We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Honeymoon stay in Costa Rica”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I chose Condovac la Costa through RCI for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms were spacious and well maintained (with good AC!) and the resturaunt on the resort was pretty good. Most of the hotel staff in the resturaunt and the lobby spoke good English. Many Centrals Americans spend time here as well so you get a good dose of the local culture while at this resort. While we were there, we chose Avispas Adventures for our tours and were very pleased with the service they provided as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 402-421 block of rooms. They had a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for choosing Condovac as the destination for your honeymoon.
We're so happy to read that you had a good time while staying in Condovac.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Regards,
Club y Hotel Condovac La Costa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    242
    97
    24
    19
See reviews for
200
181
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakusp
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is an authentic Costa Rican resort. This is where Costa Ricans come to relax and vacation. There are lots of children here and it is busy with daytimers on the weekends. That said, the resort is an older property but is well maintained! If you want five star fancy resorts, then don't come here. If you want to vacation in a gorgeous spot at a well-used but well-built and nicely looked after resort...then COME!!! The resort is one of the first built in this region. The infinity pool has a gorgeous view of Playa Hermosa an the bay. It is a beautiful beach. Yes there is some garbage on the beach but it does appear as if it is cleaned up on a regular basis. We walked on it one day and saw quite of bit of plastic garbage,,,but the next day we walked the same stretch and there was nothing! The beach is one of the nicest around and there are a couple of excellent places to eat. Roberto's and Aquasport are wonderful. Look for my separate reviews. Back to Condovac. Speaking Spanish is a great asset. Learn some basics and you will be fine. My Spanish is not great but we have been able to talk to all the staff. The resort grounds are well looked after and the maid service is fantastic! The resort has everything you need on site!! There are trams that run you all over. This resort is steep and so walking can be difficult. There is a mini-market for last minute items. Some prices are good....some are high. Overall the pricing at this resort is lower than anywhere we have stayed in Costa Rica. The restaurant food is okay...some items are better than others. So far I haveehad a hamburger (tasteless), Rice with chicken (quite good) and Pancakes with sausage (very good). There is a disco and a great gym. The beach access is wonderful and a nice little souvenir shop at the beach with great prices. Beer is about $2.50-$3.00 for the local stuff which I terrific. The mixed drinks are not over priced but that is from a Canadian perspective. All in all this is really a wonderful resort. This is how the Ticos vacation and they are all friendly people! It can be a bit noisy with children (especially on the weekends) but that is a small price to pay. So to sum it up nicely - older resort - well-maintained - beautiful view - all the amenities - not super swanky! Ask for 400 block if you want to be half-way between the pool and beach. 100-200 block is closest to pool reception with the 600-800 being near the beach. We love this resort and will come back!!

Room Tip: 400 block for renovated rooms, 100-300 to be close to pool - 500-800 if you want to be close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobiusag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We really appreciate your review, it is very important for us and it will help us to improve our services.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST HILLS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

In short, if you love wildlife, tours, a gorgeous view, and nice pool, but aren't too fussy about service and accommodation standards, then Condovac is not a bad place to stay for a week and relax. If you have problems with the latter, this is not the place you will enjoy and many other people we spoke with from RCI and Hilton Owners Club where very upset at the exchange they made.

More at Length:
We recently just got back from out trip to Costa Rica. The trip all around was amazing and what a gorgeous country. We used our RCI week to stay at Condovac which was only a 30minute ride from the Liberia Airport. We wanted the getting there to be as convenient as possible. Check in was smooth and easy enough. Our room was a little out dated and needs renovating but it was kept very clean by the excellent house keeping staff on a daily basis unless we requested it to be left alone on occasion. The pool area is very nice as well as the restaurant. My biggest issue was with the bar and restaurant staff whom I not only found to be negligent many times (I waited an hour after ordering a coffee with no one checking to see if I wanted another which I did. My fiancé joined me and no one brought him a menu or asked if he would like anything, and by the time I was frustrated enough I had to get up and find someone to give me a bill.) This was the most extreme case that occurred but overall service was very slow. I also found a few of the people working to be dishonest about prices. At the pool bar the bar tender told us it would be 4,000 Colones a drink when I knew this was not the case. After asking for a receipt in perfect spanish and looking at him funny he suddenly changed his tune and made up some story about making a mistake about what we had ordered. Another lady told us tip was not included when In fact it says that a 10 percent tip is included an all services. We tip more anyways on top but it's little things like that that really got irritating after awhile. You had the feeling that people where trying to skim as much money off of you as possible every time you did business. I understand overall this happening with taxis and shopping but I don't like to be hassled with this at a resort I book through RCI. Most people seem to have left shinning reviews for the staff and I will say if you only speak english you probably don't realize this game that is being played around you so just be aware.

Also a bit of a skunk problem. Woke up 3 different nights thinking maybe a skunk was in the room because it was so strong of a stench. I was worried our clothes would also real and one day there was a bit of odor on our stuff but thankfully it passed. Again just sharing everything because in the end we had a great time but hopefully people will read reviews and know what they can and cannot handle on a holiday they work hard to earn.

Mardigi Tours was the tour group company on sight in the main reception area. We did the Arenal Volcano Tour with them and they were lovely. We even were able to negotiate a lower rate with them since the tour wasn't filled to capacity. Very nice and very professional. Pretty much made the trip for us.

The beach at Playa Hermosa is also decent but if you are a beach snob you wouldn't be happy. Caribbean side is probably nicer water and sand. The wildlife was great with Howler Monkeys and iguanas running around.

There are a few restaurants on the beach, the best being one called Roberto's (part of a hotel as well) that just opened 8 months ago. We got sick of Condovac service and food so when we discovered this place we were just so happy. The found is Phenomenal here and you must go!!!! Prices are more than fair for what you get and how fresh and wonderfully assembled all the meals are.

Things to do are also the massages on the beach, snorkeling, and going to Playa del Coco (next beach over) which is ok but its a 30 dollar round trip in the taxi and honestly its not a nicer beach. Good shopping by comparison though for souvenirs. Still worth it to check it out.

Also they have Wifi but you have to leave your room to get a clear signal and sit outside. Sometimes in the kitchen you also get it but mostly outside. Seems a little pointless at times. I wasn't to worried about it since I came to get away from all the gadgets and relax but if Wifi is a selling point for you, just FYI.

There were other small things that but they seem too trifling to bring up so I will leave it there with some of the bigger pros and cons listed. Have a great trip if you do decide to go here or anywhere else in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay in Condovac.
We are always looking forward to improve our services, therefore, we really appreciate your review.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Condovac la Costa in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Though not the 5 star hotel I am used in the US, it was a great place to stay while visiting Costa Rica. Clean, good service and a small, but nice pool area. The best part of the resort the employees. They are so sweet and helpful. We loved Josette & Lewis!!

Room Tip: Choose in the 400's. There is a steep hill up to the lobby and pool and down to the beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morton4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We really appreciate your review, it is very important for us.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards.
Club y Hotel Condovac La Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of September and had a wonderful time. The place was much nicer than we expected (I note that some of the other reviews are not that good). The place was clean and perfectly equipped considering this is not a hotel room but rather a Condo which people occupy by the week. Our week was very nice - the vacationers are mostly Costa Rican and the atmosphere is quite family - don't go here if you are expecting a club scene and want to go out clubbing every night. Perfect for folks who want to do tours/pool/beach by day (they have an infinity pool with a fantastic ocean view) and have a quiet dinner at home or at the restaurant at night and then sit on the balcony of the condo to sip wine and enjoy the ocean view and the sound of the waves.

I would definitely go again and recommend Condovac to my friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your review is very important for us, we really appreciate it.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

El servicio de parte del personal es excelente, la comida muy rica, así como los tragos.
Las habitaciones aunque cuidadas, se ven anticuadas, los pisos desgastados por el paso de los años.
Ofrece internet wifi, pero la señal es mala desde la habitación. Es necesario salir y levantar el gatget al cielo para captar algo y poder revisar el correo o navegar.

The service from the staff is excellent, the food is delicious and the drinks. The rooms although maintained, are outdated, floors faded by the years.
Offers free wifi, but the signal is bad from the room. You need to get out and lift the gatget the sky to capture something and be able to check your mail or browse.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario. Siempre estamos buscando la manera de mejorar nuestros servicios. Esperamos que nos visite pronto. Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our condo was very nice with a beautiful view of the ocean. The staff was extremely friendly and the food was very good. Due to our vacation being during the green season (off season for Costa Rica), the resort was under renovation so many activities and restaurants weren't available but the staff did a nice job trying to mix up the food menu in the main restaurant. Our vacation was made by tour guide Herson Segura who has rights at the resort and it's beach area. Herson can be contacted at herson03@yahoo.com to make excursion plans. He truly was awesome and we are so thankful the Condovac la Costa allows him to help their guests while staying at the resort. The resort is built on a steep hill, which made walking to the main attraction patio or the beach quite a work out but they do have shuttles every 10 minutes to assist. RCI does not recommend the resort for elderly or handicapped people; however, my elderly mother was with us and they resort accommodated her needs very well as did Herson. She had a wonderful time too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miknan2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Condovac.

We're always looking forward to improving our services, so we really appreciate your review.

Best regards,
Condovac La Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
1.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Property: Hotel Condovac la Costa
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing