We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flying Crocodile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the room for 3 and was extremely satisfied. The people running the place are new and very eager to give friendly and quality service. Decoration is special, food are all fresh, breakfast is rich. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aysedincer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    40
    18
    1
    6
See reviews for
68
93
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Our reservations were made by a travel company and we thought we would be in Samara so there would be stuff to do..... There wasn't. We had NO hot water for our entire visit which I think is unacceptable and when we allowed 48 hours to try to leave early on last night we were told no refund. It was low season so only a few people there and with the water issue I think a credit should have been afforded to us. If you don't mind wildlife... Bugs in cabin...another couple had a scorpion in the shower... And no hot water not bad. Andrea a great cook and very friendly though!!!!! Just be aware it is quite secluded and remote and if you simply want down time you will be happy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flycroco, Manager at Hotel Flying Crocodile, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Actually already one day prior to your arrival we confirmed to the travel agency the refund for the early departure. There we're very sorry that your travel agent has not passed on to you.
Furthermore, your resentment entirely justifiable, that you were sent to a quiet place, even though you thought to get a lively place.

That on your arrival no hot water was available was for everyone involved in the whole area not pleasant. However, we had no influence on this, because the state water provider has performed repairs to a broken pipe in the village.

Costa Rica is a tropical country and our hotel is located in the middle of a nature reserve, where many animals have their home. The guests are usually happy about it because they can make one or the other photo. The bungalows are cleaned daily and checked. Despite everything, in this country you remain not completely spared before small animals.

We are very pleased that we were able to satisfy you in spite of everything with our cuisine and hospitality. If you travel to Costa Rica again and you are looking for a place to relax, we'd like you welcome again.

Cordially yours Flying Crocodile team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Flying Crocodile is a beautiful home base for your exploration of the Nicoya Peninsula. And you can experience Costa Rica even if you don't leave the grounds, with the howler monkeys, iguanas, and plenty of lush vegetation. It manages to feel both luxurious and rustic (with the most rustic elements being the lukewarm showers and non-biting ants in the room, neither of which bothered me at all). The staff is warm and helpful, the food is delicious, and the bungalows are comfortable and attractive. Do yourself a favor and take a flight in the gyrocopter. The nearby beach is almost private, and fresh coconuts can be found at a neighboring hostel, with a beach view at its bar. I'm very much looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is difficult to imagine a better place to stay while in Costa Rica than the The Flying Crocodile Hotel. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff caring and helpful, the rooms charming and inspiring, the food always fresh, imaginative and tasty, the pool and Yoga Pavilion breath-taking, the beach everything it should be, and the amenities? I have one word for you. Exquisite.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Aside from the AMAZING art of the layout and design of this hotel (every bungalow is like a journey into the dream of a beautiful artist tucked into the nooks of a lively yet safe jungle) I was impressed with the warmth of the staff and the overall feeling that: Here Is Someplace Truly Special.

I will be back again to not just fly with Guido in his Gyro Copter (most amazing way to see Costa Rica) but for him to teach me how to fly myself.

The nearby beach is beautiful and empty of any one except one or two locals who might fish or surf.

The food was amazing, there is also a wonderful hostel near by, El Castillo, that offers the worlds best chocolate cake.

The water in the showers was occasionally colder than I usually prefer, but considering the heat, it wasn't that big of a problem. They are the most beautiful showers I've even showered in.

Its a small but special community.

Great if you are driving yourself (please get a four wheel drive SUV, anything less in Costa Rica is not useful), if you do not have your own car a round trip into Town (Samara) is about $30, where there are many restaurants, a few shops, another amazing beach, tours etc.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms...they each are different and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beaches and rainforests can be found in many spots of our world. But, people make the difference of the expats and visitors hang out special. The host makes you feel at home; with great food, setting and non-intrusive service. We are a group of 18-20 using the hotel as our retreat and the space is totally at our disposal.
Plus, unbeatable "Gyro" plane flying experience.
What more can one ask for!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: I have a 1/2 villa to myself--which can easily accommodate 3-4 people. There are great apartments f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCTHING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The warm and inviting spirit from the staff at the Flying Crocodile hotel made the trip to Costa Rica extra special! I felt at home and well taken care of the entire time. The resort is AMAZINGLY beautiful and serene and provides an intimate experience with the beauty and sounds of the environment!

Room Tip: The resort is comprised of private bungalows and EVERYONE is fabulous... it truly is a home away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryantTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
4.2 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flying Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flying Crocodile

Property: Hotel Flying Crocodile
Address: Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flying Crocodile 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Crocodile Lodge is nestled in a nature reserve and surrounded by mangroves. Not far away is situated the untouched beach of Playa Buena Vista (about 10 min. by foot) located on the Nicoya Peninsula, 6 km north of Samara. Our Lodge offers ten individually designed rooms, each equipped with a bathroom, air conditioning, fan and fridge. The bungalows are colorful and attractive with attention to special details (inspired by the architecture of the Mexican "Casa del Pacifico" and the art of Antonio Gaudi). We are surrounded by approximately 2 acres of tropical gardens with a swimming pool, where many animals have found their home. The garden invites you to stay, relax and enjoy. Additionally, there are table tennis, table football, pool table and a trampoline. For our younger guests a playground and a children's pool with water slide is available. You will find yourselves well taken care of by our chef, who serves complete breakfasts, luncheons and specially prepared dinners, every day. We offer a complete program of excursions and other adventures you might like, as well as laundry service. Also for group travelers, we offer our full services. We are happy to cater to special procedures and requirements, and also rent out the entire hotel, in order to preserve the calm and friendly group dynamics. Similarly, we support you in seminars, conferences, workshops, presentations, antistress training and much more. It is our intent that we will provide participants and speakers a pleasant atmosphere. Our hotel is connected with an Ultra-Light Flying Center. The experienced pilots offer you a flight adventure of a life time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Flying Crocodile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Crocodile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing