We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, but some units are old and need refurbishing”
Review of Condovac la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Condovac la Costa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The unit we were in was very outdated and disappointing. The area is beautiful, but I certainly would ask for a newer unit if I go there again. The furnishings are minimal...no salt, pepper, sugar, hair dryer, etc. like many resorts supply. And, if you don't have a car you will have to use a taxi to get anywhere.
With that said, we found Mardigi Tours (onsite at the resort) to provide wonderful, fun tours, with knowledgeable guides. I would highly recommend them. We had a lot of fun on the three tours that we took with them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300's are antiquated...ask for a newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konchella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We really apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay in Condovac.
We're always looking forward to improve our services, so we really appreciate your opinion.
Hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 560 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

The resort LOCATION is great. The pool, the restaurant, little grocery store and the beach wear store are great.The grounds and landscaping are great and nicely kept. However...my friend and I went there on an exchange from her timeshare through RCI. Our room was TERRIBLE. The place was grimy, dirty and in need of a total renovation. Everything - the beds, the futon, the dresser, the kitchen cabinets - were old and crappy. There was a family/kitchen room, bathroom, vanity and bedroom so it WAS spacious. But the entire place either needs a deep cleaning or it needs to be gutted and everything replaced.

I cannot understand why RCI would give this resort a Silver Crown rating! There were dust bunnies, sticky grime on the cabinets, smears on the walls. FYI, there was a 2.5" cockroach in the bathroom which I'll bet came up through the drain in the floor. (I don't mean the shower drain.) I know they are hard to control.

The utensils looked like they had been stamped out of sheet metal - like prison spoons and forks. Tiles were chipped, and generally this place is a dump. Usually there is a little "welcome basket" with small salt/pepper, sugar, coffee, etc. There was n o t h i n g. There were plenty of towels and they were clean. The sheets were clean as far as I could tell. Yes, it is a walk downhill to the beach which is good. We asked for a change of room, but were told my friend's timeshare did not qualify for an upgrade.

The staff was nice enough. They do speak english and they are very patient if you are a beginner with spanish. At the end of your stay, you must have the maid come to your room and you must give an accounting for every single item in the unit. (As if I would WANT to steal something.) You cannot make an appointment for this event and it must be done as soon as you are ready to vacate the unit. So think ahead when you are checking out. Overall, I do not recommend this place unless you can ensure you "qualify" for one of the newer, nicer rooms. (I don't mean luxurious. Just clean and pleasant.) Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Ensure you can get one of the newer, nicer rooms. Otherwise, you'll be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Condovac in November for 7 days. We were a little skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised.

We travel a lot, and this place had some of the best views and pool we have ever seen at a resort.
The front desk staff and housekeeping were very pleasant and helped in any way they could. Our room was ready well before the 4:00 check-in time. The rooms were nice, clean and the A/C worked great!
The food at the restaurant was fairly good but kind of expensive - we paid $30 for a pizza! But, the breakfast was very good and decently priced.
I recommend walking down the beach and eating at Roberto's or El Velero. Both are excellent and right on the beach. The prices are great too - especially if you go on their Buy One Get One Free night!
The resort is on a steep cliff but that is what gives it the amazing views! The shuttle runs all of the time and the shuttle drive goes out of his way to accommodate everyone.
We met some lifetime friends on this trip - the people are so warm and friendly. It is also very safe to get out and walk around.

We read great reviews about a personal driver/concierge and booked with him before we got there. His name is Herson and is on the beach almost everyday. He does personal tours for about the same price as the big tour groups. he also picked us up from the airport and took us to the grocery store before we checked in. He speaks perfect English and is a local, so he showed lots of little cool things about Costa Rica. He drove us all the way to Arenal to check into our next hotel for a very low price. His email is Herson03@yahoo.com.

I would highly recommend this resort. Don't let some of the poor reviews scare you - its not 5 stars, but it is everything you need plus more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thischickrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

We appreciate your review, your opinion is very important for us.
We're glad to read that you had a great time while staying in Condovac.
We hope you visit us again in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just returned from our trip and loved the location of the resort. The front desk staff could have been friendlier and actually let us know we had two floors with ocean view! Overall I would recommend without high expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We really appreciate your review, as we are always looking to improve our services.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Regards,
Club y Hotel Condovac La Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We selected this hotel since it was one of the only options for RCI. Turned out to be a good choice. We went during the month of October so it was the low season. The weather turned out to be great only rained a couple of times durning the week, only for a couple hours. We did go the last week so likely rain more if you go first part of October.
The location of the hotel was central to all kinds of activities. The beach was a 7 out of 10, if it was racked and cleaned up it would be better. You can fish, scuba dive, snorkel, .. Right at the local beach. About 1hour to most other activities.

The hotel was a unique setup that grew on us. We had a 2 bedroom condo unit 604, lots of room and clean. There isn't really a living room, kitchen has a pull out coach but it did the job. Had all the pots and utensils you need. Upstairs room is large with a tv, large bathroom also. Nice balcony that looks out over the ocean. I wouldn't go any lower down the hill than this row of units. You won't have a view of the ocean from your balcony.
Does have a big hill to go up and down, but the have a shuttle going up and down all the time.
The pool area is nice, not a five star but is comfortable. The food at the restaurant is good and the service excellent.
Get to know the entertainment staff, very friendly and entertaining. It was fun being at the hotel with a number of locals that use the resort for family trips.
Make sure you look up Herson for any trips. He will give you a number of ideas and customize the trips for you. Send him an email before you go down herson03@yahoo.com. He's very trustworthy and full of knowledge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your vacation in Condovac.
We hope you visit us again in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked through RCI and read the reviews so we knew what we should expect - especially the infamous hill - however we didn't expect some of the other things we encountered. We arrived early yet they gave us a room before the usual 4:00 pm check in time so we were happy with that. The only problem was that the room turned out to be less than stellar. Besides having two twin beds (we thought we were supposed to have a king) we also had a shower that had no divider to keep the water from flooding the entire bathroom when you showered. We had no problem with the fact that there was no tub but after a shower you needed to mop the floor with your towel as there was little slope for the water to find the drain.
Secondly, we had the unpleasant experience of roaches in the sink when we turned the light on in our kitchen the first night. The management moved us to another room which solved both problems but presented another with the pungent smell of a skunk outside. We decided to accept that since we couldn't smell it inside anyway. The price you pay for being an RCI member I suppose.
We met another couple who were supposed to be in the room next to us and they had problems with their room as well. Luckily for them they were sent to a two story room with a king-sized bed. After talking to them we discovered our first room was rejected by another guest shortly before being given to us. Again, this must be their way of trying to find the tolerance level of the RCI members.
We opted to not go with the all-inclusive as we do whenever we can. Fortuantely they didn't have a mandatory all-inclusive program - the bane of our existence. Although it was affordable in relation to other all-inclusive rates, they only had one restaurant and after seeing the meager selection at breakfast we knew we made the best decision.
We had stocked up at a local supermarket on the way in which more than adequately covered our meal needs. We did find the prices a bit high compared to Panama where we live. Overall, we spent the equivalent of less than what we would have spent for two days on the least expensive meal plan and it lasted a week.
We went on a tour through a local independent operator by the name of Herson (email herson03@yahoo.com) who was very knowledgeable and affordable. He can arrange transfers as well as virtually any tour at rates that you can live with. There was a tour operator in the lobby, Mardigi Tours, who also are highly recommended but we went with Herson and found his personalized tour to be much more to our liking.
While at the beach we found signed up for a fishing tour that was very affordable and productive. The rooster fish put up a nice fight along with the Pacific barracuda. I would recommend chartering a boat if you like fishing.
The beach was nice and we enjoyed massages under a canopy by a husband/wife team who were very affordable (it was rainy season and they are typically slow then) for the two of us at the same time. They were so good we ended up doing it three times. We highly recommend Sonia and Rodrigo.
We went on a snorkeling tour through another beach operator that took us to the area near the two islands about a mile or so off the beach. We enjoyed the fact that we found none of the trash typically found underwater virtually everywhere else in the world. Costa Rica is very strict on trash recycling and it was evident everywhere - including offshore. The fish were nice despite the fact that there was not a living reef and only rocks. We found a few conchs and the captain made a nice ceviche for us. All in all not a bad experience. We did discover later that there were tons of beautiful tropical fish a few yards off the beach with no need to get in a boat. Just bring a mask and snorkle and you should be just fine right off the beach.
One thing that was strange was the way the property chained all the chaise lounges at the pool and beach together so tight you could not separate them for a little room or privacy. The only exception was a group of chairs to the right as you hit the beach that not only had a lot of space between them but also were in the sun - something the vast majority at the beach were not. The sunsets were spectacular and picture worthy.
There is also a boutique hotel down the beach with beautiful rooms and good prices boasting a restaurant called Roberts with daily happy hour and great food. We highly recommend at least one meal there.....you wont be disappointed. So to sum up....the resort is dated but provides everything necessary for comfort. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food left a little to be desired so buy your own groceries. Pool was adequate aside from chairs chained together and poorly attended swimup bar. Not sure if we will return but at least it didn't rain.

Room Tip: Best rooms as you go down hill on the right. They are two story units with king-sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panamajim26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Your review is very important for us.
We really apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay.
We're always looking forward to improve our services, so we really appreciate your review.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I found this resort through RCI. Myself and 2 friends stayed at Condovac for 8 days and we really enjoyed ourselves. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We had a room close to the beach so we had a great view. We loved the infinity pool and restaurant the looked over Playa Hermosa Bay. Mardigi Tours had a desk in the lobby. We went on 4 organized tour with Mardigi and we enjoyed each one.

They also have an 8 zip line course that is set up on the property with beautiful views of the beach. We had a private zip line experience, only 4 of us with 2 guides. It was a blast! Later in the week we enjoyed a $20 massage with the sounds of the ocean in the background.

Another plus about the hotel is there is wifi available every where.

We had an amazing trip and already miss it there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kscott425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thanks for your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Condovac.
Hope you visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Club Y Hotel Condovac La Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condovac la Costa

Address: 400 Metros Norte de la Iglesia Catolica | Club & Condovac, Playa Hermosa 000011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $99 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing