We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My Daughter and I shared a room at The Hideaway Hotel last January and had a Wonderful Time! It was our First time to Costa Rica so I went by the reviews I saw here on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. It was everything we were looking for. Close to the Beach, A nice walk, not too far into town, Great Breakfast every morning, Not to mention the Great Freshly made Mango Margaritas and the Fresh Homemade Ice Cream. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable of what to see and do while in Costa Rica. Even when we drove to the Volcano Area, they recommended nice stops along the way. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return if my travel plans ever bring me back to this area again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 865 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Hideaway hotel, like the name suggests, is a perfect place to go to get away from the heat and the downtown Samara area. It's a cute (about 10 rooms), luxurious (pretty beds and towel/toilet bowl folded creations), relaxing (has a pool to sit by and swim in), comfortable (AIR CONDITIONING in every room), and pretty (perfectly manicured little set of rooms down the road from Samara towards Carillo beach). The owners Doug and Rosie are extremely helpful. They booked the BEST (and most affordable - $150) fishing trip for my boyfriend and me. After we caught fish, the dining room cooks prepared up a succulent meal of ceviche and grilled fish for us. They added mango and avocado sauces. Mmmm. In addition to helping us with nearby activities, they recommended and helped us call hotel options in Monteverde. This place is definitely worth checking out! Note: You will need a car to get to and from the downtown Samara area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I recently enjoyed a wonderful vacation at The Hideaway Hotel. We were a large family group of 5 couples. I immediately loved the "small hotel feel" where the owners, Doug & Rosy knew us by name. They looked after everything from arranging great dinners in town to booking our daily tours which included zip-lining, kayaking, fishing and my personal favorite, white-water rafting. The location of the hotel was perfect, with just a few minutes walk to two beaches and about a 35 minute walk into town. In my opinion the best swimming beach is playa Carillo and there are lots of palms trees to relax under when the sun it too hot. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we always looked forward to the complimentary breakfast served pool-side. We had serveral dinners also at the hotel and it was always very good. They even deliciouly prepared the fish that our guys had caught that morning. Another treat we enjoyed regularly was Doug's home-made icecream. You must try the Cinnamon Chocolate Chip, it is addicting! Needless to say when the holiday was over, it felt like we were leaving friends behind. We won't ever forget the great time we had!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A lovely clean hotel, with friendly staff. Doug and Rosie were great at helping us find sights to see and do. They cared greatly about each one of us, and made sure that we would enjoy a great time while we were there.Truly a wonderful place to relax, and soak up the sun around the pool. Enjoyed all the good food, and even the many flavors of home made ice cream. Very close walk to 2 beaches, while enjoying the monkeys in the trees. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

A beautiful, quiet little hotel located at the edge of a jungle and a minutes walk from the beach. The hotel lends itself to an intimacy not found in larger hotels. One wakes to the wonderful sounds of nature. The days are filled with birds, butterflys, monkeys and lazy iguanas. The community of Samara is only a 5 minute drive away but the trade-off to stay in town is to miss the sights and sounds of nature at it's best. The Hideaway Hotel has great food, a friendly and helpful staff which all contrubuted to treasured memories of our two weeks in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth183817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The most wonderful thing about staying at The Hideaway, aside from the fact that it's just feet away from beautiful Samara Beach, is that you can do absolutely nothing there and have the most lazy and rejuvenating day, or you can tell the staff that you feel like doing something and they'll direct you to the absolute best experience possible. The hotel is small and intimate so the staff gets to know you and anticipates your needs or desires even before you're aware of them. The food at the Hideaway is fabulous and fresh. (I LOVE the mango salsa!) Service is always good and the staff is genuinely friendly. My experience at the Hideaway was 100% excellent.

Room Tip: Upper floors get better breezes, but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Owners Rosy and Doug and the staff made our family vacation wonderful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable the little sitting area out the door with the landscaping gave you a nice private space. Advice for day trips and places to eat we're great and the food at the Hideaway was excellent. Being able to walk to the beach for a swim or to watch the sunset was great. Meeting at the pool late afternoon with other guests to discuss our days activity was fun and friendly. I would recommend a stay at the Hideaway.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have great views but tend to be a little hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
409 reviews
13.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: $110 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing