We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Bedroom Villa with pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
VISTA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3 Bedroom Villa with pool”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went in May which is NOT high season, which was awesome. We got Villa #22 which at first I was bummed because there was no view, but once we settled in we realized why this was such a favorite villa. It was 1 story and had its own pool. We had our 4 and 6 year old with us so it was perfect! The hotel is very hilly and the roads to get around are crzy, this villa is right in the front gate and so easy to get in and out of, since we had a car. I HIGHLY recommend a car if you're going to take full advantage of the region. We didn't spend much time at the actual hotel sinnce we had our own pool and full kitchen, but they do have a shuttle bus/truck thing that will take you up all those steep hills and to the beach.. The shuttles run nonstop and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to get one. We ate at El Velero down at the beach, yummy. Also if you go to the Luperon or AutoMercado( in Coco) they have alot of american type foods, which saved us with our picky eaters!! We ziplined in the mountains one da, jet skied in Playa Panama, did the congo trail zipline, went up to Liberia and went to waterfall. Kids had a blast, I recommend the off season there was nobody around, it was awesome.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the steep hills and taking the shuttle, the villas on hill have awesome views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdooflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmata76, Director Comercial at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear CDOOFLYER,

Your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel have been forwarded to my attention and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having taken your valuable time to inform us about your recent stay with us.

In Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort we work very hard implementing appropriate measures to ensure that our guest received the best service that we can provide.

Feedback from our guests past and present is our principal devise for improving our services and achieve our goal of complete customer satisfaction.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you and your family again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mario Mata
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    399
    283
    135
    110
See reviews for
349
512
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Really liked the place. Service was outstanding, food was great and the views were outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I travelled for some downtime and to celebrate us. We head an extremely good time overall. Our room was in good order and he resort's view were amazing as advertised. We also found be food of good quality with a diversed selection at the buffet. Sitting in the balcony a he main restaurant was better than advertised. Can't really say much about the libations due to limited selections, but the barterders made up with wit. There are a few negative reviews with he check in, but it is mostly due to small space at reception. The staff on site was extremely friendly and not pushy selling tours. Good overall quality specially for all inclusive price. Would love to go back.
Ps, good mixture of couples and families.

Room Tip: Call directly prior to traveling for rooms and taxi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmata76, Director Comercial at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Cesar,
First off let me thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay with us, congratulations for you 8th anniversary, feedback from our guests past and present is our principal devise for improving our services and achieving our goal of exceeding each guest expectations, if you return to Costa Rica again it would be my pleasure to be able to welcome you here in our resort.
Thank you again.
Kind Regards

Mario Mata
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We traveled to Villas Sol on a Yuupon deal and were not sure of what to expect. Everything was very nice! Food was good, staff was friendly and the swim up bar was nice. We had a few excursions so we were not on the property every day, but it was nice for the money!

Room Tip: The hotel has a great view, but if you get a villa higher up on the property, the view is good as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinskiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmata76, Director Comercial at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear robinskiz2,

First off let me thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback from our guests past and present is our principal devise for improving our services and achieving our goal of exceeding each guest expectations, if you return to Costa Rica again it would be my pleasure to be able to welcome you here in our resort.

Kind Regards

Mario Mata
Sales and Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

After reading the reviews on this site... we were leary of making this trip. However, we got a good deal.. and decided how bad can an all inclusive on the beach be?? Turns out.... VERY GOOD!! We had a wonderful view from our third floor room, and the room was VERY clean, and the staff EXCEPTIONAL!!
We thought the food was tasty, well prepared, and while we did not like all the selections, we were ALWAYS able to find something to eat.. The breakfast, included several choices of eggs, meats, and fruit and wonderful breads... and the rest of the meals were just as plentiful. My husband went fishing one day, and caught some fish. The staff, prepared his fish just as he asked, served it and was MORE than happy to do so. That was EXCELLENT service!
We scheduled a trip, before we left the US, with AMY of AVASPA'S ADVENTURES ( they have a web site, that lists contacts, and all the tours they provide... AND they will customize a trip, if you tell them what you want to do ) and had a delightful time, with VERY personalized service. This was by far, a 5+ star tour, and Amy was a VERY exceptional guide. She was born in MD, and now resides in Coco. She provided EXCELLENT service, and worked hard to make the fishing trip happen for my husband. to say he was PLEASED would be an understatement !!
We were only in Costa RIca for 4 days, but managed to pack in MANY wonderful experiences... The River tour, the Sunset cruise, the fishing trip, trips to Coco, and a massage on the beach! A perfect mini vacation.. made even better by Amy of Avaspa's.. AND the staff at Villa Sol. We are already planning a return trip!
This resort is NOT a four seasons.. however, if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax, with a wonderful, friendly, helpful staff... then Villa Sol is PERFECT!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel.. are close to the pool, and have an AMAZING view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianec48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmata76, Director Comercial at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Diane

Your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel have been forwarded to my attention and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having taken your valuable time to inform us.
Thank you very much for your comments we are making a very hard work in order to provide the best service that we can, comments like yours give us the strong to push things better and better every day.

Mario Mata
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Villas Sol is great in theory but there are some major kinks that detract from it's potential.

First, the good.
We had a room on the fourth floor in the main hotel. We had gorgeous views of the lovely Pacific and the balcony was a nice size. The king size bed in the room was quite comfy and very clean. The air conditioner in the room was essential during the dry (AND VERY HOT) season. We were staying at the hotel as an all-inclusive and ate almost every meal at the hotel. We found the breakfast to be very tasty and never got sick of it. Also, the views from the dining hall are spectacular. Last thing that really stood out as good to us was the service from Adrian (the bartender at the "fun" pool) as well as the event coordinator ( but I can't remember his name). They both were at the "fun" pool everyday and seemed happy to be there which made the experience nice. Oh, the gift shop in the hotel is actually very reasonably priced as far as souvenirs are concerned.

TIP: If you need something like sun block, or other convenience store type amenities head down to the shop that's at the bottom of the resort. We found Aloe Vera after sun care for only $11 while it was something like $24.99 in the gift shop.

The not-so-good.
As many others have said the quality of the alcohol wasn't the greatest and the mixed drinks were extremely sweet. We stuck to Imperial (Costa Rican cerveza) and sometimes wine because they weren't as hit or miss. The food for lunch and dinner was also extremely hit or miss. Some nights the dinner would be great but other times we felt like we were eating re-purposed food from prior meals. The food would be dry and sometimes there was a very limited selection of food. Like others have also said, there is an issue with flies in the dining hall but I figure that's part of package coming to Costa Rica and eating in an open-air dining hall. The last thing that I wasn't a huge fan of was the shuttle system. They go in the most random patterns and there were many times that we ended up at the top of the villa part of the resort (we were staying in the hotel).

The ugly.
Playa Hermosa is a very small surrounded cove. We arrived by bus and therefore had no way to get around. There isn't much to do in Playa Hermosa and the set cab fare to Playa del Coco is $15 each way making a $30 round-trip to get to the restaurants//gift-shops//nightlife. It's actually very close and I feel like the cab fare is extremely high for the distance traveled. You might as well rent a car unless you have another couple or something to share the cab with.
Another big fault I saw with this resort was the lack of internet. When in a foreign country it's nice to be able to let people back home know how it's going and also get travel arrangements confirmed. It's very difficult when internet is almost nonexistent.

Lastly, the sit down restaurant in the villa section of the resort is simply not worth wasting a dinner on. I found it to be close to inedible. I got a crepe smothered in nacho cheese, which to say the least, I was not a fan of. Stick with the buffet.


***I was indifferent about the pools. We used the "fun" pool more but there was nothing special nor bad about it. It suits its purpose.

I wouldn't stay here again without a rental car and would have to get an extremely good deal to come back.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel portion of the resort and try to get a room on the second, third or fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmata76, Director Comercial at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Chelsia,

Your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel have been forwarded to my attention and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not accomplishing your expectations and to thank you for having taken your valuable time to inform us.

We do have been reviewed carefully along with the staff involved, implementing appropriate measures to ensure that those inconveniences do not arise in the future.
Feedback from our guests past and present is our principal devise for improving our services and achieve our goal of complete customer satisfaction.


We would be grateful of another opportunity to serve you in the near future. The Hotel will be more than happy to offer you VIP treatment for your next entire stay.

Mario Mata
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

The resort itself is nice, the rooms were fine, area and scenery were wonderful, the problem here lies in the food provided with the all inclusive rate , it was quite substandard low quality everywhere and bugs flying near the food, I know some will say that you need to meter expectations at an all inclusive however I have been to many in Mexico, Nicaragua, and the Dom republic and were cheaper and much higher quality. Just not acceptable.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsetr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
663 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,022 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing