We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa del Sueno(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Velero(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel ManGaby(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Acacia(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Condovac la Costa(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Costa Smeralda(Gulf of Papagayo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
367
178
56
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
178
56
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysocean frontbeachfront suiteoutdoor jacuzzicosta ricabeautiful hotelseparate sitting areahotel restaurantsitting roomlarge treesgarden viewhot tubbeautiful roomliberia airportquiet beachlarge bedroomopen air restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 616 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Playa Hermosa from Feb 9 to 22. It was the most delightful trip we have ever encountered. The staff gave us the very best service. The room we stayed in was immaculate. The waiters were always friendly. The food was very good. The reception staff were more then willing to help us arrange any tours/excursions that we wanted. The manager of the hotel, Jose, was so helpful and made our trip the wonderful event that it was. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to experience the tranquility of Costa Rica and the sincere personalities of the people that live there.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank Brenda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We just returned from our trip to Playa Hermosa. We loved this quaint hotel on the beach. The staff was very kind and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to make us feel special. The new pool was very clean and maintained. The food and service was excellent! I recommend the lobster in whiskey sauce! This hotel is steps from the beach which was very safe and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Suzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

My 75 year old mother, my 11 year old daugther and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The staff was super friendly and would go out of their way to serve you in your room or at the beach or in the restaurant. The rooms were very clean. However, there is no clock or phone in the room. I don't think there is a clock anywhere. I never knew what time it was and when i asked the response was always "what does it matter?" If my mom's phone had not registered the time, we would have had no idea when to come and go. On the down side, there is no water pressure in the showers. The rooms are small but air conditioned and there is a TV. There is no in room safe but the hotel will gladly lock up your belongings. They will also retrieve them for you any time and as many times as you need. The gratuity that is added goes to the hotel, so tip your wait staff and maid and you will reap the benefits. The new pool is great and usually shaded which is a relief from the beating down sun on the beach. There are plenty of shaded spots where you can lie in a chaise lounge chair and watch the kids on the beach. There are no rip tides here and the water is like bath water. The sun comes up around 430 and sets around 530. The beach location in the back yard of the hotel is great and many other travelers say it is the best they have found in Costa Rica. We did not see much "wild life" on the grounds except for a few iguanas. But the plant life is lush. There is a bar and restaurant right next door and the restaurant is reported to be one of the best around. There is a curio shop there as well where you can purchase trinkets. Bring bug spray! If you spray at your table before you eat it keeps the flys and mosquitoes away. For the money we spent it was a great value. 30+ meals +drinks, beer, milkshakes etc cost 114.00 dollars for all three of us for the four days and five nights. Incredible!

I highly recomment Avispa Tours for any excursions you might want to take. We took a day trip with them that was great and very private, just the three of us. That allowed us to avoid crowds and big busses on our day trips. The cost was less than the big, crowded tours.
Liberia airport was a mess. They have only one runway and at the slightest provocation they shut down completely. Many families of all ages are renting cars and traveling all over the country unassisted. If at all possible fly in and out of San Jose to avoid being hung up at Liberia. (We were delayed there ten hours. Nightmare) Also, if you are on a charter flight such as Champion you have already paid the exit tax. We ended up paying it again out of ignorance when we didn't need to. So your "exit stamp" is paid if you are on a charter flight.
All is all it was a lovely vacation. The country is beautiful, the people nice and it is pretty safe. If you are single and female, don't go off alone. You are highly attractive to many local men who will approach you without hesitation. Be safe, be careful and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seekjustice57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2006

I can understand the mixed reviews. If you are looking for 4-star comfort then this place is not for you. However if you are looking for a good value, laid-back spot where you are steps from the beach and are cool with basic room ammenities then this is a great option.

The location couldn't be better. It's right on the quiet end of the beach with plastic lounges and chairs on the sand that you can pull into the shade later in the day. There are a couple of hammocks for lazing in and when the sun got too much for me I appreciated the shady pool area. The sunsets were amazing.

The staff are very friendly and laid-back but certainly not in a hurry but that was fine becasue nor were we. They would give suggestions on tours and activities but kind of left it up to us to arrange. The restaurant was OK and served breakfast and standard fare like burgers which were reasonably priced. The restaurant and bar next door are good options and there are plenty of other options in walking distance.

The rooms are basic to say the least and we didn't spend much time hanging out there. As they are ground floor cabins the rooms have heavy curtains to block people peeping in so you need to rely on the a/c overnight. The room had basic concrete floors, an average bathroom and shower. I'm glad we had brought beach towels as the room towels were tiny. There was no in-room safe but you could keep things in the hotel safe.

Hotel El Velero was another option we considered on the beach in the same price range and we went there for dinner once and found it to have good food but I'm still glad we picked the Hotel Playa Hermosa as it really has a nicer beachfront access area i.e. from lawn to beach and much more shady.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kangasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
213
Reviewed May 3, 2006

Ugh! What an awful hotel! Sure, they’re on the beach, but they could care less about customers. The worst part was when we complained about a problem in our hotel room. There were ants everywhere! Even when we got to the room, they were crawling up and down the walls of the bathroom, and shortly they were in our bags, and disgustingly, all over our bed sheets. At first we thought we could deal with it – understandably, we were on the beach surrounded by leafy flora. But, when we picked up the bed pillow, and literally 30-40 medium-sized red ants came out from behind the headboard, we knew we would be taken hostage and brushing those things off all night long. I have lived extended periods of time in tents, cabins, bungalows, and guest houses, in countries throughout Africa and South America, so I understand a few bugs here and there, but to date, I have never stayed in a place with so many ants…or with as little concern for customers. When we complained, the hotel receptionist grabbed a can of Raid (yes, in front of our eyes!), came to our room, saw the ants, and began stomping on them (yes, again, right in front of our eyes!!). He even seemed surprised at the amount of ants, but was indifferent to our concerns, and never even apologized. When we said we wanted to leave, he offered another room with…what else…ants! Then, he talked to the manager, and said that since they had offered another room and we didn’t accept it, he would only return half of our up-front payment!!! Unbelievable! Were it not for the ant experience and management treatment, we might have been able to survive this very unclean hotel for one night, considering it has beach chairs and hammocks by the shore. But there is no way you can consider the rooms pleasantly furnished – the feeling is more like a no-star roadside motel. Everything was outdated. Not even an in-room safe, when most travel guides recommend guarding your passports and valuables. The pool (which cannot by any means be considered new) is in constant shade. The whole experience just goes to show that the management at Hotel Playa Hermosa is arrogant, just because they are located on the beach. They must be desperate, and know how disconnected they are from customers if they felt they needed to keep partial payment for such an awful experience. The restaurant staff was nice enough, but if you have eaten in other beachside locales on Playa Hermosa/Hermosa Beach, the food can only be considered ordinary. (And, I don’t even want to think about the ants that might be running around in this hotel's kitchen!) You can walk 100 meters/yards or 3 minutes away and find a much better hotel –Villa del Sueno-- for less money (it was when we went this week). Villa del Sueno has bright, clean rooms, a clean dining area, two pools, helpful service, a satisfying local and varied menu (we had profiteroles--ice cream filled pastries--for dessert multiple times), and even has an in-room survey. To me, Villa del Sueno shows much more that they understand traveler’s needs, and they have just found a repeat customer. Hotel Playa Hermosa, on the other hand, could care less.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews