We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Guanamar(Playa Carrillo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Esperanza(Playa Carrillo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveler rating
788
100
15
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
100
15
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmango margaritasbrownieminute walkhowler monkeyshomemade ice creamcarrillo beachcosta ricarooms are largein townthe penthousequiet endavocado sauceturtle toursmall hoteldirt roadrental carother guests
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 914 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Hideaway is a wonderful, boutique hotel. It's just a 2 minute walk to the beach a couple hundred meters south of the village of Playa Samara. The hotel offers clean, spacious, modern rooms complete with a safe, iron, a/c, ceiling fan etc., surrounding a lovely pool area... and the food and drinks are excellent. Doug and Rosy are gracious hosts who treat their guests as family...and there were several very friendly guests. I only stayed one night due to poor roads down south but wish I had stayed longer...next time! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We couldn't have scripted a more perfect home for our visit to Costa Rica. It is close to everything – easy stroll to Samara and Carillo beaches, town of Samara, reasonable drive to Nosara, and Ostional to watch the turtles lay eggs. However, it is just far enough detached that we all felt our pulses wane even more each time we returned to the property. As much as we enjoyed our many textbook Costa Rican activities with the kids - zip line, horseback riding, fishing, dolphin watching, surfing -we'll cherish our time around the pool and the eating tables with our exemplary hosts as much as any. The rooms are very comfortable. The food is top drawer. Doug and Rosie, and their very generous staff, have set a new bar for what defines authenticity and generosity in any customer service business. My wife has already shared that we will be spending her 50th there in a couple years. I'm not betting the farm we'll be able to make it that long before returning! As good as it gets...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review since arriving home from a 1 week stay at the Hideaway Hotel in February, 2013. My boyfriend Scott and I stayed at this fabulous hotel for a week. We originally booked in for 2 nights on a whim since our travel plans had changed due to coming down with a horrible flu before arriving. We loved the hotel so much that we wanted to stay for the rest of our time in Samara. The Hideaway had room for the week for all but one night of the remainder of our stay. The owner Doug offered without being asked to book us a room in town for the one night that they weren't available. He called all the hotels in town that he would recommend and came to the pool to give us our selection of availability and amenities/price ranges etc. We made our choice and he took care of everything else. Not only that, when we were checking out he offered to make our arrangements for travel back to the airport and overnight stay at the airport hotel for us also. We didn't even have to ask! Not only that, but one day we were leaving the hotel to spend the day in town and Doug and Rosie were leaving at the same time so they offered us a ride. Doug & Rosie are the warmest, kindest most genuine hosts we could imagine. They didn't do these things to provide above and beyond customer service (and THAT they did!) they were kind and helpful because it is what comes naturally to them. It is obvious that they truly enjoy their guests and making them feel at home. They were always available to go the extra mile and make their guests feel special. Doug even gave Scott 4 shots at the bar to cure his ailing gut one day...and it worked! He may not be a licensed pharmacist but he sure knows his elixirs! ;-)
We loved the ambiance, the friendliness, the incredible staff, the amazing food, the location, the clean, private, nicely decorated COOL AC rooms and comfy beds, the ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE sunsets nightly at the beach, (a true 1 minute walk from the hotel) but Doug & Rosie the incredibly kind and fun hosts are what really makes this place special. That, and Doug's homemade brownies and ice cream and my favourite: Doug's Rum Smoothie-for breakfast lunch and dinner-this is NOT to be missed! YOU WILL LOVE THIS PLACE!! We can't wait to go back!! Thanks Doug & Rosie!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and they were both awesome...number 5 around the back was VERY private and quiet with a king bed but all rooms are very private there!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our last stop during our 3 week vacation in CR. We wanted to end our trip in style and in a peaceful, relaxing setting, and certainly found this at The Hideaway. The accommodations are 5 star. Spacious, modern rooms with king beds, properly functioning amenities such as a/c, tv, lights, fans, taps, toilets, shower, doors, windows, curtains. Everything doesn't just work, it works properly! Sounds silly but this was a rarity in this country. The suites have large glass doors and are surrounded by large windows. Each suite has either a small private patio or balcony depending on whether you are at ground level or 2nd floor. Very well appointed and decorated. The standard suite has a coffee maker, small fridge and safe. The bathroom is also very spacious with a large modern granite and tiled vanity and walk in shower, lots of hot water and good water pressure. The property is nearly level and fully accessible by well maintained concrete walkways connecting everything. Clearly a lot of thought went into the design of this property. The pool/dining/bar area is a little on the small side, however this just added to its quaint and exclusive feel. The location is a 4-5 minute drive from town and a 10 minute walk to the beach where we enjoyed spectacular sunsets. Staff are exceptional...there when you need something but not hovering. They are friendly, professional and speak English well. The hosts Doug and Rosy are very nice. They are very welcoming and make the occasional appearance to have a swim and ask you about your day or make suggestions for activities or dining. The Hideaway is truly a hidden gem and the only place in CR that I would have no reservations about returning to. Thanks to Doug, Rosy and the others for a perfectly relaxing and comfortable stay.

Brad and Lisa
Belleville, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CottageMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from a 2-week visit to Samara. We stayed at the Hideaway Hotel during our second week there. and as soon as we walked into the hotel lobby, we knew we had picked a winner! We were greeted by Bryan at the front desk, who was friendly and made us feel welcome even though we arrived early. The hotel is clean and bright, with spacious rooms and big, comfortable beds. The AC and hot water work and are very refreshing after a day at the beach. It's private and secluded, and everyone is so friendly, you feel right at home.

It's a quick walk to the beach at Samara, and a short car ride to the nearby Carillo beach.
Doug and Rosie are fabulous - so friendly and helpful with information and arranging activities. And I can't say enough about the staff. They are wonderful; friendly and socialable and eager to get you whatever you need or want. The food is very good and there are many choices on the menu.
All in all, I think the Hideaway is a wonderful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone! I miss it already and wish I could return for a longer stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was very quiet and private.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews