We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation best Resort ,Best pool stuff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
“Best Vacation best Resort ,Best pool stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Great place to visit with your family. Perfect for kids of all ages. Beautiful place with lots to do. We enjoyed the staff that was involved in the activities for the childen and adults. My family and I would love to commend Daniel, Andrea, Cecilia and lastly Giovanni. Wonderful Staff and good at what they do. Pura Vida Ticos ,Fernando -Eunice-Gaby y Paquito Maroto

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liguista12010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    389
    278
    133
    106
See reviews for
337
502
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I recently traveled to Costa Rica with a group of 11 friends. When we arrived at the Villas Sol to check in we were greated by Bryan, Rene, Carmen and Luis at the registration area. Check-in was easy and Bryan was very helpful and we even got a free sunset cruise. Carmen and Rene were more than happy to answer questions about Costa Rica and tell us about the hotel. Luis even offered to help us pay our Costa Rica exit taxes and told us about the nightlife in the area.

Throughout our stay we met and regularly interacted with the rest of the Villas Sol staff. Alfonso, Allen, Mayron, Jose and the rest of the staff at the buffet restaurant were always friendly, professional and went out of their way to make sure all 11 of us were satisfied with the food. Alfonso always greeted us with a warm smile and made several trips to the bar on our behalf. Speaking of the bar...Jeffrey made the best drinks.

During the day our group spent most of our time at the pool. The activities staff made sure we always had a great time. The activities director, Daniel, and the rest of the staff Andrea, Geovanny and Ceci kept us entertained with games and music.

If you're heading to Playa Hermosa stay at the Villas Sol.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We were nicely surprised by the property. The property was full as it was independence day. Concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vatravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had 11 ppl in our group we arrived from the airport too early to check in, so we got our all inclusive bands and headed to get some food and drinks.
Bryan the Guest Services Manager was AWESOME!! Since we had so many in our group he offered us a complimentary sunset sail boat tour. We had a blast. Rene who was in training during our check in was INCREIBLE. The list goes on DANIEL the Activities Coordinator was AMAZING. Alphonso on nite waiter was so CHARMING and attentive.
Jeffrey the night bartender made the best drinks. Melvin was a SWEETHEART and really knows how to play water volleyball.

We asked them to plug in OUR IPOD and they did with no hesitation, we wanted cookies they delivered!! Our VILLA we booked was not what they gave us and when we told BRYAN about it he immediately changed our rooms.

I would recommend this resort to any and everybody that travels to Playa Hermosa!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottinsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I travelled to Costa Rica at the end of August. I read many good reviews about this hotel before going and when we got there it exceeded my expectations. It was such a beautiful resort. The hotel room was VERY VERY clean, the staff were VERY friendly and nice, and even the locals were nice. We took 2 tours, the Palo Verde tour and Nicaragua Tour...Well worth the money. The food was amazing every single day. The buffet was always fresh, fruit was delicious and coffee was amazing (since they make their own coffee) rum was good to (their known for that as well). The hills are very steep, so if your drinking make sure you have someone/something to hold onto. The nightlife was 10-15 mins away from the resort, about a $10-15 cab ride. We found the cabs to be expensive, but if you speak spanish your able to baragain a little with them. Also, bring bug repellent..the first couple of nights were fine, but they attacked my feet with the repellent on but its only because the resort is surrounded by tons of trees. The beach was nice, although black sand due to the volcanoes there, it was nice. They had many daily activities for everyone to do, which was good and fun. Overall it was an AMAZING vacation and we would definately go back. The hotel is definately a 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just came back from seven days at Villa Sol.We stayed in a hotel room in the villas. Was ok. The only problem we had was the water heater seemed to supply us and a apartment next door.There seemed to be a group staying there and if we showered at prime time we would run out of hot water but was able to work around it.The room was small but only in it to sleep, to much to do.Did not have any problems with bugs or mosquitoes.The rooms in the hotel did look like they were in better shape,looked newer.The villa is built on a mountain so the walking can be a good woork out.There are trams that will take you where you want to go and never had to wait,but we always let theme go and walked for the exercse and scenery.The resort is isolated so if you donot have a car you have to take a cab for your shopping.A cab ride to Playa Coca,about ten min.ride cost fifteen dollars.The town is very small but There is enough shops to buy your souviners. There is three bars there that are pretty cool and we did manage to close them down a few times.While in coca felt safe with no problems at all.More than enough taxis to get back and forth.
The staff very friendly check in not a problem room was not ready but was given the bracelet so we went for some lunch and drinks.When we had to speak with the front desk instead of calling we would go to the desk in person and all of our needs were met without any problems.The food was good with alot of options with the buffet and there was always something that we liked,and there was a chef that was alwys cooking something on the side.Yes they serve black beans and rice with every meal, but that is the Costa Rica cuisine,you are not in america and the rice and beans where preety good.The staff in the resturant and bar where very friendly and always there when needed.The staff all speak some english,and after all you are in there country try speaking a little spanish,and you will not have any problems.
The only problem we had was booking a fishing trip with a local on the beach.For one hundred and fifty dollars he said we would catch some fish,but all we did was take a three hour troll with our lines in the water and not catching anything.On top of that we still had to pay him the money.
For your day trips my advice would be to go with a local guide company called Tico tours Guanacaste,guide name Bernal Mata he is great. His tours are very small and personal and he speaks very fluent english. we went on the zip lines and it was just the two of us and three other people.Bernal would take the time out to explaine the history and customes of Costa rica. He would point out the wild life and funa and after the zip lines he brought us to Liberia telling us about the history of the town.I would rather give my money to the little person trying to make a living and some body that goes out of there way to make sure you have a good time rather than a big company that treats you like another number.Bernal is wounderful and the only guide we would use.
If you come here and keep an open mind.remember you are in a third world country and this is not the ritz carolton there will not be prime rib and steaks,you can still have a great time with good service,don,t act like a spoiled american.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firecapt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

I travel often, and have stayed in several timeshare resorts. This was the worst, by far! I was there attempting to celebrate my 30th birthday, and ended up with an experience to forget. Take heed to the real reviews and do not waste your money. There are many nice resorts in the area where you will really get your money's worth.
When I checked in, I asked for an upgrade from the hotel. So, I was told that I was upgraded to a villa. Yeah right! They said my room wasn't ready yet. So, I ate at the restaurant (serves rice EVERY day for EVERY meal). Once it was ready, I hopped on a shuttle and went. When I walked up to the door, I saw a trail of mold from the top. That should have been a sign. I opened the door and the first thing I saw was mosquitoes swarming. I was bitten about 3 times during the 5 mins I was in the room. The second thing I noticed was that this so-called villa upgrade was SMALLER than a hotel room! Everything was outdated. And, it was dusty and dirty. (Someone else's hair was on the floor by the bed.) After enduring a couple bites, I caught a mosquito in my hand. I went to the bathroom to wash my hands and.....*drumroll*....the WATER DIDN'T WORK!!!! I tried the bathtub faucet. No water there either! I called a shuttle and went back to the reception office where I FELL ASLEEP waiting on them to fix the water and spray for mosquitoes. I was told that I HAD to stay in that room for the night because my original room had already been given away and there were no more rooms available. The next morning, I called to ask if any more rooms had become available and was told "no". However, when I spoke to a manager, he found me another room (in the hotel) in a matter of minutes. Hmmm.... I later found out that the "upgraded" room I had been given was actually supposed to have been blocked off for renovations. Thanks, Villas Sol!
I went to check into my hotel room, and it was filthy. It had not yet been cleaned. One of the hotel employees called and got me my correct room. FINALLY, after almost 2 days, I got a decent room. Aside from the spiders, beetles, and gecko that stayed in my room with me, it wasn't half bad.
Restaurant- The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is very average. It's definitely not worth an all-inclusive price.
Area- Overall, Costa Rica is absolutely breath-taking! The greenery on the resort is beautiful! However, the resort is very secluded. So, don't think you're going to be able to leave the resort and go walking around shopping, sight-seeing, etc... You have to take a cab anywhere you want to go. And, they're NOT cheap!
During my timeshare presentation, I explained what I had dealt with during my stay. The employees apologized many times. And, the man who did my presentation, Richard, along with Jose (who supposedly has some clout at the resort) gave me their word that they would make sure I would be compensated for my trouble. I've heard NOTHING from them since. Both lied!
Sergio in reception was the only one who was truly helpful during my stay. Most of the workers were very friendly and helpful. However, the room and the food were not worth it. I wouldn't even return if I were given a FREE stay! What a way to celebrate my 30th! NEVER again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.2 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,927 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing