We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ManGaby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ManGaby
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here a half a dozen times over the past few years. It is a small hotel two blocks from the beach. The super nice owners live on the premises. The rooms are simple and immaculate. The pool is lovely with beautiful gardens around it. We will be back again in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannabelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    63
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
91
166
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Mangaby is my home away from home whenever I visit Guanacaste on business. have stayed here over a dozen times and always received 5 star service. Fantastic gardens and grounds...clean rooms...terrific restaurant...always a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevecrifase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We just came from Costa Rica where we had a great time at Playa Hermosa. Playa Hermosa is a little town with the best beach on the Pacific coast. We found Hotel ManGaby on Tripadvisor. Thank you, everyone, who commented on it, it was very helpful. Hotel ManGaby is a small, very pleasant and clean place with a nice pool. It is very close to the beach, no more than 1 min. We stayed on the ground floor in a king studio across from the pool. All the rooms are comfortable, with an air conditioner, Wi-Fi, TV, a dining area equipped with a microwave, an electric oven, refrigerator and a coffeemaker. There is a little store across the street where you can buy some groceries and fresh bread in the morning. There is also a supermarket a little farther, a number of small restaurants with great food on the way to the beach and on the beach, and a number of good restaurants for dinner. We enjoyed lunch at the Aqua Sport bar on the beach, which has surprisingly good seafood menu, and dinner at Ginger, which is also very close to the hotel. Our special thanks to the hotel ManGaby owners, which are very friendly and helpful. They responded to every our need, and even helped us to make reservations for the tours with the agency of our choice, Tico Tours. We travelled to Nicaragua and to the National park, and we loved it! Another plus: for this kind of a simple beach vacation you can travel light, a swimsuit and a wrap will be enough for most of the time:) Pura Vida! Enjoy your vacation at Playa Hermosa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for this last new year's eve... We did the reservation for 4 people since november, but later we decided to call and add 2 more guests and they agreed.. But when we arrived at the hotel (after hours of travel) surprise!: they didnt want to accept us... Neither the father or the son made responsible for agreeing on something and then denied it... We had to make a chance of plans and stay only 5 people after paying an "extra free".... My recommendation: do not trust what they say over the phone... Always ask for an email or something that make sure you receive what you need. The place is tiny, small pool, average rooms with glass doors (huge fail)... Food is mmm ok but very expensive (it might be better to ask for a villa with kitchen or find another place to eat)... Small parking lot that only allows one car per guest, so if you go with a big family with 2 or more cars be prepared to leave one on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. The general staff attention is wonderful, but on my experience I would prefer to pay a couple more of dollars and look for another nice, medium size place to stay, and of course, a place where the owners treat better their guests.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Google Translation
Al ser nuestro lugar un lugar pequeño, donde lo que resaltamos es la calidad, el confort y el servicio a nuestros clientes, no es posible saturar las habitaciones con más personas de su capacidad. Nuestro hotel cuenta con habitaciones familiares para seis personas, pero la habitación seleccionada por los señores era de un máximo de cuatro. A como se les indico en la confirmación de la reserva por escrito.
Para mantener la calidad, de nuestro restaurante los platillos cuentan con el precio que justifica su calidad.
Al contar con con 17 habitaciones aseguramos, un espacio en nuestro parque a cada una de las habitaciones, esto por que las tarifas con las que se cuentan para las habitaciones Standard son para 02 personas, que por lo general se mueven en un solo carro.
Nuestros edificios con sus frentes de vidrio de un grosor recomendado, permiten la entrada de luz y dan una sensación de limpio y fresco, en 10 año de abierto nuestro Hotel, las estructuras nunca han presentado, ninguno tipo de problemas.
Al ser hotel ManGaby, atendido por nosotros, los propietarios, no ha sido nuestra política, que clientes se vallan insatisfechos, por el contrario, se hacen los esfuerzos por que cada uno se marche feliz. Tal como llegamos a un acuerdo con la reserva de ustedes para complacerlos.
Muchas gracias por la inquietud y tomarnos en cuenta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am presently at the Hotel ManGaby, I will be staying for another 3 days and have been here for 10 days. I found this little gem by accident. I was originally booked in Liberia at another hotel near the down town centre. I am presently in Costa Rica for extensive dental work which requires multiple visits to the dentist. After 2 days near the Liberia downtown core I decided to rent a car and explored other areas for potential accommodations. I wanted to get close to a beach, see the countryside and find a place to recuperate after my dental visits.(Ouch!!) While driving around, about 30 minutes west of Liberia, and exploring the many beaches in the Hermosa and Coco areas, I got a bit turned around and asked a resident if he knew of any decent hotels he could suggest. Well, he was the one that told me about Hotel ManGaby. I Got the directions and checked it out....Boy, this neat little place has made my trip a success...

It is a lovely, tiny family run hotel that is clean, quiet, secure and comfortable...( Also a very good deal during the low season of October. ) It is situated 150 meters from the beach, has a very good tiny restaurant, excellent food, and the staff made me feel right at home. The owners name is Aberto sr. who works with his son, also named Alberto and the rest of the family to keep this place in top shape. They do a really good job and I am definitely coming back here in the future with my kids.. Hermosa Beach is great place and very laid back...This is not a booming social place. There are many friendly locals, with along with the odd tourist, like me, that walk the beach on the weekends and by the way there is plenty of security..

You can find fishing and travel excursions, massages on the beach, vendors, basically a typical public beach. Hey, great local stuff and a wonderful way to live the real Costa Rican life outside of the peak tourism seasons of December to March etc. If you want to feel at home, secure with your valuables, eat well and not pricy..this is the place for you..Everyone is relaxed, no hustle and bustle, just chill at ManGaby..The pool is great to, all sorts of places to eat just outside of the Hotel..They even have a couple of family accommodations units with 2 bedrooms, kitchen etc..Great place to book on a budget....Food market just around the corner..

You can't go wrong here...They even have free WI-FI...They will even pick you up at the airport for $40.00..Have a good time..

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very pleasant place to stay, a block from the beach. Basic, clean rooms, nothing fancy but the atmosphere is very relaxing;they have a great pool with a nice little restaurant; friendly folks. for $80/night, it fits the family budget just fine.

Our take on this area is: Stay and swim in Playa Hermosa; eat and drink in Playa Coco (7 km away). The beach in Hermosa is much nicer and hotels quieter, however the restaurants in Coco are wonderful. Great seafood and a lively street vibe.

Room Tip: Not a big place; all the rooms seemed fine. Breakfast by the pool is a very nice way to start the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruston louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently ate a nice dinner here. When we left we forgot our babies back pack which had our camera in it with all of our pictures of our beautiful trip to Playa Hermosa. We returned the next day and they gave us the backpack without the camera in it. When we questioned them about it the manager said that he and his son and the waiter were the only ones to have had the backpack. Please be careful when staying our eating here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1221RustonLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hotel and Restaurant ManGaby you were pleased by recivirlos in our restaurant. Our end has always been that customers leave satisfied. But we can not know that customers bring or do not bring,
therefore, we are dificl know if the object mention, it may have left elsewhere before coming to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
4.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ManGaby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ManGaby

Property: Hotel ManGaby
Address: Playa Hermosa segunda entrada, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ManGaby 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ManGaby is a modern two-story facility of the latest design. We have a total of 17 room accommodations distributed as follows:13 Standard Rooms including two Full sized beds.5 on the first floor made handicap accessible.8 on the second floor each with their own balcony overlooking the pool.2 Mini-Suites including one King sized bed, furnished living room, a small breakfast area and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ManGaby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangaby Hotel Playa Hermosa
Hotel ManGaby Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing