We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Villas Sol Concierge Made the Difference in Our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned from a 6-night stay in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. This was our first trip to Costa Rica, so the concierge, Jose, at the Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort made the difference in our trip. He personally brought us to our villa and sat with us for over an hour planning the activities for the week. His knowledge, expertise, friendliness, and genuine concern that we have a wonderful experience were priceless assets for our stay. We had such a good time on a fishing boat, traveling along the coast to visit 6 beaches, and spending a day inland visiting Arenal and the surrounding rain forest and hot springs. Jose arranged each of these trips for us with not one snag. It was great!

We spent two days at the beach and pool on the resort. The beach is pretty, and the water is good to swim in. The resort does need more beach chairs though. We also spent a fair amount of time at the pool with the swim-up bar. Get there early if you want a lounge chair. The food is excellent at the hotel restaurant. The employees are very friendly and speak fluent English.

Our villa accomodations were average, but we were not in the villa much. The maid was very good, and the villa was clean. Kitchen accomodations were limited. The beds were of average comfort. There are newer villas on the premise.

I would recommend Villas Sol mainly because of the personnel and food. Jose, the concierge, was terrific and went out of his way to make our trip a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Resident Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Rita S,

Thank you so much for your comment! We are so happy that you enjoy your stay here at the hotel. We will be making some changes at the villas during a while, maybe you can be part of our Facebook and check what is new at the hotel, for planning your next visit.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

The people at Villas Sol Hotel, very competant, enthusiastic, helpful, charming. The staff want to please the tourists for sure. My friend and i spent 5 days / 4 nights at the Hotel and enjoyed multiple fun hours of activities, lounging at the pool, peaking at the incredible sunset and enjoying the delicious all inclusive ammenities... salads galore, fresh huge chunks of pineapple and mango daily. The primary dining room has an amazing bamboo ceiling. It was always a pleasure to be in this dining area, a million dollar view / so many great photo opportunities. We enjoyed the every 10 to 15 minute shuttles to the beach and the spa. The spa has good prices / good service. This was a trip I paid for three years ago and then finally took. The air from California was pricey. A great vacation.

Room Tip: Room 2102 of the Hotel ( not the villas ) was choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Resident Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Silvia 5678,

Your surprise us with you comment, thank you so much. In Villas Sol we try to do the best that we can for our guest, is wonderful to receive this good comments every day and the bad ones make that we do some changes for be betters. We hope that you want to come back soon and will be a pleasure for the Resort.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great resort. We rented a villa (#26) directly from the owner (Chris Spirer). You can find her on VRBO listing #110485. The villa is spacious and well equipped, great air conditioning and good water pressure. We had no problems and Chris was very helpful in helping plan our trip. We did not do the all inclusive and had no trouble finding decent restaurants and grocery stores. We still had access to all the pools and beach. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming, jogging or just walking. Chris hooked us up with Amy at Avispas Adventures for some fantastic excursions. I highly recommend Avispas for any adventures you may be interested in taking.

Room Tip: Look into the villas as opposed to the hotel. You get a whole house and privacy. All you really give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBanks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really was not going to write a bad review but after reading someone's review with a similar issue I decided to change my mind. The only really good thing about this hotel is the view it is spectacular beautiful beyond words. There are a lot of Pros and Cons it's pretty even. My boyfriend and I were having an amazing time up until the late morning before we left, to make a long story short we caught one of the staff members in our room he made up some lie about why he was in there and also said he had trouble getting into our room because his key didn't work when we never had a problem with our key at all. The only person that should have been in there ever was the cleaning lady. We did speak with our concierge Gilbert who was just amazing he really was a joy and he seemed very honest and real, we also spoke with the management about the situation and they did handle it but after being back in NYC and reading a review similar to our situation it is very disappointing that someone tried to violate my boyfriend and I. Would I recommend this hotel to anyone no way. Costa Rica is a beautiful country but if and when I return I would stay at a different resort. Another highlight of our trip was our ATV Tour that was amazing and a great experience in Costa Rica. I believe if they get rid of the sticky fingers at the resort and upgrade on a lot of things the resort could be a lot better.

Pros:

The View.

The drinks were pretty good and strong.

The bed was very comfortable and big.

The staff are very friendly and kind.

The hotel is very quiet and private.

Gilbert our personal concierge.

Cons:

The food wasn't bad at all but could have been a lot better.

The Room service was very slow if you asked for anything in took anywhere from 10 to 30 mins.

The air conditioning was bad it didn't really get cool especially at night.

The fact that we had the front desk guy in our room while we weren't there and got caught by us!!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor only we had room 2301 amazing amazing view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8,185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear 8185,

We would like to thank you for taking the time of giving us your feedback. We appreciate your good comments about the views and location as well as friendliness of our staff. As you mentioned, all of us just like Gilbert, work very hard to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay at Villas Sol. It is unfortunate that what happened had affected your experience in our beautiful country.
We are certain that you agree that all companies are susceptible to non-desired situations like this and that, it could have happened anywhere else.
As we explained upon your departure, we took proper actions and already discharged the employee. We certainly hope that we have the opportunity to have you back to Villas Sol enjoying the complementary nights that we offered. We really want to show you that we care and that we are making an effort to get better every day.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The view from our balcony was great. The food was delicious. The pools were not busy. The News Years celebration was memorable. The staff were friendly. The spa was OK. We went on excursions that were amazing, particularly the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs trip. .

The beach was neat although the waves are larger on windy days. The shuttle is frequent to take you to and from the beach. We were impressed with our accommodations and we would recommend this villa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Resident Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Anika E,

Thank you so much for your comment. In Villas Sol appreciate and take into account all the comments that our travelers published, that make us be better every day. We hope that you come back soon.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed on the property and used this as our home while we explored Costa Rica and Nicaragua (Day trip). The hotel was very nice and clean and the menu in the restaurant was always delicious and different. The views from the Hotel and the condominiums are stunning of the beautiful Pacific ocean and the sand is a beautiful black volcanic.

The hotel staff were all very kind and helpful and even helped me with my struggling Spanish from time to time. We went to Costa Rica to see the sights and the excitement and we got both staying at Villas Sol. The concierge was very helpful as we planned out our week of events and he took care of our arrangements so all we needed to do was show up at the right time. It was effortless. We sailed at sunset, had a picnic on a private beach, climbed volcanos on horseback and zip-lined back down again. Smoked really amazing cigars on the beach and listened to the pacific waves slap the shoreline.

I would definitely recommend this place for your vacation. BUT WARNING if you are from texas and think you can handle a hot sun you are WRONG. Wear lots of sunscreen and you will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockreational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently went to Costa Rica for the very first time and we're so glad we found Villas Sol. It's the perfect location to take part in everything going on in the area, and believe me there's lots to do! The staff were all very friendly and ready to help us get the most out of our vacation, they shared with us what were the most popular and exciting day excursions to go on and we had a blast on each on they recommended. The food was great with new things to try at each meal - make sure you try the coffee, absolutely the best we've EVER had. And you can't beat the quick shuttle ride to the beach at the bottom of the hill. Our room was very clean and tidy (it had a great big stone shower too!) and looked out into beautiful blue water, green hills and palm trees. This was by far our favorite vacation we've ever gone on. What more could you want from a trip to paradise?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
15.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $112 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing