We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUNTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FUNTASTIC”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second year in C.R. and have found our home. No more all inclusives. The Hideaway was the most comfortable setting to enjoy incredible Samara and meet wonderful folks from all over the world. Doug and Rosie and staff were amazing.Hands down the best place to stay. Brent and Donna Stewart Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    94
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
216
460
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am actually a Samara resident and stayed here with my visiting boyfriend in the beginning of December 2012. I specifically chose to stay here (literally to "hide away" from everyone I know in Samara!) because I had heard from others it was a nice place, a little bit out of the center of Samara.

True enough, though Doug and Rosy were not there, I was pleasantly surprised as to the how well-trained the staff are there, and how friendly and personable. All the rooms are in 2-story buildings grouped around a small patio and swimming pool, all on a private compound just a couple minute's walk from Samara beach. The rooms and grounds are well-kept, and you have a high chance to see families of howler monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel. Carillo beach is only about a 10 minute walk down the main road in another direction, so you have both beaches to access easily.

They have small dining area in the main reception building, where you can order from quite a good menu at almost any time of day. As mentioned earlier, service was impeccable. It was obvious that care had been taken in training, which is not the case in other establishments around Samara.

Highly recommended for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I much enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway. We loved the layout and amenities of the room and the little balcony overlooking the pool and the patio. The owners and staff are wonderful and great service all around. It's a bit of a walk along the beach to the restaurants in Samara but the flip side is proximity to the Carrillo beach and the hiking/climbing around the pretty rocky tip that separates both beaches. Very pleasant clientele as well.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wil_travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location, nice premises with well kept gardens and pool area, superior service. The staff are very attentive and very well trained. The rooms are spacious with large bathrooms. The front desk folks and Rosie and Doug are great for arranging excursions and activities with great tips on where to go what to do and when to do it. The cook is tremendous and Costa Rica's beaches and countryside are beautiful with warm people. We had a tremendous vacaton and met some great other guests.

Theresa & Bob

Room Tip: Room 12 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Hideaway for 4 days (including New Years Eve) and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. We were lucky to book the rooms so last minute, and even that process was quick and helpful - the Hideaway staff responds to email requests for reservations quickly and thoroughly. Once we got to CR we were staying in another town about two hours away, having trouble figuring out how to get to Samara (eep, we didn't plan much ahead...) and all it took was an email to the Hideaway asking for advice and they set up a door-to-door shuttle for us. Such a lifesaver! Once we made it to Samara, we were cared for like family at their hotel, with every request being catered to. Their small but busy staff runs a small-feel hotel as if it were a family getaway, and we loved hanging out at the beautiful pool, snacking on homemade fresh fish and smoothies, and setting out for day trips to Samara or Carillo beach (neither of which is very far - it's a great area to spend some lazy relaxing time). They helped us find tours to go on (highly suggest the kayak half-day trip with snorkeling) and set up our transportation to our next stop on our itinerary. The rooms were very comfortable, each with its own private entrance, so it felt very cozy (our A/C wasn't working initially and they had us switched to another room without issue). Thanks to Rosy and Doug - we loved the Hideaway and will definitely recommend to our friends!

Room Tip: Room 4 gets lots of sun, but Room 11 was shadier and felt like we were deep in a private jungle! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natacox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortine, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful location. Attentive and delightful staff. Clean rooms with beautiful views. Great food from the restaurant. Maybe the best beaches I have ever seen for swimming and body surfing. I only wish we had more time to stay at the Hideaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I recently vacationed in Costa Rica for 16 days. Travelled around quite a bit to different areas but ended our vacation by spending the last 5 nights at the Hideaway. Great way to end our holiday in this peaceful, beautiful setting. The room was spacious, bright and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The menu was extensive and very well-prepared. Doug & Rosie were great hosts and made some very helpful recommendations. The location is so close to Samara Beach with the most spectacular sunsets ever. By car, you are 2 min. to Playa Carillo - beautiful, secluded beach... take a cooler and you are good for the day. We loved Samara and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks to all that made our stay at the Hideaway so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60pipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing