We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing at all like the pictures”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Samara
Ranked #15 of 33 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
TO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing at all like the pictures”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

We booked into the Locanda based on photos and Tripadvisor recommendations. When we arrived, I thought we must have been at the wrong location. Apart from the front facade, nothing was as was pictured. Our apartment smelled musty and wasn't very clean. There was a kitchen table but no chairs. No towels. We had to request them and what we got were old scratchy dull from wear towels, one each and no face cloths or hand towels. Beds consisted of a foam slab with mismatched, well worn linens. Both kitchen and bathroom had a single handle faucet with one temperature-lukewarm.
Our apartment faced the courtyard which seemed to have a constant stream of delivery trucks idling during the day so a siesta was out of the question and during the night the campgrounds in behind kept us awake.
We checked out the next morning forfeiting our 50% deposit for the week. Could not bear another moment there. Found a much better hotel further down the beach at a similar rate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    19
    8
    16
See reviews for
19
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Nice place, clean, easy to reach, and great restautrant on the beach...
Free WIFI, is a big plus , and the overall quality of the place is very good...
the service is the best by far in samara , english speaking...
i had a great time there, coming back for sure ...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

Location - perfectly located at the beach and close to grocery, restaurants and internet café’s!

Staff –professional, multi-lingual ,courteous, quick, friendly, flexible and very helpful.

Rooms – clean and spacious and have wireless internet access (also accessible from beach restaurant).

Food – breakfast, lunch and dinner are delicious! Everything is fresh & there is plenty to choose from.

Cocktails – the best in Samara by far!

Beach – beautiful, clean and not overly populated . Perfect for surfing & relaxing!
Transportation – easy to reach by car, plane, or bus.

Value – without a doubt, the best value for money spent..

Chances of returning – for sure! we’ve been last year, this year and are planning on returning again next year!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chpatjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any Where USA and the World
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

I spent two weeks in Samara and Locanda became my favorite restaurant in town. The saute mixed seafood is fabulous and the entire staff was great. Johnathan the chef is well trained chef and one of the few real chefs in Samara. Alberto the waiter and bar tender worked on cruise ships for over 20 years and is the king of hospitality.

I loved surfing on the beach using their Wifi, while watching real surfers surf on the waves. What an office!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalVagabonding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at the Locanda for just under a week this July and had a fantastic time. The location is unrivalled, absolutely perfect - walking out from the apartments straight out onto the beach. Our apartment was really well appointed, spacious and very clean.

The couple that run La Locanda are so friendly and really made our stay, helping us a lot whilst in samara and with our onward journey with excellent recommendations.

The food in the restaurant was really tasty (typical Tico and some Italian!)- if you're fed up with rice and beans the carbonara truly is excellent and let's not forget the cocktails..!

Enjoy!

  • Liked — The location and the attentiveness of the staff`
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LaurenELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

Myself and two friends stayed at the Locanda on this past trip to Samara for one week. We rented one of the apartments and found it more that accommodating with all of the kitchen wares available and a very spacious living area. Overall very clean and prompt linen service and very nice employees. The owners were very nice and helped us with everything from renting a car to sorting out the surf school in town. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank allngdfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#11 of 33 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Samara

Property: Locanda Samara
Address: 300 mts oeste de el correo | on The Beach, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Locanda is located in the heart of Samara, right on beautiful Samara Beach! 'Locanda' comes from the traditional Italian name for a Tavern, modest restaurant with annexed accommodation. In the past centuries, it had nobler significance corresponding to the modern hotel, and also indicated, in the eighteenth century, luxury hotel. Hotel Locanda proposes to you alternative solutions for your accommodation in relation to the various needs: 2 fully equipped apartments with a large terrace 2 two-bedroom apartment with patio 5 double rooms with patio or terrace 2 triple rooms with patio 2 luxury beachfront double rooms 6 luxury bungalows in a tropical garden All rooms and apartments have just been completely remodeled at the end of 2011. Bungalows are just recently built Private parking, 24/7 security, wi fi, cable tv, daily domestic cleaning, in-room dining, congierge services, pet friendly accommodation are available and free for our clients ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Playa Samara
Locanda Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing