We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We pushed the boat out here and had an ocean front suite. The suite was beautifully designed and one of the classiest rooms we have ever stayed in. It had a huge balcony with a jacuzzi.

The hotel itself was a very attractive design and they had done a brilliant job of keeping as many mature trees as possible and planting many more beside.

The front desk staff were very helpful, and the waiters and bar staff were also good. The gardeners and the guy looking after the beach chairs worked from dawn to dusk and always with a smile on their faces.

The sea is great for swimming and the beach is attractive and never crowded.

I can thoroughly reccomend this hotel and an ocean front suite would be perfect for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: Splash out and have an ocean front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnOxfordCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    165
    48
    11
    4
See reviews for
182
249
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A friend and I stayed three nights in this spectacular hotel. The hotel itself is beautifully laid out, perfectly positioned at a quiet end of a long beach and oh so clean. The hotel was very quiet during our stay and the staff were amazing. I felt so welcome and no request was ever refused. The restaurant is open air and everything we ordered was delicious. The staff were happy to speak to us in English but also very happy to teach us or let us try our rudimentary Spanish on them. There were howler monkeys, lizards, many birds and even an anteater just hanging around the property. So looking forward to visiting this gem of a hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Didn't stay here but hands down the best meal we had in Costa Rica and surprisingly not as overpriced as other local places. Stay there if you can afford it, beautiful place. If not, make sure to come by for dinner - a delicious, well priced meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovelocityo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is beautiful from the architectural point of view and the fact that it is situated just few metres from the sea, makes it perfect for beach vacations. The buildings blend beautifully into the nature - trees growing through the sealings and wild animals such as howler monkeys and lizards just hanging around in the hotel area.

We had some trouble figuring out how the airconditioner works but otherwise I would say that our stay there was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed at a junior suite with a view to the pool and garden which was perfect and I believe bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laiskloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

They really did a great job making the hotel harmonically set thought the forest... you see green everywhere!
The rooms are super comfortable and clean, very nice bathrooms with a modern style that looks very elegant. The view from the room is beautiful and makes you feel so relaxed.
The food at the restaurant in our experience was not that great, breakfast is served in the bar so you can always find something that will suit you, the service was always good.
Even dough the hotel is beach front, the only thing we were not that satisfied with was the beach itself, we thought it was going to be more private but there was a lot of people around and from other places. Also people came to sell tours or souvenirs while we were resting on the beach chairs and we did no like that so much.
The hotel itself is beautiful and confortable.

Room Tip: Look for rooms with ocean beach, is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The staffs in the hotel work very hard and are pleasant; Diana and other staffs helped us to call the airline a few times to trace our missing luggage from LIR airport, so we could have more time to relax in Costa Rica. The beach is beautiful and water is calm. We met some local people on the beach and enjoyed chatting with them. The food in the restaurant is very fresh plus has reasonable price; the service is friendly; we enjoyed eating or had coffee in the restaurant over looking the ocean and hills. The location of the hotel is ideal: close to LIR airport and other beaches near by.
The only thing is that the cover sheets on the bed are very thin with low threads.
We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSwan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is our third stay in a beachfront room at Bosque del Mar. We spend lots of time on the balcony listening to the waves roll in as we read or eat our breakfast. Once you learn the controls, you raise the shades each morning while lying in bed. The a/c is tricky, but we've learned centigrade. You see monkeys, iguanas, and other types of wildlife from your room or on the beach. The staff is very helpful and fix anything wrong right away. Our lamp wouldn't work, and we had a new one when we returned from dinner. This room has an ante room with a sofa bed and fridge. Our room and bathroom are big and very nice.
Yes, you sometimes see ants in the bathroom, but they're not bothersome. This is the tropics. Playa Hermosa is a jewel of a beach that is about one mile long. There are good restaurants all along the beach. This is a quiet place where you come for water sports and relaxing, and they roll up the sidewalks at 11pm. There is a little grocery store about a mile away, and we stock up on drinks, yogurt, fruit, etc. we me have also ordered room service which was pretty fast.
The stars at night are fantastic. The locals use the beaches here so you hear children having a good time. Dogs roam free and are well-behaved. Costa Ricans are low key and never use their car horns. They tend to walk in the road so be careful when driving.
Being in this place is like going back in time in the US. If you want Cancun action go to Tamarindo where you will interact with other Americans. This place will be too easy going.
Ginger is our favorite place to eat--tapas with an Asian flair. El Velero has good meat and fish. In Playa del Coco try La Farola if you can find it hidden away in Las Palmas.
Bring OFF and Suntan lotion because they are expensive here. The Automercado in Playa del Coco has lots of good choices. There is also a laundry in Coco above the Super Compro. Be patient if you rent a car because it takes forever. We use Tours-Your-Way for reasonable private tours. Adolfo on this beach runs a good snorkeling mini tour. There is a Vision Sunset cruise to see whales this time of year. Nobody dresses up here. We are coming back in June with our whole family to see Guanacaste in the green season. It never rains in the dry season now. If you go up too the mountains, you will probably need a sweater or jacket.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BigDtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
5.0 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
412 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa

Property: Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Address: Primera Entrada a Playa Hermosa 300 mts Oeste, Playa Hermosa 50303, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosque Del Mar Playa Hermosa Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing