We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 Feb 2014”
Review of Condovac la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Condovac la Costa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spent 10 days at Condovac LaCosta. Melissa at desk keeps the reception desk is the best person to work with. She is efficient, customer caring, and the best English speaking person - really a terrific person. However the hotel is lacking in many areas. Upon checking into the room we found it to be filthy. The kitchen utensils still had food on them. All kitchen utensils should be replaced because they are old and abused. The floor was dirty. Room had to be cleaned so we could move into it. Maid service was fairly good as the floors were mopped and fresh towels provided daily.

The manager is fairly new and making efforts to fix the problem area.

Took days to get the air conditioner adjusted to a comfortable temperature (25 C). AC is over the beds and constantly blows on you at night. Shower heads failed on 3 different occasions and had to be repaired by maintenance. The tubs were Jacuzzi type but did not work, but who takes a Jacuzzi bath in Costa Rica.

Restaurant food was very good and not overpriced. You can expect service to take some time. Menu is limited, but when mixed with some of the restaurants along the beach, you can get a good variety of food. Recommend sticking to the fresh fish and chicken as beef is not as good as in USA, Don't know about the pork.

Room Tip: Select levels 4, 5, or 6 as these rooms have been refurbished. Levels 1, 2 & 3 are in the plans...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks for your review, it is very important for us and it will help us to improve our services.
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Condovac la Costa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 552 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Spent week of feb 16 . Great view, beach access, and helpful staff. Room had some high cobwebs but otherwise really clean. Daily maid service included. Rooms a little old but fits right into the environment. Pools ok but COLD same in jacuzzi . Restaurant great view . Service and food good but one night had terrible experience with waiter. Special dinner going on in pool area and waiter overwhelmed with restaurant . Mgr apologized but service not any better. Do not go for meal
Plan. Too many limitations and no drinks included . Lots of nice restaurants on the beach !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbet66-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for your review, it will help us to improve our services.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvinience you may have encountered during your stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This resort has great staff. Everyone was helpful and did their best to assist us. The rooms are okay, old and the furniture is dated but they are clean. The couches were not at all comfortable. There are no hair dryers or any dish soap. Bed was comfortable. 3 pools and a very nice beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denniq56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We really appreciate your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were gifted an RCI timeshare for our honeymoon in early October. We weren't sure what to expect seeing the incredibly reasonable average nightly rate of this resort, but were very pleasantly surprised.
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, despite our lack of Spanish skills. The resort is clean and well-maintained. The views from the infinity pool and beach are amazing.
We did not do the all-inclusive, and were happy with that decision. We ate a different restaurant on the beach every night (you can easily walk down from your room to a variety of beach restaurants for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks). We did eat at the resort a few times and decided we preferred the other nearby restaurants for the variety. The drinks were very inexpensive at the pool bar.
The beach is a short walk from the rooms, and the walk back up is a fairly steep hill, but shuttles run frequently, starting early in the morning. Sometimes, the walk was a good idea though, after filling up at the beach restaurants. If you are not very mobile or do not wish to get a good deal of exercise, do not vacation in Costa Rica period. There is a lot to climb, explore, swim, etc. in this country. If the idea of walking up a hill is prohibitive, you will not otherwise enjoy visiting Costa Rica.
The beach was amazing. Trees provide natural shelter from the sun. There were also resort chairs chained up in the shade where the tide couldn't carry them away. The resort provided ample beach towels if you wanted to lay out in the sun or under the other trees. Vendors selling tours and foods on the beach could be a little aggressive, but were easy to wave away.
A grocery store is located a short walk from the resort entrance, so it is easy to pick up necessities to avoid eating out every meal of the day and buying all of your drinks. We rented a car though, so even easier. The driving in this region was very easy and the roads very uncrowded.
Great value for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

We're glad to read that you had a great time in our resort.
We really appreciate your review.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here during Christmas/ New Years week and we got a pretty good deal for the dates. The value is great. The staff were good not great. I asked for an ethernet cord and the night staff told me they were available in Coco. In the morning we went to the office and asked another staff to call us a taxi because we were going to Coco to buy a ethernet cord and he pulled one out of the drawer! So customer service depends on who you talk to. Wifi is available everywhere but not the most reliable. Connection comes in and out and is a little slow. The villa itself was beautiful and updated. ie. granite countertops stainless steel appliances etc. It was very nice and clean. The ac unit upstairs did not work too well during the day it did get warm but we didn't complain since we didn't spend much time there. The beach by the hotel is nice enough and has quite a few activities. There's also a small store where you can get a few groceries which was really convenient. Overall a very satisfying stay. Would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tito q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we really apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced.
We hope you visit us soon.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for a week in a two bedroom unit. We booked thru RCI and Condovac didn't have us in their reservation system. Luckily I brought my RCI confirmation so they gave us a room. Don't bother arriving before 4pm because the chance your room is ready is slim to none. The front desk staff speaks english but not a lot of the rest of the employees. They charge you $3 a day for use of the safe in your unit which I think is nickel & dimeing the tourists. They are huge on inventory in your room so make sure you check it when you come, and the day before you leave. If you're missing anything make sure you have housekeeping bring it to you that night because when you check out, you'll have to pay for anything not accounted for. You may end up making several calls to the front desk before getting your items. It took us 3 hours to have 2 towels brought to us once. The resort is built into a mountain so you'll want to use the free shuttles to get around. Our unit was nice enough. The air conditioner was leaking and one of the toilets were broken but fixed right away once we reported it. The location of the resort is great. The pool area and infinity pool are nice. It was a pleasant area to relax and read a book. They chain the chairs together at the pool & beach so they can't be moved, which kind of stunk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOOFYROSE96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay.

We are currently working on the renovation of the resort and we are always looking forward to improve our services, so we really appreciate your comments.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This resort was probably a very nice resort when it was new. Currently it's in need of renovation. But that being said, it is still a decent resort. Check in was a nightmare - for everyone. My reservation was lost and it was very time consuming to get checked in. This appeared to be a common problem. The grounds are very nice and the view is beautiful. There is no service by the pool, so be prepared to beg for food or drinks - even though there is a restaurant right there. The food is pretty good. The pools are nice, but in need of sprucing up. It is very far and steep to walk between rooms, pool, and beach. They offer a shuttle to help. The beach is a beautiful, soft, black sand beach. The zip lining at the resort was very reasonable and convenient. The best thing about the resort was Mardigi tours. Their services was outstanding. It was the best service I've ever had, anywhere. I wouldn't book a tour with anyone else. They also provided transportation to and from the airport. They were the best!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keiran1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during check-in.
We are currently working on the renovation of the resort and we are always looking forward to improve our services, so we really appreciate your comments.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
723 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condovac la Costa

Address: 400 Metros Norte de la Iglesia Catolica | Club Condovac, Playa Hermosa 000011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $92 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing