We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect paradise”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my boyfriend and we had the best experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Doug the owner was very knowledgeable about the area and he provided us with helpful tips. The hotel is right near Samara beach (less than a 5 minute walk). Our room was very spacious with AC and equipped with a mini fridge (a major plus). We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    94
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
216
460
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel, quiet and peaceful but very near the beautiful beaches, a very nice pool and garden,... Great service as well, the best we had so far ! Thanks again Dough for The pleasant stay and good advice on the restaurants and way back !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hideaway on the last leg of an 8-day trip to Costa Rica for our 5-year wedding anniversary and it was just what the doctor ordered! The hotel was lovely and the owners and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It was very private, but still had great access to the beach. We wanted a relaxing, fun, comfortable end to our vacation, and the Hideaway delivered. Plus, the hotel food was so great and inexpensive that we ended up eating most of our meals there. I would highly recommend the Hideaway to anyone visiting Samara.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband I spent a relaxing day and night at Hideaway Hotel at the end of a busy week of hiking and traveling around Costa Rica. The hotel rooms were very spacious and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. We especially liked how we could walk right out our door, and there was the pool and the bar, or, walk about 2 minutes down the dirt road, and we were at the beach. We spent a nice relaxing afternoon walking the beach and exploring the tidal pools, before walking up the beach for dinner. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and attentive, and went out of their way to accomadate you. The hotel owners (Doug & Rosy) were *very* informative, and pointed out not only good places to eat in town, but a bank to get our exit tax for, and helpful pointers for the drive back to San Jose. We would love to come back and stay for longer, as we wished we had more time to explore Corilla beach, which was about a minute away by car, and relax in general. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the Samara area : )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Hideaway Hotel in late Aug 2012 and enjoyed every bit of it. The rooms are comfortable, the pool is clean and the hospitality is outstanding. The feeling I got from the hotel is as if I was staying with friends. Doug and Rosy will go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. They are very knowledgeable of the area and can provide expert advice where to go and things to do. The food and drinks at the hotel are the best deal in town. The food is tasty and reasonably priced. There is also a small collection of craft beers and they make a very good mango margarita. Even if you don’t stay here be sure to stop by and try the homemade ice cream and brownies! Good Times!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stop by looking for local craft beer (Segua), end up having an awesome late lunch with Segua. We wanted to try their home made ice cream / brownie but food filled us pretty well. Will try to make it tomorrow before we get on the road to SJ. We didt stay at the hotel but will definetly look at it on future weekend getaways.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaralu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The owner’s Doug and Rosy were very knowledgeable about the area and helpful in giving advice on what to see and do. The staff at the Hideaway are exceptionally friendly and professional, and they treat you as if you are the ‘only guests staying with them!’

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsnappa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
855 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing