We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“un "paraiso"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“un "paraiso"”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hôtel!amazing.........
Near a beautiful beach without any people
The Staff is very very nice. And they suggest a really good Restaurant. Dont't forget to taste the cocktails and capuccino.......
Thank you again Emy for enjoying my journey in your amazing hotel. I really recommand this hotel in Samara village

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lgt187264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
46
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greifswald, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can tell you people only the best of Rainer's beautiful hotel in Playa Buena Vista. I have been staying there twice, June 2008 and July 2013. Both times I was overwhelmed by the nature around the hotel and the superb quality of the rooms (spacious, clean) which have been decorated in a sort of exotic style, but with great comfort and many love for detail! The food Rainer's kitchen serves is also fantastic, often he gets fresh fish from the market which is then marveously prepared to provide his guests a delicious, unforgettable meal.
If you love the beach and like to spend your holidays's away from mass tourism you definitely have to go to Rainer's place.

Room Tip: I especially recommend to rent a room in the new building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here six years ago, and then again just last week. It was fantastic and hadn't changed a bit in all that time. The grounds are well taken care of, with grasses, flowers, palm trees, hammocks and a pool. The restaurant and bar are at the center, with bungalows to one side and apartments to the other. Prices for the room and at the restaurant were good for Costa Rica. A beautiful, deserted beach (Playa Buena VIsta) is a short walk or bike ride away. The room was great, large and comfortable. Hot shower, air conditioning, and wifi at the restaurant.

The hotel is off the beaten track, away from the bustling and hustling and tourist crap of Samara. Like the hotel's slogan says, tranquility and nature. That being said, getting there can be an adventure. Coming directly from Samara, the drive is over a bumpy road, through a river, under a big downed tree and finally down a narrow lane. If I hadn't been there before (via taxi the first time), I never would have made it. At the time, the road and river were passable in a car - if you drive cautiously and slowly - but this definitely wouldn't be the case in the wet season. There is a longer way to get there (sans river crossings) from the main highway that leads to Samara.

Rainer, the owner, is a nice guy and told us about nearby things to do, a waterfall and recommended restaurants in town. He is the original owner and built the hotel after emigrating to CR from Germany. All in all, absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We loved it here! Rainer picked us up from Liberia airport and took us back to the hotel. The main roads to Samara are good, but this hotel and its beach, Playa Buena Vista is a little out of the way so the roads are bad, hence a 4x4 is a necessity (you have to drive through a couple of ponds in dry season, so I expect them to be a full grown rivers in the Green/Wet season). The hotel and its grounds are gorgeous, rooms are spacious, clean, and the area is very safe. We locked our doors, but stopped after 1 day because it's so secluded! The pictures are accurate and there is wildlife everywhere! I too was visited by Pootsy and even hand fed him a banana! The beach is about a 10min walk away (would be nicer if it was closer, oh well) but on the way you see Howler monkeys (with babies!) in the trees above you and walk by ranches with horses. The beach Buena Vista is also really nice, but hey all the beaches in CR are beautiful! There isn't much to do activity wise at this hotel or other guests for that matter, but I'm sure if you wanted a massage or a horse back ride or whatever, they could arrange it for you. It's an excellent place to RELAX. Or if you had a group, it's a geat place to "take over". If you rent a car, it would also be a good place to have as "homebase". We rented an apartment with a kitchenette but we never cooked, should have saved the extra $30. My favorite breakfast was a huge bowl of fresh fruit (mangos, papaya, pineapple, melons) over granola and topped with yoghurt. Rainer cooks dinner and they have a nice but simple menu. Prices are extremely reasonable. Staff made up of local friendly Ticos . I recommend this place for people looking to relax, get a suntan and putt around. If you want more society than your travel mates, stay in Samara which is a popular beach town, the next beach over. This place is for relaxing. The Flying Crocodile hotel is right next door and it looks kind of cheesy compared to the simplicity of this place. P.S bring your own shampoo etc!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samara
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

After an adventurous route -this hotel lies rather isolated- you will arrive in PARADISE.
-very warm and friendly crew
-the location is save and clean
-a lot of space inside and outside
-a green surrounding- a beautiful large palm garden, birds, howling-monkey's, squirrels
-renting an appartment gives the opportunity to cook by yourself, but I recommend the good kitchen of this paradise..fresh products.
-a relaxing and clean swimmingpool
-the owner, Rainer, will guide you to interesting places
-wednesdayevening: life music by Rainer and friends
-nearby: the beach, with a seaturtle reservation
-Spanish, English, German speaking
-international and national guests
You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cosmopolitus
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We spent a great time in this small, very personel hotel. Endless beaches, and hardly any people, but breading turtles and fish hunting pelicans instead. A tropical paradise for nature lovers. We relaxed in the well designed tropical garden which is surrounded by mangroves. And the daily bath in the swimming pool was just marvelous. While sunbathing we watched the parrots, listened to the mantled howler monkeys and every afternoon we were visited by "Putzy" the coatimundi. We also wanted to watch crocodiles but we didn't see any. We hope we will meet them when we come again next year. We thanks the friendly team of the hotel for the attentive service and the good food.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Before making reservations, I asked the owner if the beach was safe for swimming and close to the hotel, he said there was a trail from his hotel to the beach that was 300 meters and the water was good for swimming. The owner knew I was taking my teenaged daughter and swimming was a priority for our choice of hotel. His website also claims that his hotel is 3 miles from Samara.
When we arrived to his hotel, the owner told us not to take his trail to the beach because it was filled with crocodiles AND not to swim above our waists because the current was strong. We had to walk down a muddy road, then cross a crocodile-filled river to get to the beach. The water was nothing but rip tides. We decided to walk to Samara and discovered we had to cross three more rivers filled with crocodiles, and what looked like sewage. The first river had water up to our necks. People were yelling "Crocodiles" from the other side of the bank.
We also discovered that deep river was flooded by the road so the 10km drive to town was now on a rugged road and closer to 30 km and cost about 30 bucks for a taxi, and it was hard to find a taxi because a driver needed a truck and the road was horrendous.
When I tried to leave a few days earlier than we had reserved, the owner threatened to call the Tourist Police if we didn't pay for the three nights we didn't want to stay there. I thought paying one extra night was more than suitable for this hellish experience.
There was nothing pleasant about this place. Once you're there, you're trapped. I paid the money to leave because it was so difficult to swim and to get to Samara. In hindsight, I should have let him call the Tourist Police. They wouldn't have wanted to make the drive to help this owner get money from us.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank ftmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo

Property: Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Address: Playa Buena Vista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo" is a full-service hotel, and not just a guest house or B&B. It is located within the beautiful Costa-Rican countryside, 3 miles further north from Samara, and 900 ft distant from the turtle beach Playa Buena Vista. Playa Buena Vista is the next beach up north to Playa Samara, close to the gorgeous white sand beach Playa Barrigona, where you can even see a nice waterfall (during rainy season). The reception is open 24 hours a day, and the daily housekeeping is already included in the price. Each room and appartment has a privat bathroom, AC, and a refrigerator. The "Paraiso del Cocodrilo" has a Restaurant with a Bar and offers free Wifi to all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing