel... The guy with the Tilley...

Room Tip: Do not know about the fitness center but a good walk on the beach is what the doctor would prescribe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionelg355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hideaway Hotel for 6 nights and it was great. It's in a quiet location close to the beach but the restaurants, etc are not far away in the town of Samara. The food was absolutely sublime! The staff were all helpful and Doug and Rosie were always attentive to our requests and did everything they could to make our time there an enjoyable one. If you have the chance, get out on the water with Freddy; it's a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sámara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I live in Samara, in the busy downtown, so I need to get away to where it is a bit quieter at times...
Went down the beach to the Hideaway for an afternoon ice cream and ended up staying for hours...the poolside restaurant is a charming and tranquil spot, and the food is fantastic. The guacamole was as good as Doug promised, and the ravioli and mushroom sauce was delicate, while still hearty. Finishing it off with the house made ice cream and brownies was amazing!
Call ahead to make a reservation, it's worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
855 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing