We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Costa Rican food, GREAT PRICES”

El Quijote Bar and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Central American, Sushi, Asian, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary international cuisine including fresh sushi, seafood, pasta, chicken, meat and daily deserts, including a new children's' menu. Join us for Happy hour or dinner in our newly renovated bar and restaurant. We are pleased to announce our collaboration with the Hidden Garden Art Gallery. Enjoy fine dining while feasting your eyes on some fabulous artwork, also available for sale. Friday's are especially fun at El Quijote as we feature live music. Located on the 2nd entrance to Playa Hermosa, just minutes from the beach. Our hours of operation are Monday thru Saturday, 4:30pm till close, with the kitchen closing at 9:30pm. We look forward to seeing and serving you.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Costa Rican food, GREAT PRICES”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We ate at El Quijote almost every day that we were in Playa Hermosa. They were always open for lunch and they were one of the cheapest places we found. Their Costa Rican food was excellent, the American and Mexican style dishes were okay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    27
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bad advice”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were told that this place had great food and was a good value. Well the prices may have been ok...but they were out of most things we wanted on the menu and when we did order (steak and ribs), both were too fatty to enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were sent to this restaurant by the owners of our hotel (Villa Belmar). We attempted to order 5 different things before being told again and again, "we are out of that". How can you be out of a chicken burrito and yet serve a chicken quesadilla? Pura Vida? We waited an extraordinarily long time but since we were on vacation, we took it in stride. There were other patrons of the restaurant who chose to urinate outside within steps of us rather than go inside to use the bathroom. It was interesting and if you want that sort of experience, this is your place. The food was pretty good and for Costa Rica, reasonably priced (we found the food to be extremely overpriced in most places).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyEOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Need some fantastic Tican food in Playa Hermosa?”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We're staying at El Velero (wife me, and 11yo daughter), which has a great restuarant (another review), but wanted some "normal" Costa Rican food for cheap...just up the road 500 m ("second entry" into Playa Hermosa) is the answer. Look for the classic Don Quijote logo. Unpretentious, but pretty new and very clean, they have the best casado we've had in CR - meat (chicken, pork, beef, fish), beans, rice, fries, plantains, and mini salad, followed by very fresh fruit - and only C3800-4300 ($7.60-8.60US), not including drinks (full bar and great fresh fruit drinks). This is the real deal, and unlike most of Playa Hermosa, it's best to know your Spanish. Please go and keep them in business cuz things are slow down here with the recession.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GregCinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quijote Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Quijote Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing