We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location - good food”

Roberto's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great beach location - good food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was recommended to me by someone I met at our hotel. As they had indicated, the food was very good and substantial. I had the Ahi (Aji) tuna and it was both tasty and large - a real slab of medium-rare fish with vegetable and rice sides. The margarita was also good and in a large glass.

The location is beautiful and includes some tables made out of large tree trunk slices. It's right on the beach and was a beautiful place to enjoy a drink, some food, and the sound of the waves crashing in on the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    107
    42
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pampering and Perfect Food on the Beach”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Roberto's is a new addition to PLaya Hermosa, and a welcome one. A couple days prior to our experience, I approached the staff from the beach and asked for a reservation, explaining it would be my last night and I hoped to make it a special evening for my wife. They responded as if I was a family member, and promised a memorable evening. It was.

Johnny, our server, has a passion for the people he cares for and truly wants you to enjoy yourself. The chef, a young man who seems to have natural gifts, checked in to make sure all was well. Candles on the table, and a warm evening with breezes and crashing surf, completed the scene.

And then the food. The ceviche was the best we've had, and we're big fans of the stuff. Our food was beutifully presented and tasted better. The prices were reasonable for a three-corse meal in Costa Rica, and a steal by Americn standards.

Thank you, Roberto's, for a perfect last evening in Costa Rica.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psullivan904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet beachside Restaurant and Bar”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere at Roberto's. The view of the sunset with our excellent dinner was such a pleasure! The level of service was exceptional. Needless to say the seafood special was excellent as one would expect from a ocean side restaurant, but the chicken and guacamole burrito with raspberry coulis was great also. Reasonably priced (well, most of the restaurants in playa hermosa were) and some tasty drinks also.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roberto's Playa Hermosa”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food, ocean front and service, very good so far, they just opened so time will tell. Nice setting on the beach, tables are not jammed together. Great service, Happy Hour with Bocas, that is rare now adays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Roberto's at La Gaviota Tropical in Playa Hermosa”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Roberto is one of the top chef's in Costa Rica. We follow him wherever he goes. Tropical Costa Rican dishes to American with an authentic tropical flare are his specialties. Add a killer view of the Gulf of Papagayo and outdoor dining right on the beach. This is the place to be!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Roberto's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing