We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Medford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our stay at the Villa Sol was great. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Especially Gilbert. My luggage was lost on a direct flight and he was a big help. He booked our excursions and was there making sure we had a good stay. They have a very valuable person in Gilbert. The food was good. Breakfast was pretty much the same every day - but lunch and dinner were different nationalities ever night. The beach was nice.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the ocean. I liked staying in the hotel because the shuttles were there about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
We are happy you chose us for your family vacation.
Thank you very much for your feedback, it's nice to know that our staff helped you during your stay, we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    398
    282
    134
    108
See reviews for
344
511
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Gorgeous view from hotel and dining room. Great beaches, friendly, calm, and proud people, nature loaded with wild life. Awesome! All-inclusive hotel and resort. Hauling monkeys live in the trees on the beach, iguanas walk around, exotic birds fly overhead. Unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Hotel views were better than villas, but it was all top rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olegbolotov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your vacations, we are glad to hear it was a success!
We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our 5th time at villas sol thru our rci time share. The villas are in need of an update especially the a/c as on the last 2 trips the a/c in one of the bedrooms was not working and did not get fixed. The holiday was really enjoyable and the day trips offered are quite good. The cost of the all inclusive is high at $60 per day. The meals are fine, not great. The staff are friendly and most speak enough English. The hotel/resort is one that the locals use and on weekends is full. The grounds and pools are well maintained and tidy. Overall the hotel/resort is worth staying at but could use to be updated. The view is awesome and the sunsets are too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!!
We do thank you for providing a detailed account of your experience with us. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously, and appreciate it as a valuable teaching tool.
We hope see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

First let me say that we travel often, usually through Apple Vacations. We love the 6 Apple resorts, but have had wonderful times at 4 Apples locations. As the Villa Sol was a 4 Apple, our expectations were not for a luxurious resort. We got a reasonable deal and decided to escape the cold in the north in the middle of January for one week. We thought we knew what to expect. We were wrong.
I would like to begin with the positives. It is a beautiful location, and we did enjoy sitting on our balcony in the morning and hearing the howler monkeys. We found certain staff members to be wonderful. They understood the meaning of being in a customer service industry. Concierges, Gilbert and Nadia, were the best. Gilbert was extremely helpful in explaining different tours and advising us. We took a half day river tour which was great. The best trip was to Nicaragua. Wish we would have known that we could spend the night in Granada and pick up another tour the next day. It was a 15 hour trip and was well worth the time. Nadia was able to assist us in getting to the airport, since we were not pleased with the transport service we got from Apple.
Jeffery is the most wonderful bartender. He makes you fell welcomed and does his best to interact with you. We did have a very long conversation with Brian, who is a manager. He was definitely put between a rock and a hard place when the resort changed its smoking policy two days into our vacation. If this is truly a non-smoking country, this should be placed on their web sites and literature. Brian acted in the most professional manner to solve our problem. Our room was clean, but nothing special. The hamburgers at the pool bars were good, and proved to be the best food we had on a daily basis.
Now for the negatives:
First the beach experience. The beach is beautiful and don't let the rocks be a concern. The area in front of the entrance is rock free and sandy. When we go to a beach, we love to spend time lounging on the beach and going into the water often. When we got to the beach we found that Villa Sols has ten chairs and they are strung together by a cable. You cannot move these chairs around, and may not find two in a row. In addition, they are in terrible condition, broken and fraying. Bar service on the beach consists of a bartender with a cooler of ice, water, pop and fruit juices. We did walk down to Roberto's and got a cold beer. It is a great place to go for dinner. The red snapper is wonderful.
The food was terrible. Meat was dried out. The rice and beans were crunchy. Eggs were pre-fried and put in chafing dishes. These were sunny-side up eggs and after sitting in these pans were disgusting in appearance and taste. The breads were great. They really need to get the chef from the Heliconia (the ala cart restaurant) to advise them on food preparation. We were able to dine at the Heliconia only one night due to an antiquated reservation system. We had a gourmet meal there from start to finish.
Maid Service was lacking. We never knew what towels we would get. Some days we had bath mats and wash cloths and some days we didn't. Don't bother to ask for an extra towel, you will never see it.
Bar Service: There are a few good bar tenders, but they also have servers that have no idea how to made mixed drinks. The good news is that they just tell you they don't know how to make drinks. On the other hand, Imperial beer is tasty.
We got the sense that Villa Sols was much more interested in getting people to buy into time shares then they were in running an all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicag0Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Best Regards Chicag0Deb,

We will like to apologize for all inconveniences that you had during your stay, what we will consider to give you the best solution to this problems.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Let me start with the good: The wait staff was pleasant.
Now the bad: The management (Brian and Marylin) was unprofessional and uncooperative.
So here is what happened:
1. The hotel sponsored shuttle failed to pick us up at the posted time and after waiting 30min we had to find a taxi at night.
2. we were locked out of our room 2 nights in a row. The hotel had to get a "locksmith" each time to get us back in the room, which took 45min both nights.

We had to ask to speak with a manager multiple times before we were able to speak with management (Marylin) 2 days later. She did not take responsibility for the shuttle, but she offered to change our room. After I stated that they were not taking responsibility for the poor service, she offered a free tour, but it was the same day as a tour we had already paid for. She then told us that she could not do anything for us. We asked to speak to another manager and 2 hrs before we left the resort, we were able to speak with the general manager (Brian). He told us we were not inconvenienced. When i asked if he would be upset if he was locked out of his room for 45min each night, he said yes, but then said that he could not help us. He did not apologize for the poor service and insisted they did nothing wrong. Poor, poor, management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank t e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Gerente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
First let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us. Let me assure you that this is not what we intended to do.

As you might know being a traveler, sometimes things just go wrong in hotels and well sadly everything that could go wrong this time landed on your experience, the reason why you got locked out as Bryan explained is because the code reader of your room was not working and it was making the keys loose the programming that is put on them at the front desk, so again, I apologize but I also ask you understand that even though we would have loved for this not to happen it was to a certain extent out of our hands.

After speaking with the managers, I am pretty sure that there was a "lost in translation" episode and we certainly did not get your discomfort as you state it in your post.

On behalf of the company I apologize dearly for what your experience was, it is not normally how things go for our guests as you can see in our other reviews and I can assure you that if you ever decide to give us another opportunity and come visit us again, we will change this perception that sadly we have caused on you.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for four days at beginning of February 2014. We stayed in a hotel room on the third floor with a good room with an outstanding view down overlooking the resort and bay.The room had a king size bed, small refrigerator and beautiful bathroom. Be careful in the bathroom. There are tile floors in the bathroom and stone show but no hand bars any where. The room overall was very comfortable. This resort has a variety of vacationers, some timeshare owners, some with trip tour discounts, some with trip room benefits if you participate in the 90 minute to 120 minute tour presentation. The presentation was fine and looked like a good deal is available for an investment in this resort. (Diamond International) Check that out for sure. This all inclusive resort had a variety of meals and tastes for all people and breakfast, lunch and dinner. The drinks were good alcoholic and non type. The deserts were OK. Negatives:
1) There are 63 steps down and also up from the restaurant to the third floor. No elevator is available. We did note an accessible ramp is available south of the building for those who require it to the first floor only.
2) If you go down to the beach take the bus every 10-15 minutes. Its about 10 minutes to walk down but no sidewalks. Walking up is not recommended as there has to be at least a 400 to 500 foot elevation change. Beach is nicer at low tide. There is a better (less expensive than the Britt Store at Villas Sol Resort. We also observed that Britt Stores at the Liberia Airport) place to buy tees, swimming wear and souvenirs at the beach store part of a different resort complex here at the end of the road at the beach. At the beach 10 am to 4 pm some beverages are available gratis through Villas Sol.
3) Why to they have to use lawn air blowers at 6:30 AM in the parking lot outside rooms??
4) Tips were included in our fees but still felt obliged to tip at times.Bring small american change or convert into Costa Rica currency.
5) Recommend to pick your times to ask questions at the front desk. Very busy at times waiting hour hour to ask simple question with usually two staff there.
6) We didn't see any bellhops to help with luggage up stairs but struggled with and managed OK.
7) Staff were attentive in the restaurant smiled, spoke english and appeared to be happy in their work. Nadia one of the concierge, was very kind and attentive especially since she was in pain from twisting her ankle the day before. The "Presentation" with Don was OK. Rick was very knowledgeable about all types of time shares in the industry and was the best we have heard before.
8) Tours: Be prepared for very bumpy side roads. Roads from the airport to the resort are newly paved this year and in progress now. Costa Rica government should invest in a few graders for grading multiple gravel roads. Although by the time you get to your destination you can get a free massage!!
All in all we enjoyed this resort.
D & S Ontario
Canada

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D and S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear esteemed guest

Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate it and will take action to actively improve our services.
We offer an apology on behalf of all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acampo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are on par with a Super 8. Two double beds which my husband did not fit in. The A/C was unable to cool the rooms. They were shabby. This was a common complaint amongst other guests we talked to. The lounge chairs had pads that were dirty and split. No one wanted to lay in them. The food was very good but the drinks were watered down and used very cheap liquor. We were booked for 4 days and left after two. The general staff was good but the front desk and managers were unwilling to address any problems we had. The spa is separate from the hotel and it is very good. There are so many places that are much better than this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PoulG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi PoulG_13

We will like to apologize for all inconveniences that you had during your stay, what we will consider to give you the best solution to this problems.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
15.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing