We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Velero
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel ManGaby(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$138
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Condovac la Costa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel & Villas Huetares(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$127
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Acacia(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$120
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Sueno(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
209
151
51
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
151
51
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstacobarbecue nightcosta ricagreat food and servicesmall poolwatch the sunsetbeach frontbeautiful beachrooms are comfortableliberia airportair conditioninglaid backhowler monkeysclose to the airportcommon areasmahi mahirestaurant bar
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 450 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We did not stay at this hotel but talked to others that were happy with their accomodations. We went to their restaurant for lunch and had also eaten light snacks there in the past. The location is right on the beach and you have a perfect view of the boats coming and going, and people enjoying the water. It feels as if the staff/owners have taken this for granted and allowed their food to become secondary, at best. Two of us had fish sandwiches and one had the nachos. The nachos were average but the price tag didn't match the quality. The fish sandwiches were terrible! The fish must have been a 4 oz portion and only covered the one side of the white bread it was served on. Totally tasteless and cost 3, 300 colones, which doesn't include the mandatory 23% tip and tax. So, almost $10 for a tasteless, bland, uninsipired sandwich with fries. Would have been better buying fish sticks and serving them on white bread for a quarter of the price. The waiter was rushed and had no assistance, which made me feel bad for him. However, when you are paying resort prices you expect some level of service and he was unable to provide that. We had to go in search of a fork when he was rushing from table to table. If you want a quick snack and drink in a lovely spot this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jatade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Picture-perfect sunsets, exquisite cuisine (fantastic fresh pineapple slices, and mahi-mahi with choron sauce were my favourites), friendly and extremely helpful staff who make you feel like family, and the wonderful second-floor verandas complete with rockers, wicker chairs and a catch-all library . . . these are just a few of the highlights from our trip two weeks ago that was the perfect antidote to months of working overtime. The relaxed, easy atmosphere was precisely what my husband, my 18-year-old daughter and I relished. We didn't want a resort where staff hustled to get you to partake in activities all the time. Instead, we took things at our own pace, enjoying a day of sailing and snorkeling aboard the hotel's sailboat a few days after we arrived, then a few days later had a fabulous time during a full-day excursion to Monteverde Cloud Forest in the mountains, where we went zip-lining during a canopy tour of the forest. (I highly recommend Alejandro Rodriguez Gomez, a naturalist tour guide in the area. Hotel El Velero organized the trip for us. They can arrange for you to do tours with a number of operators, not just Papagayo Vargas Tours, which is listed on the hotel's website.) We had a wonderful time and would definitely return to Hotel El Velero again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We enjoyed Joshua helping us although he did seem exhausted many times working many many hours. I felt bad for him; thinking he needed a brain break and personal time. Yet, he still was there every time he noticed we sat down and helping us with every question.

Marcel from the boat journey was absolutely wonderful and kind! He took special care of our family! The captain was also kind, but he seemed more shy or quiet.

The beach is nice and warm water! Very very nice to walk. The area is still able to inhabited by locals. I pray the government protects them, so it doesn't loose is local Tico feel. Remember during the dry season this area is arid with little to NO green.

We love the Veranda where we met other people staying and enjoyed a group sailing adventure with all of them. Now, we have more new traveling friends from the US and abroad.

The only suggested improvements that we suggest new beds and give a discount if the people don't snorkel on a cruise or use their own equipment.

You can see Howler Monkeys to the south of the hotel in the mango trees. Be aware one night of 3 the Howler Monkeys came to the hotels mango tree and fought on the roof! It was exciting and memorable to say the least!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I was there with my daughter and 6 of my friends. We had a great time. The beach was real close. Hotel staff nice. We also took a sail boat ride through the hotel. All 8 of us 5 hours of boating, snorkeling, lunch snack and drinks. $67. each well worth it. You must eat at the Costa Rica restaurant around the corner. Awesome food $6 breakfast $7 for dinner. typical Costa Rica food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The hotel is right on the beautiful Playa Hermosa beach. The service is friendly and the atmosphere laid back. The water is calm and the beach a great place to relax. The food was also very good. Our only disappointment, after supper there is no entertainment and that we were unable to go on the El Velero sailboat as there needed to be a minimum of four people. We had hoped for some local music at least on the weekends. The staff were great, and helped us set up a couple of tours including a wonderful snorkle trip. We will be back if we get lucky enough to return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews