We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly, comfortable, convenient beach and surf...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
ozzijule
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Friendly, comfortable, convenient beach and surf riders dream!”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have visited Kalimba, Kamar (august, 2016) and this January 2017 visit was in Villa Sandy, (all under care of Kalimba owner). As always the visit is envigorating while being so relaxing. The salty Pacific and surf is across the beach road. Zip lines 'down the road', a local outfit called WingNuts, is very personal and such a fun tour. All kinds of restaurants, a minute or two walk, delicious and many on the beach with spectacular views. Horses on the beach daily, to ride or have the pleasure of seeing them (sometimes free) enjoying the early morning beach. Samara is a tico and gringo integrated town, which is a huge reason why i like it so much. I practice my beginner spanish with all the locals. They are very graciously receptive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway68...
1 review
““Villa Kalimba: the most charming experience that I have ever had in Costa Rica””
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Villa Kalimba is a lovely resort facing the Pacific Ocean, surrounded by six charming villas.
In the center there is a kidney swimming pool which provides a fabulous Jacuzzi, where my husband and I were lulled by the bubbling water. Our villa was fantastic, finely furnished with two bathrooms and a kitchen area. It was truly a pretty, clean and cozy place. This accomodation was across the street from the beach. The dining room was on the porch, where we had the best Costa rican dinners. Roberto, the owner, cooked fabulous seafood. Villa Kalimba's staff (Roberto, Diego and Isabelle) are friendly, fast, communicative and helpful. They Catered to all our needs. The beach, one step from Villa Kalimba, is a peaceful corner of paradise…its white sand and its vicinity to a marvelous ocean makes it “a perfect place of peace and harmony”.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My sweet home in Sàmara!”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A friend of mine told me that if you go to Costa Rica you must go to Sàmara and stay by Roberto in Villa Kalimba. Villa Kalimba are few bungalow under the palms of the great white sands bay of Sàmara. The bungalows are fully equipped and builted in a spanish style around the swimmingpool. When we did the reservation Roberto suggested us: “ If you want total freedom and privacy you should try Kamar! Is a villa next to Kalimba but completely indipendent.”
We listened him and it was great!
When we were back from the 4x4tours or a swim in the sunny beach of Carrillo it was nice because past the Kamar’s gate was like being at home!
It was gorgeous to relax in the pool with a drink, looking at monkeys on the mango tree. We can swim in our big private pool night and day in complete freedom.
We were free to buy something in the market next to the hotel and cook by ourselves or eat fresh fruit but we never lost dinners where Roberto has cooked excellent Italian cuisine !
It was higher than expected !
Thanks Kamar !
Thanks Roberto for your tips!
Thanks Samara !
Thank Costa Rica will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Gracias ,
Thanks a lot for you kind words, we are happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and we really hope that you will be back!
Meantime take care and waiting to see you, we thanks ageing for staying with us !!!
Roberto & Co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt6357
Vale, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We highly recommend Villa Kamar and Villas Kalimba”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Roberto,, Diego, Carlos and Isabella and the rest of the crew have been extremely helpful and professional!

Roberto is an amazing chef, we have all loved every meal that he and his crew have prepared for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The meals prepared by Roberto and his crew!!!!
Liked least: We weren't able to stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Gracias ,
Thanks a lot for you kind words, we are happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and we really hope that you will be back!
Meantime take care and waiting to see you, we thanks ageing for staying with us !!!
Roberto & Co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego Q
1 review
“"Villa Kamar", A dream location almost in front the ocean, a great services and fantastic hospitality!!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have returned to Canada from our two magnificent weeks of
vacations in CR!

Location was just what we wanted from a vacation, the house is almost in front the ocean, in the center of Samara, but in quiet area.

We had an unbelievably vacation and
a great service of the staff of villa Kalimba / villa Kamar made our stay a wonderful time from the beginning to the end.

Villa Kamar was super clean safe with the five beautiful bedroom/bathroom.

The beautiful fully equipped kitchen has all the things might you need to cook!

Kamar give you complete privacy and the pool and gardens are lovely.

We were lucky enough to found this place. Thanks Roberto and his staff for making us to feel like at home!

We highly recommend this place!!!

See you in the future!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Gracias ,
Thanks a lot for you kind words, we are happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and we really hope that you will be back!
Meantime take care and waiting to see you, we thanks ageing for staying with us !!!
Roberto & Co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friulina
Venice, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Grazie Alina,
Siete stati degli ospiti meravigliosi,speriamo ritorniate !!
Mandi !!! :-)
Roberto & Co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vero12345...
Eastman, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing