We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel and enjoyed our time with all the folks. The owners (Rosi and Doug) were very personable and gave great tips and hints for the area. Samara is not a resort town so if you are looking for something like an all-inclusive resort, this isn't the place. Samara is a great un-commercialized location and you get a great feel for the culture that hasn't been Americanized. The pool was great and because they only have 12 rooms at the hotel, it was never crowded. Everything was clean and the rooms were comfortable. Food was average. We ate there one night and went to recommended restaurants the other nights. It's an excellent place to bring a family and still experience the culture of Costa Rica. 2 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motnamser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 865 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Doug and Rosi do a grat job hlping you figure out what to do and where to go in Samara. The rooms are larger than what you would normally see in CR so that is nice.
The beach is good and the walk or run to town is short along the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had two rooms at the Hideaway and the three of us absolutely loved it ! The place is well designed, extremely quiet, sophisticated and the staff and owners are outstanding in tendering to each and all of our needs. Playa Carillo is fabulous. We also enjoyed the canopy tour (they pick you up at the hotel and it is a 5 minute drive to get to the site), some surfing attempts (equipment can be leased on the beach), the small village in Samara with cool relaxed restaurants and bars on the beach (you need to absolutely eat at the Argentine restaurant ), and very importantly the friendliness of Ticos. To walk from the hotel to the village by Samara beach takes about 40 minutes, and we made it a pleasant daily ritual ! As they say, Pura Vida, and it is totally true for the Hideaway. Congratulations to the owners for keeping the place so impeccable and friendly, but nonetheless private and quiet !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maransart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hideaway is a clean, quiet, and nice place, near the beach. Nothing amazing but more than serviceable. Had a nice time but I guess this review is worse than others perhaps because we felt the Samara area as a whole was not our most favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitch m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monreal, Owner at The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Samara is a laid-back beach town---no high-rise resorts here. I can understand that it is not for everyone. However, I think that it's not reasonable to have lowered the hotel's review because Samara was not your favorite place. Just my humble opinion. We work very hard to create a good hotel experience, and really value feedback specific to our hotel.
Regards,
Rosy & Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Small, private and personal... however, if you want to socialize, the Hideaway will provide the perfect spot to get to know everyone on the premises. The rooms are comfortable and clean with A/C and the grounds are beautiful and well designed. Your hosts (Doug and Rosy) are very pleasant and personable. All requests were handled with ease and professionalism. Bryan and Ramiro will take care of every request at the poolside bar and dinning area.

You'll love it's proximity to Playa Carillo (9 min. walk), as well as the short stroll down to Playa Samara. If you're looking to be "in town" this is not the place, but a quick taxi ride will get you there in a flash. I would recommend a kayak or surfboard rental and the nearby Wingnut Zipline tour. There is limited snorkeling as the water is normally churned up by offshore wave action. You're sure to see horses strolling loose on the beach and howler monkeys right outside your room.

Overall, I think it's one of the best spots in the area to stay and dine! You won't be disappointed! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: All are designed to be private. If you want to see the water/sunset and an upclose and personal expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windsurf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were staying in a condo close to the Hideaway, but used their restaurant repeatedly. We were extremely pleased with the quality of food and service. Everyone was helpful and friendly, from the owners Doug and Rosy through all the staff. Special mention to Loida and Ramiro, two of the friendliest wait staff we have ever met!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandAmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent place to stay, quiet, clean, off the beaten path, and great value.

Service was excellent, and Doug was very helpful. His insight into traveling around Costa Rica was well received, and was a valuable asset In getting the flat fixed on our rental car.

Samara is a nice place to visit, hideaway is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuommyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
409 reviews
13.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: $110 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing