We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Hotspot: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Sueno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa del Sueno
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Hotspot: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

At the risk of sounding arrogant, our business has afforded us the pleasure of having friends in high places (and low places – thank-you Garth Brooks) throughout Costa Rica. As a result, we are often invited to visit particular areas of the country and trial-test tours and activities. We do this year-round, however despite these perks, Ricky and I opt to spend our precious (and rare) vacation time exploring new Costa Rican territory discovered upon a whim – whether this be a corner of the country we have not yet visited, a new accommodation option in a town we are already familiar with, or a restaurant, local attraction, or unique shop that we happen to hear about through the grapevine. On one of our most recent vacations, Ricky and I headed to Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste (not to be confused with Playa Hermosa, Puntarenas). We found ourselves relaxing at a “beautiful beach” (the English translation of “Playa Hermosa”).

Our accommodation of choice was Villa Del Sueno. In my opinion, this hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to the beach – not directly on the water (so you avoid the noise created by beach-goers), yet only a short two minute walk away (offering visitors a much more remote hotel atmosphere and tranquil environment). For those with rented vehicles, parking is widely available on-site (parking is also free), and the hotel is only a few minutes from a supermarket and restaurants. Staple amenities include a pool, free WI-FI internet service (although I was able to surf the net from our room, I found the strongest signal near the lobby/pool area), and an on-site restaurant and bar. Extra bonuses include the friendly hotel staff and nightly live music (think calm and relaxing lounge vibes, not karaoke or rock n’ roll beats).

Villa Del Sueno is a beautiful oasis hidden amongst natural greenery. The property is quiet and is designed to allow travellers to bask in the peacefulness by offering quaint sitting areas outside each room, an outdoor lounge area close to the pool, and indoor/outdoor seating at the restaurant. In addition, we thoroughly enjoyed the on-site food (try the Pasta Mama Mia for dinner). Overall, the small hotel property, its clean and charming rooms offering visitors the basics, helpful hotel staff, and competitive hotel rates make Villa Del Sueno a favourite of ours worth a mention in the northern Guanacaste region.

Truth be told, the entire Playa Hermosa area is a favourite of ours. There is something about this part of the country that is just our cup of tea. It lacks the tourism offered by popular beaches such as Manuel Antonio, Jaco, and Tamarindo (which is great for those who are looking for a beach to relax at, although not ideal for those who are looking to have access to tours and/or watersports).Playa Hermosa is arguably best suited for an older audience (especially when compared to beach towns such as Puerto Viejo and Montezuma that tend to draw a younger crowd), and fortunately it remains a clean and relatively crowd-free beach for visitors to enjoy. In addition, the sand is unscathed by rocks or shells, the water is warm, and the sunsets are beautiful. All in all, a great spot to retreat to from beaches Tamarindo, Conchal, or Flamingo (to the south), Monteverde or La Fortuna (to the east), or else Liberia (home to one of Costa Rica’s two international airports) which is conveniently situated only 45 minutes from this hidden hotspot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CostaRicaTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    92
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
133
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

In March 2013, we were without a hotel and Villa del Sueno had a suite available. We enjoyed every minute there and I fell asleep in the hammock while reading. Peaceful and quiet, while sitting on patio, with soft lighting at night. Bathroom is large , lots of towels supplied.
Kitchen is well supplied, range and fridge worked great.
Pool area makes for nice pictures, and good for a relaxing dip. Rooms are comfortable, with lots of closet space. No internet to villa, which is a pain but sitting in the restaurant lounge with laptop was fine. All around this was a pleasant place not far from the beach. Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: lower level is better access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 7 nights from April 7, 2013-April 14, 2013. We not only stayed at Villa del Sueno, we got married there and spent our honeymoon there. Sylvia, one of the owners of the property, is absolutely a wonderful person! She takes great pride in her property! And Leo and Christian at the front desk… they are the BEST! Super accommodating, top notch people! Randall who served our wedding dinner was top notch! Villa del Sueno is a beautiful place to stay. Great rooms, super clean, and a great looking property. Every morning and every evening we would take the short walk down to the beach which was just awesome. We would wake up every morning to birds chirping. When we return to Costa Rica someday, we’ll be sure to return to Villa del Sueno. No doubt, we loved everything about it. Book with them today!
-Dave and Cindy Smith

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmartChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed for 9 nights (3/23 to 4/1 2013). I reserve this vacation way back September 2012 when it offered bonus (free breakfast) on BOOKIT.COM. Make sure free breakfast is included on your printed voucher. If not complain (BOOKIT.COM) like I did before leaving and it will be arranged. The WIFI is only accessible in the main building (restaurant and pool area) also there is no TV in the room I stayed. The free breakfast is being served by waiters in the main building (7AM- 9:30AM). You need to give the free breakfast ticket given by reception on arrival. Always free coffee and there are 2 menu choices for breakfast Continental (small sliced of assorted fruits, cakes, yogurt with cereal and orange juice) or Tipico (hot rice mixed with black beans, 2 eggs and orange juice). The hotel looks and feels like a time share villas. The beach is five minutes walk and super market (Super Mercado) is 12 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel. It is best to book an activity that picks up on the hotel (with lunch or dinner included) including round trip airport/hotel pickup to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonrays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here mid December and left on the 23rd, supposed to be high season but felt like a ghost town. Staff was friendly and accommodating, we were located across the street in one of the upstairs rooms. Not a soul in sight, had the entire pool to ourselves on the villa side. The room was spacious and clean, only complaint were the large ants that roam the floor and walls at night. I don't think they bite but they are a bit of a nuisance.

The walk to the beach was not too far, although a bit tiring at times with the heat it isn't but 5 minutes down the road. The sailing trip part of the honeymoon package was very nice, was about a four trip that included lunch and snorkeling. Highly recommended to book through the hotel.

The hotel breakfast was very nice. Dinner at the hotel was also one of the best meals in Costa Rica, sure beats beans, rice and chicken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NivekKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 5 nights (3/24 to 3/29) and loved this place. From the minute we arrived, the people were so friendly and went out of their way to help us. Christian and the other 2 guys at the front desk were so nice and extremely helpful to us, as we planned all our excursions by the seat of our pants basically. The place was extremely well cared for, pool and grounds. Just an fyi: if you need a hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge, alarm clock/radio, or TV, we had the superior room and none of this was in our room, which didnt bother us at all. Also, the beds are not the comfiest, and linens are old. There is AC in the rooms though. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic, and Ronnie was a great waiter, super nice guy. We stayed for dinner one night, Tuesday, when there is live music. It was pricey but the food was good. The drinks are not cheap, so head to Coco beach via $12 taxi (the guys at the front desk call for you and they pick you up in 5min) and get the best drinks at Coconutz, they are fantastic. The beach is about a 5min walk and we didn't mind a bit. If you meet Adolfo on the beach, take him up on the offer to go snorkeling with him, he is the best, great guy. We went on the day tour (Coco tours)to Rincon National Park, we were the only 2, along with our tour guide, Carlos who was fantastic also. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikingchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Pond
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Villa Del Sueno last week (3-9-13) for dinner and had a fantastic time. Food was excellent as usual and Claude, the owner was on stage with his band. What a night! Half of the restaurant was dancing by the end of the night. It was great fun for all. Villa Del Sueno has been a staple for us since we have been going down to Costa Rice for 6 years now. Never a bad time. In December I had my entire family down and we all went in for dinner. Everyone, even the kids had a grab time and meal. Thank you Claude and Sylvia!

Room Tip: We didn't stay there but I am sure if the restaurant is that nice so are the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Sueno

Property: Villa del Sueno
Address: | 150 meters from Playa Hermosa Beach, Playa Hermosa 39-5019, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa del Sueno 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: 4 Hours north of San Jose. Playa Hermosa, northwest province of Guanacaste. A 25 minutes drive from Liberia International Airport. Playa Hermosa: A 1.2 km. sandy bay protected by volcanic rock formations on either end. Ideal for swimming, kayaking, snorkelling and diving enthusiasts. Hotel Description: 43 rooms set amidst tropical gardens, nestled in the heart of Playa Hermosa. 150 meters from beach. Mediterranean style buildings surround freshwater pools (2), thatched bar, open-air gourmet restaurant . Restaurant Villa del Sueno: Romantic open-air setting, restaurant or garden seating available. Features Mediterranean inspired gourmet cuisine. Noted for excellent service and live dinner music presentations. Serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa del Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sueno
Del Sueno Hotel
Villa Del Sueno Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing