We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely views”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pros--Our apartment was large and there was a beautiful view. The lanai was huge. The shuttles ran often. The very good restaurant Ginger is nearby.
Cons--The shuttles are needed because the property is very steep and walking around was difficult. Usually have to walk on the road because there are few sidewalks. The pool was large, but noisy. No internet or wifi, but supposedly that will change this year. The food in the restaurant was ordinary. The furnishings are worn and there is not enough seating. The chairs for the dining table were stools and too high for the table. The sliding glass doors were difficult to lock. Staff took three days to come and fix one of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear LindaCMD

Thanks for your comment. Actually, we are trying to fine the way that all the villas have access to internet soon, changing the kind of food at the restaurant for have more variety and fix some problems step by step at the villas. We hope that when you come back you can feel and see all the good stuff that we going to make better.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    404
    287
    138
    112
See reviews for
356
518
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a guys vacation. Villas Sol is a clean hotel with nice accomodations. Food was ok, grounds were nice, staff were friendly. This is NOT a 4 or 5 star, so dont expect anything over the top. The price is right. This place is really not set around any town, as the closest town would be playa coco which is about a 10-15 minute taxi ride ($15.00). All in all, a nice place for some sun, with monkeys in the trees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Shawn P

Thank you for your comment. We hope that you come back soon.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This resort had everything. gym, swim up bars and most importantly helpful and friendly staff. the staff would be available whenever day or night. the staff in charge of booking excursions really knew where things were and made the trip most enjoyable and took the stress out of looking for things.

Room Tip: book your room in advance so it faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Resdente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear DanNorris

We appreciate your comment and feel so happy that you enjoy the gym, we bring some new machines and it is a plus that we give it to our guest for free. Is going to be a pleasure if you decide come back soon.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just returned from an all-inclusive stay at this Costa Rican resort. We were in the first floor of the hotel and looked out over the pool and had a great view of the ocean. Our arrival was easy from Liberia- only about 30 minutes away by car. We arranged for a car to pick us up online before arriving because taxis are more expensive. It was thru ISSYS and they charged $100 round-trip for 2 people and the van was great and waiting for us with a sign at the airport. The check-in time for the room is 3pm and our room was not ready until around then but we were escorted to the restaurant for lunch while we waited. We made reservations thru a company so our request for a king bed was not filled but we did not feel like moving so kept the 2 queen beds.
Room: The room was nice- basic but nice and clean. The rooms over the pool were a little loud at night since the bar/pool stayed open til 10pm- but it was quite at 10pm without fail.
Food: The food was very good and I was worried about repetition at an all-inclusive but there was definitely variety. We got there early each meal and were able to sit on the terrace overlooking the ocean- great! There is an additional restaurant on the property but only open W-Sat and you have to make a reservation at breakfast to eat there and can only eat there one night of the 6 nights we were there. I actually liked the food at the buffet better but the service was great too. There was only one bartender that did not seem to love his job, everyone else was very happy and made it a great experience.
Internet: There is internet service in the lobby that you have to pay for- $60 for the week and you have to sit in the lobby to get coverage. A few nights we tried to skype and just couldn't get a good connection.
Money: You do not need much colones- most places accept US dollars and can even make change. If they can't, they will usually give you colones in change so no need to get any before coming. But do come with cash, they often charge more for credit card transactions(5% because fees are high to use them there). And there is no ATM at the resort!
Tips: Even though all-inclusive we did tip our usual servers about $10 for the week- we were told by some locals that $1 extra over the bill was about what to tip so we just added that for the week because we really did have great service.
Beach: The hill to the beach is quite steep but we walked it every day for exercise and never used the internal shuttle that does run all the time. We just wanted the exercise and we got it. The beach is clean. The chairs and towels for the resort are to the right when you get to the beach- they are the blue ones at the far right. They do have towels and drinks- water and sodas only, no food. There are people that sell items on the beach for cash- some speak OK english and others none. You will likely be approached but they are very nice and we just said no thank you. We looked at the tides and at low tide, walked to the right along the lava and found a "private" sandy beach with great entry into the ocean. My husband snorkeled here and saw eels, a ray, tons of fish. We were accompanied by some monkeys in the trees above us. But watch the tide or you will get stuck out there and have to swim back a long way!
Tours: you can arrange online before you go but they can arrange them at the hotel when you get there. They use Swiss Travel I believe but we arranged ours online and LOVED the company we used- ISSYS tours- it was only the 2 of us and we got a very personal tour. See their TA review more more details. A must do- hipline and hot springs were great, heard the boat tour was good too with many animals. Arenal is supposed to be great too but a long day as it is about a 3hour trip there.
Wishes: we would have not done all-inclusive for the whole trip(apparently you can do just part of your stay) so that we could go eat at some of the local places more. Easy to walk down the beach and find restaurants that looked very good but we had already paid for food at the hotel. We did go off 1 day and had a great breakfast in Playas del Coco- neat little town and had a $40- 1hr massage at the 5 Star Salon(2nd floor of building near the beach-owned by American and BEST massage I had every had).

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel, ask for the one overlooking the pool. Yes, a little loud at night but alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WrldTrvlr12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear WrldTrvl12345

We appreciate your comment about all the experience at Villas Sol. We do our best for make the guest feel very well during vacations and with you and your husband I think that we do it right. Some schedules have change, for example, we open the a la carte restaurant all day except Sundays and you can use more than once during your stay if you have chance, just remember that there is a extra charge for dinner in that restaurant and normally is not including in the all-inclusive. We try to make more variety of food every day and we are including Costarican food. We hope that come back soon and be better than this time.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Gerente Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were at this hotel from Jan. 21st to Jan. 28th. We were a group of 4 couples. We all felt the same way upon leaving, that we would never return to this resort! The hotel is on beautiful grounds, with a gorgeous view. And the accommodations were actually decent. The thing that ruined it for us was the service, or lack thereof. The maids service(?) was extremely inconsistent. Sometime we didn't get bath towels at all..and had to go to the front desk numerous times to try to get them. One day one couple got so tired of waiting that they just used their beach towels after their shower.
The buffet is extremely limited, with just two main dishes every day, and basically the same sides. The salads and fruit were very good, but the same every day. Breakfast was the only decent meal, but if you are a bacon lover you won't get any here. Usually what was served for dinner the night before would be served the next day in form at lunch. The snackbar/grill at the pool also had a very limited menu, hotdogs, hamburgers and nachos. Same every day. I actually lost weight on this vacation, which is a good thing I guess.
Why I gave the resort any stars at all, is because of the beach..it is gorgeous. They don't have enough chairs out, and there is no bar at the beach, but if you are willing to try some of the other restaurants and bar that dot Playa Hermosa, you will find much better food than what is at Villas Sol anyways. And the ocean is perfect, with just the right amount of waves. The weather is guaranteed gorgeous as well!
If you are a couple or a single going on your own, I would definitely not recommend this resort, as there is 0 entertainment at night, and practically nothing during the day. Just water aerobics and snorkelling alternating with kayaking first thing in the morning.
I loved Costa Rica and it's people. just not the staff at this resort! The excursions were great...ziplining, Palo Verde National Park and snorkelling. For a great deal on snorkelling go see Luis on the beach..he took us on a 2 1/2 hour snorkelling trip including serving us fresh oysters and mussels for $25.00. You can ask for him at the Rock Bar, which is right to the left of the resort once you hit the beach, or to his hut/office which is just to the right, around the bend, where the resort's worn out chairs are.
Go to Costa Rica..but try another resort! We went to look at the Hotel Villa Belmar next door..and that is where we will most likely stay next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear DebbieOtawaCanada,

It’s a pity we could not meet your expectations. We will take into account your comments and try to make some revise about we are doing and how our guests feels.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

North Haverhill, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Buried under a foot snow, I keep thinking that we were in Costa Rica just a few days ago. We loved the country and its people. Hardworking, friendly people combined with sensible policies and amazing nature really make Costa Rica a beautiful place to visit. We stayed at Villas Sol, and their concierge, Jose Lopez, among many helpful staff members, made our visit a very memorable one. Jose was warm and kind as well as knowledgeable. He introduced this wonderful restaurant - Marisqueria Milanes - to my wife and me. We had our best meal there. Everyone seems to speak fluent English at the resort. Vacation just went smoothly. Can't wait to go back. Pura vida!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarahyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sarahyx,

Thank you for your good comment. In Villas Sol we feel so happy that you enjoy your stay and want to come back soon. Let us know when you decide it. It will be very nice to receive you again.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked the Villas Sol Hotel based on a 4 star rating. The room we had was one of the best with a great balcony and view of the harbor. The room lacked any seating area but the bed and bathroom were great; the TV had no instuctions or guide. The hotel has a number of deficiences. It is on a very steep plain so there is nowhere to walk comfortably at night without trudging up and down steep roads without sidewalks. There is no room service, no mini bar, expensive phone and wi-fi; there isnt even any hook in the bathroom to hang wet clothes..the pool near the buffet restaurant doesnt offer towels so you have to go to a distant pool to get them.The food is average and very similar each day at best; little selection each lunch and dinner, although the pork roast was delicious. The staff is very nice but shrug alot when you bring up shortcomings. I would not recommend this all inclusive primarily because of the food. The meats and seafood are cheap. The place has no evening entertainment. The beach is down a steep hill most reasonably accessed by a little shuttle that most times does not return you to the hotel but rather takes a long route to the villas and timeshares above the hotel before getting you back to the hotel..On the food: breakfasts are fine; lunches and dinners poor. The place has only one ala carte restaurant where you get one visit per each 3 days you have reserved. You can't reserve ahead of time( it is also closed Sun-Tues). On Wednesday, we tried to reserve a dinner at 9am and were told it was already full. They did give us a reservation for Thursday. On Thursday, we went to the restaurant "Heliconas"; the waiter on call also worked at the buffet. He was the only one there, taking orders and bussing all 10 tables; our hero. The food at Heliconas was worse than the buffet; fish and meat and pasta dishes all worse than we would serve at home. Rubbery, disgusting desserts.
In my opinion, Costa Rica is a land to be explored perhaps on a bus tour. Villa Sols is not a place to escape to mid winter to enjoy sun, drink and fine food. Last year we travelled to an all inclusive in Dominican that sported 8 restaurants, closeby beaches and pools and terrific food and for the same price I just paid at Villa Sols. The best food we had all week in Costa Rica was on our way home...on the plane.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbarske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jbarske,

We deeply regret that you could not enjoy your vacations as you expected. Maybe Villas Sol is not the kind of hotel that you usually visit. We will consider your comment to improve every day.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,574 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
698 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,083 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing