We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It truly was one of our "Best Vacations Ever"”
Review of Condovac la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Condovac la Costa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 13, 2010

My husband, myself and another couple had reservations for 2 - 1 bedroom rooms on an RCI exchange, but when we got there our rooms had virtually no view. We requested a better view and were told the only rooms with a better view were the 2 story, 2 bedroom villas on the other side of the road. We looked at them and exchanged our 2 - 1bedrooms for 1 of those units, resulting in one of the best vacations "ever". The staff is friendly and helpful, the resort is clean and well kept, the food and drinks were very good overall and the beds were very comfortable. I might add though, that our unit had recently been renovated and was beautiful. The infinity pool and its view was perfect, albeit a little chilly and the jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool.

We did not use the tour service at the hotel and instead used Mardigi Tours as was recommended in other posts to this site. Marvin and Digi were fabulous and so was Felix, the driver. Marvin assured us that we would have the "Best Tour and Best Deal Ever" and we certainly think we did. We had a wonderful time with Digi on the Bourinquen Tour including the horse back ride, zip line, hot springs and lunch, but must admit that the road getting there was rough and exhausting. The tour to the Tempiste River Jungle Boat Cruise was absolutely fabulous and we even got to feed White Faced Monkeys. The wildlife was great and the authentic Costa Rican lunch was wonderful. They certainly made our vacation one of the "best ever" and we can't thank them enough.

As for other restaurants in the area, we had 2 delicious meals at El Vallero Hotel right down the beach from Condovac and we also went out on their Sunset Sail. That was the highlight of our trip. We saw a Leatherback Turtle and a whale spout in the distance, the night was calm and beautiful and the sunset was spectacular. The BBQ at the El Vallero afterwards really capped off the evening. Another excellent but slightly out of the way place is the ManGaby Hotel/Restaurant about a block behind the El Vallero Hotel. The setting was lovely, the restaurant is poolside with a waterfall flowing nearby and the food is 4 Star. All of our dinners were excellent and the presentation was right out of a gourment restaurant. We highly recommend the short walk, you'll be glad you did. The Bosque Del Mar Hotel and Restaurant at the very end of the beach is absolutely beautiful and the menu prices were in line with the Condovac. Unfortunately, we ran out of time and did not get to eat there, but other guests did and really liked it.
Our only complaint would be the "Snorkel Tour" we took from Louis who is located to the right on the beach. He also sells Cerviche, which is quite good, but his snorkel trip was a bust. He promised 2 hours snorkeling at 2 locations, a trip to the white sand beach at the 4 Seasons and Monkey Island and lastly looking for whales on our way back. He took us around the point to very murky water, told us where not to go and 25 minutes later called us back to the boat. We cruised by the 4 Seasons and came close enough to Monkey Island to get a picture and then cruised around the bay "looking for whales" for 40 minutes and back to the beach. We were back in 1 1/2 hours and he still wanted full price plus a tip. Warning, make sure you and your tour guide are all in agreement prior to going or paying.
That happened our last day, so it was a slight let down, but our last dinner at The ManGaby Restaurant made up for it and so did the view of the sunset from our balcony with our good friends. All in all it truly was one of our "Best Vacations Ever"

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wine-n-Travel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Condovac la Costa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 552 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

My mother and I stayed at Hotel Condovac la Costa just last month. The resort is gorgeous, rooms were really clean, and we enjoyed the exclusive location (you are about a 20 minute drive to nearest town).

The smartest thing we did was to contact Mardigi Tours (http://www.mardigitours.com/). Marvin and Digi, husband and wife owners, were amazingly kind and well connected in the Guanacaste region. They are punctual, bilingual and in-love with Costa Rica!

Marvin, Digi and their driver Felix, picked us up from the airport, for half the price of any other shuttle, and helped us plan our entire week. They took us horseback riding, zip-lining, shopping at the local town, to the volcanoes and the hot springs. They created "plan b's" for when the weather did not cooperate. They listened to what we wanted to do and created the perfect packages for us. Mardigi Tours is incredibly affordable.

Before you head to Condavac la Costa contact Marvin and Digi!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at the Condovac La Costa resort...which in itself is beautiful. The staff was polite and helpful..and the surroundings could not be better...we stayed in the 500's and the walk to the beach was less than a block. The resort has transportation running constantly ..as there are some steep inclines..Please don't eat at resturant...we had 2 dinners..and they were both horrible. We did have breakfast on our last day -which was ok.Now thats get to the good part "Marvin & Digi" they made our Costa Rica trip one of the best we have ever had...They picked us up at the airport..and from then on..you felt you were with family..we went on 3-4 trips with them.....The horseback riding/zipline/spa day was to die for!!! The river boat tour was amazing..visting Thermo Mania (active volcano) was a blast..and we had the whole place to ourselves...not counting all the wonderful meals they made sure we had....we liked the Costa Rican food....and they made sure we tasted the real-deal----they were so,so affordable....they took our trip personal..and made sure in everyway that we went where we wanted...and even suggesting alternatives when the weather did not cooperate. Please don't leave this area without meeting them...you will not be disappointed. mardigitours.com

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeDe0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was my second and my daughter's 4th trip to CR; first to this region.The only disappointment was rather murky water d/t a recent hurricane off Mexico which made snorkeling from the shore impossible. We did hire some guy walking up and down the beach to take us across the bay for $50 to snorkel: What a fabulous trip. Just my daughter and me. We saw a swordfish and giant sea turtle on the ride out. Played with blow fish, star fish and saw a variety of fun stuff.
For the most part we relied on MARDIGI TOURS to get us around, having experienced costa Rica's muddy and unmarked roads in the past. Marvin and Digi were FABULOUS! From the minute they picked us up at the airport to the time they dropped us off. Very punctual, helpful, professional and speak good english. They can arrange anything you need, I promise. One of the things my daughter and I most wanted was a long and challenging horseback riding trip and we got it. Two hours of flying thru the woods and near the beach. If you hire MARDIGI TOURS tell them Kate and Emily sent you; just as another way to say thank-you to them.

The hotel was perfect for what we wanted: A clean, safe, pretty place well located to visit all that the area offered. The Staff was very friendly. There are computers in the lobby available for a small fee but internet access not always available. Small grocery on site and larger one a short walk down the road. Units very pleasant with active recycling program. They also provide paper towels, dish soap and plenty of beach towels. There is a take out laundry service with a fast turn-around time for a small fee .Daily maid service unless declined. Resort activities offered. We only did the Bar-tending course but this was fun: made and sampled 6 different drinks for free. We did rent the in-room safe but had no reason to think it was necessary. The rooms have keys...Bring an elastic wristband/keyholder with you, this would have been so convenient to have when at the beach etc.
So go and have fun! Walk around. Several nice little retaurants off the road from the beach as well as the hotel's. And call Mardigi tours. I know we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katefatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had a fabulous visit at Condovac la Costa from August 20-27. I will tell you about our stay at the resort as well as other aspects of the trip. Our tour guides were the best- Marvin and Digi. I found out about them on the RCI reviews for Condovac as well as trip advisor. They absolutely cannot be beat and gave us a very memorable stay! The resort will encourage you to use Gray Line but if you want a small, personalized tour that you will never regret, make sure you use Marvin. We emailed each other before our trip so he knew just what we wanted. Contact them at: mardigitranscr@yahoo.com. Not only did they take us to the grocery store after we arrived for free, they also gave us their own camera to use after I broke mine. Before I left, they burned me a DVD with all the pictures. In addition, they stopped in Liberia so I could buy some disposable cameras and other places we needed as well. BTW, many of the ideas I am writing about I discovered from reviews on Trip Advisor before we left. The resort was on a hill above Playa Hermosa beach and was centrally located for day trips. We loved the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and other visitors. We stayed in room 520 and had our own little nature show outside our room whenever we sat on our porch, which was often in the early mornings and evenings… howler monkeys, leaf cutter ants, at least a hundred green parakeets that roost in the sea almond trees , iguanas, magpie jays, really pretty black, white and auburn squirrels and many other birds that I could not identify. It was so fun! Again, others sat out and you chatted with them and all. The room had a bedroom area with 2 double beds and 2 narrow couches—said it slept 6 but it was great for just the 2 of us. Kitchen was fine for us since we mostly ate breakfast here. There was not an oven but you did have a toaster over. We were VERY glad that it was all inclusive to since we like to try different places in the area, are not big eaters., and had lunch included on our tours. Pool area was very nice, areas were kept up well and the trams came in handy. As information about the resort states, the hills are very steep so be prepared or use the trams or get in some hefty walks. We ate at Villa Sol, another RCI resort, one night and it was nice but I like the location and other stuff better at Condovac. Many people recommended Gingers for dinner and we walked down the road a short distance outside the resort for dinner one night and enjoyed the food and again the friendly guests and staff. (closed Monday) We also walked down the beach to the left for Aqua Sport for a couple of yummy lunches. Hotel Valero down the beach on the left is even closer than Aqua Sport and they have a regular menu for lunch and dinner plus a BBQ on the beach Wednesday and Saturday. There was a full menu at Condovac for all meals so we ate a meals here and they were okay. Bartenders made some great drinks! You will have a blast in Costa Rica! Let me know if you need any more information. Say hi to Marvin and Digi for us!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tallygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Just got back, amazing views, nice rooms but beds not so great. Easy access to really nice, private beach, kids were body surfing constantly. Hotel food poor but difficult to leave the resort so stuck there for a few meals. Time share solicitors on beach worth it because sitting through a 90 min. presentaion gets you great free stuff like all-inclusive day wristband at adjoining resort, cash voucher for restaurant in town, 50% discount on excursions, etc. Private person tour guides way better than group tours sold by hotel. Must contact Marvin and Digi! Airport transpotation way cheaper and day trips personal and less money. Search internet for contact info before you go. Coco beach a bit more lively but beaches not so good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mke_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I hear that June-October is the "off" season in Costa Rica because of the rainy weather. We were there August 13th-20th and although it did rain just about everyday, it was only for about 20-30 minutes, then the sun came out. We stayed in the 400's section and only minor complaint was the comfort of the beds - small double beds, my husband's feet hung off the bed and so did mine occasionally and I am 5'5". The beds were slightly hard too. Other than that, the room and facilities/appliances were great. We enjoyed getting up in the morning and sitting outside to hear the howler monkeys and watch the tropical birds and squirrels scurry around before we started our day. Yes there are steep hills and climbs; but I agree with another review: "Costa Rica is all about hills, mountains, volcanoes and therefore climbing." There is a shuttle service that drives the entire property every 15 minutes if you don't want to do the walk/climb. The beach was nice and we enjoyed exploring the rocky side to the right to see what we could see. We ate a few times at the Condovac restaurant and we decided not to eat there often since we thought it was overpriced for not-so-great food. The staff at Condovac was super nice and helpful, no complaints there. The only slight problem was keeping face towels in the room - cleaning crew would pick up face towels and not replace them - we started hiding them because calling to front desk it took more than an hour to get replacements. Also, there is an "inventory" and these face towels have to be on this at end of your stay. Also in the inventory is whatever was in the frig: since we chose not to go to the orientation, we were not aware of this and while checking out, we then understood that there was a charge for missing items. But our fault for not going to orientation/time share sales pitch. Now the good stuff: we contacted Mardigi Tours since they were highly recommended. The reviews were right: they picked us up from airport, took us to a grocery store offsite resort site for a better price and then to hotel. We scheduled the Borinquen zipline, Jungle Riverboat and even atv tours with them. The zipline and jungle river boat tours are all day events with lunch included - both were absolutely wonderful. We were lucky enough to be able to feed the capuchin "white faced" monkeys during this tour. And the lunch was fabulous. Marvin and Digi definitely make you feel at home in Costa Rica and truly treated you like family, THANKS so much Marvin!! http://mardigitours.com
I totally agree that "PURA VIDA" is the right motto for this country.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garfieldidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
723 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condovac la Costa

Address: 400 Metros Norte de la Iglesia Catolica | Club Condovac, Playa Hermosa 000011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $92 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing