We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else in Playa Hermosa”
Review of Villa Acacia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Acacia
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Villa Acacia as part of our Costa Rican honeymoon. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. From the moment we first arrived, Alex at the front desk was friendly and welcoming. He and the rest of the staff were always willing to answer our questions and make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

We stayed in one of the Villas, which were like private little bungalows with a bed, kitchen, great bathroom, plenty of closet space, and 2 rocking chairs on the front patio. The pool was beautiful and the grounds were pristine and frequently landscaped.

We initially had a reservation at the Condovac la Costa (beware), but moved to Villas Acacia after the first night. I can say, without a doubt, that it saved our honeymoon.

Thank you Alex and Villa Acacia!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sa002g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2007

AWESOME place to stay in playa hermosa guanacaste. staff are wonderful, clean, clean!! beautiful grounds! will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lestie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We were double booked at hotel el veloro and ended up at villa acacia. We were very pleased that we ended up in this hotel. The pool was great, the villa clean and the service good.

The villa have a little kitchen which helps when you travel with kids.

One remark, the receptionist was not very knowledgable regarding activities around town. We ended up going to el veloro for all our bookings

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nb+kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

I spent a week at Villa Acacia with a friend and 3 teenage girls between July 27 and August 3, 2005, at the beginning of a 15 day stay in Costa Rica. We traveled by local bus or taxi as we moved around the counry. (An interesting and fun way to see Costa Rica that my oldest daughter has done before).

I rented two villas for our group during the week long stay. This is definitely the most comfortable and enjoyable place I had ever stayed in all of my travels. Bathroom amenities are phenomenal. The kitchen is well equipped and the furnishings are very comfortable--right down to the rocking chairs on the front porch for evening drinks. My girls agree. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the pool is always spotless, and the villas are immaculately cleaned every day. None of us ever had a complaint about anything. Breakfasts are wonderful. (Ask for a fruit smoothie some time. They are not included in the breakfast, but are well worth the small cost.)

The owner lives on the premises, and his son (who was the architect behind the design of both the building and grounds) was visiting during our stay. Both of them went out of their way to make our stay at Villa Acacia the perfect vacation. They solved transportation problems for us, made suggestions about good places to visit, things to do, and recommended restaurants.

The staff at Villa Acacia was quietly friendly, very efficient and hard working. They promptly dealt with every request we had. Some of the staff lives on site, which was fortunate for us because we did not arrive the first night until almost 10 PM. Two members of the staff were waiting for our arrival in the on site restaurant. They greeted us with smiles, took our luggage to our villas and told us to register the next morning because we were so tired. (We arrived by Tican bus and never had the opportunity to let the staff know we would be arriving very late). I still don't know how they knew.

We found Playa Hermosa to be an entertaining and fun place to visit for a week. I don't mean to say that this is an action packed location of night life and partying. The beach is very clean, not overcrowded, but with no wave action to speak of. Snorkeling is fun, and there are boats on site that can be chartered for sailing or fishing. Even so, my action seeking girls were entertained and had fun every day. There were no complaints of boredom from any of them.

A week long stay at the Villa Acacia/Playa Hermosa with no complaints speaks well for this location. Stay a couple of days, or more, and find out for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PNWresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

I'm so glad I actually found this Hotel and you want to know why? Well it's very simple, this place is actually a little peace of heaven in Guanacaste, It's a precious place all surrounded by great gardens full of nice details and lot's of style. The villas are absolutely wonderful, they have all what you need and much more considering you're at the beach, far away from you're daily city accomodations.

About the service all I can say is that, the employees are absolutely committed to their jobs, they are very friendly and very respectful, and also very helpful in case you need to know were to go out for dinner or what activities you can try during the day. Something else I liked a lot, was that they actually have their own transportation, so basically they can drive you anywhere you like as part of the service the hotel gives.

So I guess I told you to much, so what you're wayting for, come to Villa Acacia and have the best an most relaxing experience of you're life..

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOGOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ventura, California
16
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We had an incredible vacation in Costa Rica but were completely disappointed by Villa Acacia and the Playa Hermosa beach. Beware previous positive ratings. The beach was overrun by teens playing loud music, partying, and very family unfriendly activities. Our villa was very dirty, full of bugs, and we had to practically beg for soap. It took three requests and an hour to wait for the soap. Do your self a favor and thoroughly research this spot. We used the previous Trip Advisor rankings to choose this and the other two places we stayed. We had an incredible vacation at Sueno del Mar in Tamarindo and Punta Islita. Luckily we had only booked one night in the disappointing Villa Acacia hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, WI
221
Reviewed May 17, 2005

February 2005 I experienced two wonderful weeks at the Villa Acacia. Friendly and helpful staff and Ticos. Delicious breakfast included. Villa cleaned everyday. Sparkling clean pool and grounds. Internet cafe in the open air restaurant. One block from ocean and grocery market and several restaurants. I can't wait to go back. LK WI

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Acacia

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Acacia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an extensive garden with endemic fauna, sun terrace, swimming pool and free Wi-Fi throughout, Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel is located 70 metres from the beach. Guests at Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel will enjoy breakfast that they can choose between an American breakfast and Costa-Rican food breakfast for an extra fee. They can also find a variety of restaurants within 2 minutes' walk. This property is 10 minutes' drive from Coco Beach and 20 minutes' drive from Daniel Oduber International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Villa Acacia Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing