We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Condovac la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Big Canoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just returned from Costa Rica. It's a environmentally natural country. At first you're taken back, but the resort is in a great place, the staff is wonderful, the grounds and beach are very well maintained. The units, while being olde,r are complete and very comfortable; full kitchen, and the beds are comfortable. You have to remember that you are in nature with many of the local animals; monkey's, birds and other animals, which you can sit on your balconey and enjoy. The sunsets are beautiful

Take peoples advise and use Mardigi tours, Mark was great and the tour is well done. DO NOT take Plus Popagayo. They sell you a "deal" at the Tours and Information Center in Coco Beach ( Eduardo is a fast talker) We didn't get all the things he promised. Worse yet the tour group (Plus Papagayo) has problems. The tour to Monteverde took 17 hours! first the van broke down south of Liberia (no brakes). Thank goodness we were on flat ground, not in the mountains. We had to wait an hour for the next van. Overall it took 6 hours to get to the rain forest (a 3 + hour trip) Roads are primative (rough), but we were kept to a speed of ~20KPM. We found the reason the tires were bald. They had to change to the spare before decending. We took a short cut then blew a second tire. Stranded in the mountains (at dusk) we finally got wonderful local help. Great experience but could have been a real problem.
Condovac and Mardigi made the vacation wonderful

Room Tip: We had Room 605 with a good view and close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    234
    94
    23
    16
See reviews for
190
175
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

after reading several reviews on rci and trip advisor we booked a week here at condovac.expectations were too high.the place is worn and old.
cons....you pay for the use of the safe on a daily bases.the shuttle does not always run if there is an event here so you must walk up and down from the beach,very hilly.one restaurant,just so,so.facilities around the pool need updating.
plus side...pretty area,friendly helpful staff,ok beach,rooms ok and clean.
you will need a car if you wish to go anywhere else.
we are still here.

Room Tip: rooms 500 thru 600
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was in Costa Rica the month of February. Condo vac is a family resort. They have many activities for kids and adults. The view of the ocean is awesome! The kids that work there are the best., they put on a show 3 nights a week after they have worked all day. They always have a smile on there face and want to make sure you are happy. Eduardo,Enrique ,Ingrid,Dinia, and Miguel are such a great asset to the resort!

Helpful?
Thank bikeplaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friend booked this hotel to celebrate her birthday. When she arrived before me, she found the rooms dirty, including stained bedspreads, sandy couch, and dirty floors. After speaking to the front desk, housekeeping quickly resolved the issue, however, it was ridiculous to even need to bring it to their attention. Then, walking down the hill to the beach, almost all of the beach chairs were broken and chained together under the trees for shade with no option to sit out in the sun. The staff barely spoke English and the resort welcome brochure was in Spanish only. Stingy with towels (that were worn-out) and unable to provide a hairdryer for the entire stay of our vacation. The most disturbing issue was booking a 60 minute massage which was advertised as 2 x $50 on an English "coupon." When my friend was unable to make her massage, I showed up and layed on an uncomforable table mostly face down while the woman massaging me was at times pushing my face further down in the hole with her body weight and literally wiped the oil off of me with paper towels. Gross! When I came out to pay, I was charged $45 although if my friend was there, it would have been $25/each. Then, I saw a Spanish coupon advertising the same package but 2 x $40 ($10 less!!!). When I pointed it out, the woman called her manager and he offered me my massage for $35. It was completely unethical and left a very bad taste in my mouth. The few pluses include beautiful view from the infinity pool, good food at the restaurant (although casual), and close walk to the beach. However, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinbeck
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a great time in Costa Rica. Stayed in the 400 block of rooms. We were about 1.5 blocks from the beach and the walk to the restaurant was quite a climb. We didn't mind as we needed the exercise. They had shuttles if you didn't want the exercise. We ate at the restaurants on the beach which I thought the food was expensive for what we got. Too late we realized that we should eat at the local sodas in which the food was excellent and very inexpensive.
Took the Arinal, Nicaragua, watched the sea turtles lay eggs, and went to the cloud forest. Used Mardigi Tours and were very satisfied. They are more expensive but worth it as the tour vehicles were vans so we got to meet the other tourists. The guides were friendly and fluent in English.
Going to Nicaragua was the tour we enjoyed the most.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent 1 week at this property which was situated steps from the beach. The grounds were well-kept and the room always clean and tidy. Lots of wildlife on the grounds. They do make you do an inventory on arriving and it is checked on departure, so make sure what is not there when you check in is reported to the desk. I would shop at large grocery stores in Coco Beach for any food supplies because, as you might expect, the prices in stores on the property and close by are more expensive. Because of the hilly surroundings, they do provide a shuttle service for those who chose to use it which runs frequently so there is no worry if you miss one. The best thing about the resort was the fact that Mardigi Tours is located in their lobby. They offer shuttle service to and from the airport and their tours are worth every penny, chock full of information and interesting facts about the country and culture. Palo Verde, Nicaragua and Monteverde rain forest were amazing. They have the most well-organized tour staff. Would definitely recommend this location and Mardigi Tours.

Room Tip: Room in 500's, was a good uphill hike back to the front desk but shuttles are very frequent if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great family hotel just steps from the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, islands, boats and dive sites. It is an excellent option for RCI and the rooms are designed to sleep 6. Two double beds in bedroom, 2 couch beds in the living room, kitchen area. They have added many 2nd floors to some of the original 104 units giving even a better ocean & sunset view. Best sunset view is at the restaurant, fabulous, Daily scuba diving, adventure tours, sailing.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs unit close to the beach in 500's 600' 700's. Tram stop right ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBeardCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
1.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Property: Hotel Condovac la Costa
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing