We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We couldn't have scripted a more perfect home for our visit to Costa Rica. It is close to everything – easy stroll to Samara and Carillo beaches, town of Samara, reasonable drive to Nosara, and Ostional to watch the turtles lay eggs. However, it is just far enough detached that we all felt our pulses wane even more each time we returned to the property. As much as we enjoyed our many textbook Costa Rican activities with the kids - zip line, horseback riding, fishing, dolphin watching, surfing -we'll cherish our time around the pool and the eating tables with our exemplary hosts as much as any. The rooms are very comfortable. The food is top drawer. Doug and Rosie, and their very generous staff, have set a new bar for what defines authenticity and generosity in any customer service business. My wife has already shared that we will be spending her 50th there in a couple years. I'm not betting the farm we'll be able to make it that long before returning! As good as it gets...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    89
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
204
450
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review since arriving home from a 1 week stay at the Hideaway Hotel in February, 2013. My boyfriend Scott and I stayed at this fabulous hotel for a week. We originally booked in for 2 nights on a whim since our travel plans had changed due to coming down with a horrible flu before arriving. We loved the hotel so much that we wanted to stay for the rest of our time in Samara. The Hideaway had room for the week for all but one night of the remainder of our stay. The owner Doug offered without being asked to book us a room in town for the one night that they weren't available. He called all the hotels in town that he would recommend and came to the pool to give us our selection of availability and amenities/price ranges etc. We made our choice and he took care of everything else. Not only that, when we were checking out he offered to make our arrangements for travel back to the airport and overnight stay at the airport hotel for us also. We didn't even have to ask! Not only that, but one day we were leaving the hotel to spend the day in town and Doug and Rosie were leaving at the same time so they offered us a ride. Doug & Rosie are the warmest, kindest most genuine hosts we could imagine. They didn't do these things to provide above and beyond customer service (and THAT they did!) they were kind and helpful because it is what comes naturally to them. It is obvious that they truly enjoy their guests and making them feel at home. They were always available to go the extra mile and make their guests feel special. Doug even gave Scott 4 shots at the bar to cure his ailing gut one day...and it worked! He may not be a licensed pharmacist but he sure knows his elixirs! ;-)
We loved the ambiance, the friendliness, the incredible staff, the amazing food, the location, the clean, private, nicely decorated COOL AC rooms and comfy beds, the ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE sunsets nightly at the beach, (a true 1 minute walk from the hotel) but Doug & Rosie the incredibly kind and fun hosts are what really makes this place special. That, and Doug's homemade brownies and ice cream and my favourite: Doug's Rum Smoothie-for breakfast lunch and dinner-this is NOT to be missed! YOU WILL LOVE THIS PLACE!! We can't wait to go back!! Thanks Doug & Rosie!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and they were both awesome...number 5 around the back was VERY priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our last stop during our 3 week vacation in CR. We wanted to end our trip in style and in a peaceful, relaxing setting, and certainly found this at The Hideaway. The accommodations are 5 star. Spacious, modern rooms with king beds, properly functioning amenities such as a/c, tv, lights, fans, taps, toilets, shower, doors, windows, curtains. Everything doesn't just work, it works properly! Sounds silly but this was a rarity in this country. The suites have large glass doors and are surrounded by large windows. Each suite has either a small private patio or balcony depending on whether you are at ground level or 2nd floor. Very well appointed and decorated. The standard suite has a coffee maker, small fridge and safe. The bathroom is also very spacious with a large modern granite and tiled vanity and walk in shower, lots of hot water and good water pressure. The property is nearly level and fully accessible by well maintained concrete walkways connecting everything. Clearly a lot of thought went into the design of this property. The pool/dining/bar area is a little on the small side, however this just added to its quaint and exclusive feel. The location is a 4-5 minute drive from town and a 10 minute walk to the beach where we enjoyed spectacular sunsets. Staff are exceptional...there when you need something but not hovering. They are friendly, professional and speak English well. The hosts Doug and Rosy are very nice. They are very welcoming and make the occasional appearance to have a swim and ask you about your day or make suggestions for activities or dining. The Hideaway is truly a hidden gem and the only place in CR that I would have no reservations about returning to. Thanks to Doug, Rosy and the others for a perfectly relaxing and comfortable stay.

Brad and Lisa
Belleville, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CottageMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from a 2-week visit to Samara. We stayed at the Hideaway Hotel during our second week there. and as soon as we walked into the hotel lobby, we knew we had picked a winner! We were greeted by Bryan at the front desk, who was friendly and made us feel welcome even though we arrived early. The hotel is clean and bright, with spacious rooms and big, comfortable beds. The AC and hot water work and are very refreshing after a day at the beach. It's private and secluded, and everyone is so friendly, you feel right at home.

It's a quick walk to the beach at Samara, and a short car ride to the nearby Carillo beach.
Doug and Rosie are fabulous - so friendly and helpful with information and arranging activities. And I can't say enough about the staff. They are wonderful; friendly and socialable and eager to get you whatever you need or want. The food is very good and there are many choices on the menu.
All in all, I think the Hideaway is a wonderful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone! I miss it already and wish I could return for a longer stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I tried but can't understand the high ratings of this place. Yes, it is clean and has a pool and nice hosts. But it is not on the beach, and you are given a straw mat and the short dusty rocky walk leads you to a quiet but silty end of the beach with no palms to offer relief from sun. If you want to hang out in the beach with easy access to drinks, snacks, a bathroom, or a chair, skip this place. Go for something casual in Samara town on the beach like the cool Tree House, or go 5-star to Punta Islita. Also, the AC is a joke. They don't cool the room before you get there and then when it finally cools 5-6 hours later, they shut it off when you leave the room so you have to start the grueling, sweaty, uncomfortable process all over again. Better to forget AC or go somewhere that really has it. This place is maybe 3 stars at best, good if that's what you expect; but not #1.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aleece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monreal, Owner at The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I’m glad you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel, the pool, our friendly atmosphere, and good service. I think it is important to read the information about a hotel before you reserve. We are a 1-minute walk to the south end of Samara Beach, which we indicate both on our website and in our emails. We are not in the village, but that is what makes our hotel private and quiet. In the village, it can be noisy and is more of a party atmosphere. By car, we are about 10 minutes away, so it is easy to get to town. It all depends on what you’re looking for in a vacation experience. When you’re ready to relax and get some sleep, our guests prefer the quiet of our location to the noise in the village. We are also the closest property to Carrillo beach, appx a 7 minute walk from the hotel. It is one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica, lined by palm trees and very shady.
I’m sorry you had a problem with the AC. I wish that you had told us, and we would have been in to repair it right away. Sometimes it is as simple as using the correct setting. The ACs cool the room within about 20 minutes, and for energy conservation, we ask guests not to leave them on when they leave for the day. We try to be energy-conscious, and also be sure that our guests are comfortable. Again, I wish that you had let us know while you were here. Your vacation experience is our top priority, and we work diligently to ensure that our guests are enjoying themselves: that is why we have a #1 rating.
Sincerely,
Doug & Rosy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We only happened to stay here by chance, as were booked to go to RIncon for 2 nights. But after almost a week of continuous rain we decided to give Rincon a miss and booked the Hideaway Hotel instead after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed, it's a real little gem.
Quiet, peaceful and relaxing with everything you need already thought of. The room was large and comfortable with a great bathroom. The pool was at just the right temperature and never crowded. At times we had it to ourselves.
We ate every night at the hotel and enjoyed each meal, very reasonably priced too.
The beach is only a short walk away and we went every morning and evening to watch the pelicans diving into the sea.
A great place to stay and very worthy of it's number 1 spot. I rarely give a 5* rating but the Hideaway thoroughly deserves it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which faces the pool, although with a hedge around it. Look out for the howler m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a terrific place to spend the last 4 days of our holiday in Costa Rica. We had been in CR for almost 3 weeks, and this really topped off our vacation. Doug and Rosy are fantastic hosts, and very helpful with planning activities and suggesting restaurants. We did eat one meal at El Lagarto, but meals at the Hideaway were just too good, and we dined there for 3 nights. The homemade ice cream is great, as is the guacamole for a snack. Breakfast is another treat with a fresh fruit plate every morning and your choice of food from their menu. The Mango Margarita was one of my favorite drinks and is a specialty at the Hideaway. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and rooms are kept spotless. The nearby beaches were also great, and we did many early morning and late afternoon walks. Our kayak trip out to the island was fun too, and we did some snorkeling there as well. Activities and tours are available and you can do as much or as little as you want. Relaxing by the pool with a cool drink was heavenly.
We would highly recommend the Hideaway for anyone wanting a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Linda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing