We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class stay at the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This isn't Miami beach. Don't bring an attitude or expect a major tourist resort. Its charming, clean and beautiful, run by German/English speaking folks always smiling and helpful. Yes, its out of the way. Do your research before booking. Don't expect to jump in a cab at will at the front door and go to "town".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoLaVidaPura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 236 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel Flying Crocodile was just perfect! First of all Petra and Andrea are wonderful hosts and were very kind and helpful to us during our stay. Our apartment was clean and spacious and was equipped with everything. Breakfast was included with the apartment we rented and it was delicious! The hotel is outside of the main town which means we were surrounded by wildlife, and it was awesome to hear the monkeys everyday. It was a very relaxing stay and a great place to call home for a few days :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This tis has to be tried. I feel I was staying in the jungle. I wake up in the morning with a smile in my face and listen to monkeys and birds with some amazing sounds.

It is a complex of about ten houses, scattered around with a nice garden around. The team who work there make me feel special in a fantastic way. They also had good food. The rooms were properly cleaned every day. We also had a swimming pool at your disposal. In addition, there were only 10 minutes to walk down to a beautiful beach which we had almost complete alone.
We should learn to fly gyrocopter. It was also a great program with serious fight instructors and also skilled technicians. So I feel very safe. To fly along the beaches there was an seldom experience .Hangar and a short runway was just beside the pool.
The whole concept was for me a wonderful good experienced.

A special thanks to Petra and Andre with their team at the hotel. And also to the flight team Guido, Frank and Victor:-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This definitely out-of-the-way place is a treasure. If you are looking for the Marriott experience make reservations elsewhere - maybe even the Marriott. This unique gem makes you one with nature. It is out of the way but in a good way. The secluded beach is less than a half a mile walk and very easy. You probably won't see anyone else there. The accomodations are unique.
Each apartment is different than the others. You are given whatever you need and the staff is very eager to please and help you enjoy your stay. The food is made fresh and if there is a specialty you would like to have --- just ask. The flying doesn't get any better. The instructors Guido and Frank are outstanding. They are willing to train no matter what the level of experience. The auto-gyro equipment is very well maintained and top-notch. The only thing you have to do is tell them what you would like and your wish shall be granted!! While in Costa Rica I have found that it is a good idea to have a 4 wheel drive no matter where you are traveling and to get here I also recommend it. It is a short drive to Samara where there is more to enjoy. No cable TV but didn't miss it with the lovely conversations with the other Guests we met and Staff as well. WIFI friendly. If you are looking to unwind this is the place. Absolutely love it and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Flying Crocodile over New Year 2012/13 with our 2.5yr old daughter.
We had a self catering room - Chagall. The website lacks in pictures so you're not entirely sure what you're getting. Our room was very nice though didn't have the 'fully equipped' kitchen that is mentioned on the site. We had to ask for a cheese grater and sieve and the rest of the kit was in need of updating. We also had one of the staff and her partner sleeping upstairs and unfortunately their movements (even though they tried to tip toe) were incredible loud down below in our section of the lodge. Aside of that all was well and we were in prime position for a morning dip in the pool. The gardens are wonderful, breakfast is good and whole location very open and natural. Petra and Andrea are very friendly and helpful. Andrea is also an excellent cook. I enjoyed her delicious red snapper! It's a location that would require a car especially for exploring the surrounding area filled with beautiful, wild beaches. The local beach is a short 15min walk and easily accessible and fine for children as there is an estuary running down into the ocean where they can paddle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolMountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the room for 3 and was extremely satisfied. The people running the place are new and very eager to give friendly and quality service. Decoration is special, food are all fresh, breakfast is rich. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aysedincer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Our reservations were made by a travel company and we thought we would be in Samara so there would be stuff to do..... There wasn't. We had NO hot water for our entire visit which I think is unacceptable and when we allowed 48 hours to try to leave early on last night we were told no refund. It was low season so only a few people there and with the water issue I think a credit should have been afforded to us. If you don't mind wildlife... Bugs in cabin...another couple had a scorpion in the shower... And no hot water not bad. Andrea a great cook and very friendly though!!!!! Just be aware it is quite secluded and remote and if you simply want down time you will be happy.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ginnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flycroco, Manager at Hotel Flying Crocodile, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Actually already one day prior to your arrival we confirmed to the travel agency the refund for the early departure. There we're very sorry that your travel agent has not passed on to you.
Furthermore, your resentment entirely justifiable, that you were sent to a quiet place, even though you thought to get a lively place.

That on your arrival no hot water was available was for everyone involved in the whole area not pleasant. However, we had no influence on this, because the state water provider has performed repairs to a broken pipe in the village.

Costa Rica is a tropical country and our hotel is located in the middle of a nature reserve, where many animals have their home. The guests are usually happy about it because they can make one or the other photo. The bungalows are cleaned daily and checked. Despite everything, in this country you remain not completely spared before small animals.

We are very pleased that we were able to satisfy you in spite of everything with our cuisine and hospitality. If you travel to Costa Rica again and you are looking for a place to relax, we'd like you welcome again.

Cordially yours Flying Crocodile team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
4.3 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flying Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flying Crocodile

Address: Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $71 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flying Crocodile 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Crocodile Lodge is nestled in a nature reserve and surrounded by mangroves. Not far away is situated the untouched beach of Playa Buena Vista (about 10 min. by foot) located on the Nicoya Peninsula, 6 km north of Samara. Our Lodge offers ten individually designed rooms, each equipped with a bathroom, air conditioning, fan and fridge. The bungalows are colorful and attractive with attention to special details (inspired by the architecture of the Mexican "Casa del Pacifico" and the art of Antonio Gaudi). We are surrounded by approximately 2 acres of tropical gardens with a swimming pool, where many animals have found their home. The garden invites you to stay, relax and enjoy. Additionally, there are table tennis, table football, pool table and a trampoline. For our younger guests a playground and a children's pool with water slide is available. You will find yourselves well taken care of by our chef, who serves complete breakfasts, luncheons and specially prepared dinners, every day. We offer a complete program of excursions and other adventures you might like, as well as laundry service. Also for group travelers, we offer our full services. We are happy to cater to special procedures and requirements, and also rent out the entire hotel, in order to preserve the calm and friendly group dynamics. Similarly, we support you in seminars, conferences, workshops, presentations, antistress training and much more. It is our intent that we will provide participants and speakers a pleasant atmosphere. Our hotel is connected with an Ultra-Light Flying Center. The experienced pilots offer you a flight adventure of a life time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Flying Crocodile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Crocodile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing