We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dare you to find fault with this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Bosque del Mar celebrating our daughter's wedding. The entire hotel was booked by our friends and family. We could not have been more satisfied with our meals, our rooms, and the staff. I'd like to give kudos to Carlos, Shirley, and Jose and everyone who bent over backwards to make our stay as well as the wedding a most memorable experience. The Thursday night beach BBQ was a huge hit. Thank-you to the entire staff, we shall meet again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 580 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights,2 kids and 2 adults. 195 US dollars double room per night without breakfast.

Positive: the pool is very child friendly, very close to the beach, balcony and large room, own children menu in restaurant, friendly staff, good cleaning.

Negative: for that price no breakfast included ( our experience in Costa Rica after 2 weeks is the more you pay for hotel, it's most likely without breakfast), no wi fi in room, air con was very poor, maybe cause its high under the roof and it was not powerful enough. We stayed on second floor, view to the garden. Dinner in restaurant was nothing special, fish was Very dry. Even if we hang the towels up, the cleaning lady changed them,not very Eco- friendly,as the hotel is profiled, no place to recycle paper,drinking bottles or cans.

We would recommend people to look at hotels at the other entrance of playa hermosa ( when you come down the hill drive past the supermarket and turn left). Hotel is good if you want to spent lots of money and have a feeling of staying in a greener place than Playa Hermosa actually is.

Room Tip: We stayed well in 2 floor with view to the garden/ pool but air con was not very effective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakypaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Owner at Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear client,
Your comments are important for us, so we appreciate you took the time to write them down. Regarding breakfast, it is true is not included in regular rack rate but we offer good deals when guest want to include meals in it´s reservations. This deals or packages are published in our website all the time and also our Reservations staff are open to include breakfast upon request with a discount if the client is staying several nights.

During low season (May 1 - Dec 15) we also offer a special package with meals included for the adults (at least 2) and they get free lodging and meals for 2 kids in the same room. That´s a great option for families and it´s available more than 8 months per year.

About sustainable practices, there are many of them that you can see since the architectural design to the daily operation (you can fin more info about it in our website). There are many other things to do and to fix, but we are moving forward in this matter. We know clients in other countries are used to classified the waste, -unfortunely that in Costa Rica is not the general rule yet-, but our staff takes all the basket cases waste and made by their our the classification in order to separate paper, alluminum, glass, tetra brik and plastic to be regulary delivered to a private Collection Center to be reused or recycled.
We will keep working harded to improve our services and facilities.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in beach front suite with our 3 kids. The room is very nice with perfect view of the beach. Jacuzzi on the balocony was nice although we really didn't have time to use it. We loved the shower with the rocks around it. Felt like I was outside. No bathtub. We also liked the automatic window shade. Expect ants, bugs and geckos in the room - you are in the jungle! The property is surrounded by huge trees and tropical plants. You will see monkeys, inguana, and lots of beautiful birds while sitting in the pool. Food at the restaurant and drinks at the bar are very good and resonably priced. The beach is calm and beautiful, but the sand is very dark and will ruin a bathing suit! We went on a sunset cruise on the Sea Bird sailboat. Very nice!
We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nshihata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. We were in a beach front room that gave us views of the beach from the deck, the jacuzzi on the deck, and the room. The bed was very comfortable, ac worked great, bath and shower were very nice. Rate we paid included breakfast every morning. Meal was buffet style on Friday and Saturday, and from the menu weekdays. All meals were delicious. We went to boccellis pizza a couple nights , very good pizza. It is a five minute walk up the road.
Trees on beach provided plenty of shade, although chaise lounges were in bad condition and not comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is located just on the Playa Hermosa beach. Upon arrival we received excellent room (salon and bedroom) on the ground floor with pool view. Despite this it was very quiet :)
The hotel has great bar and spa (see massage promotions in reception)

We found great Sushi restaurant just few minutes from hotel, although food in hotel was decision.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank German K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is always "just OK to disappointing" for the last 4 years. Great views and accomodation. Friendly staff, just haven't got a handle on quality and service yet.

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved staying here with our two sons, definitely the nicest place we saw in Playa Hermosa. The proximity to the calm, lovely, uncrowded beach, and the shady pool are great. Also, we went snorkeling with Adolfo, and highly recommend him. He also does sunset and other tours. You can find him on the beach right near the hotel. It's a good idea to go with a local, small-scale guide like Adolfo, as that way the locals get the tourism dollars.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms feel like treehouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cobblehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
379 reviews
5.0 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,620 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
420 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa

Address: Primera Entrada a Playa Hermosa 300 mts Oeste, Playa Hermosa 50303, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $120 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosque Del Mar Playa Hermosa Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing