We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hermosa Heights Villas(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$120
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Acacia(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel & Villas Huetares(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Condovac la Costa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$91
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Sueno(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Gaviota Tropical(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Velero(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
377
89
17
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
89
17
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis sonfamily run hotelel cocoswimming poolthe nicest beachgreat included breakfastcosta ricatwo blocksvery nice hotelmini suiteshort walk to the beachnice and clean roomsbus servicelovely poolclose to the hotelhermosa beachdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 496 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Our taxi from Liberia dropped us off at a real dump around the corner where we absolutely could NOT stay, so we walked around town looking at various rooms at different hotels and found this property.

Alberto was gracious and charming and gave us a pretty darned good deal for paying cash. We found the food to be excellent, however the variety was a slightly limited. The rooms were clean and the balcony overlooking the beautiful pool was a bonus. We stayed here for four nights and would not hesitate for a minute to return the next time we are in the Guanacaste!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1Katiedid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

I had relatives who went to Costa Rica this past winter and recommended Hotel Mangaby to me. I went with my girlfriend and stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It's family owned and fairly new, having only been around 5 or 6 years. I found the rooms clean and well maintained, they had great food, and a wonderful pool right in the middle with it's own mini waterfall. Service was excellent and friendly. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank troyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

we just returned from a tour of Costa Rica which included 2 nites at this hotel.. We were disappointed with the amenities and food availability. However, the security here is very lacking.. during the first night, two of our rooms were broken into at about 4 a.m. while we were sleeping.. The intruder came into the rooms through the bathroom window and stole several things until one of our group members woke up and found a young man in her room..he was caught trying to escape though he left a trail of blood when he cut himself getting into the room...I feel this is a risky place to stay in regards to safety based on this experience...take your chances on this place,,,

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank a.a.lUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

My parents live in costa rica. They found an ad in the phone book. I found it on the internet. They gave us a special rate just to book us in the 2 bedroom with kitchen. We were 5 adults and one baby.
We could walk to the beach and a little store near by. Everything was clean. They have a BBQ and had internet service. What you see is what you get plus a wonderful service. It is a family own business. We wish them the best. We can't wait to go back. I would and Have recommend this hotel to several people.

Stayed: February 2005
1  Thank tica03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

I am one of the 6 Canadian girls who were lucky enough to stay at this hotel. Alberto the owner, went so far above and beyond going the extra mile for service. The hotel was amazing. Very clean, beautiful pool, everyone so very friendly, always smiling and saying Hola. We stayed there a total of 3 nights. We were treated with such class even if at times we lacked some. I would highly recommend this place to stay. We enjoyed the food as well. Alberto has a beautiful place to stay in the sun, and only a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank luv2sitesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews