We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never let's us down”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
hargirl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“never let's us down”
Reviewed November 25, 2009

This was our third trip to the Hotel El Velero. Each time we have brought different friends.
Although it is not a five star, it is always dependably clean and the service wonderful.
The staff will remember you from trip to trip. Management is always visible and ready to meet all our your needs. The food is very good and plentiful with reasonable prices.
It is well located and close to many other restaurant and activities.
Our groups have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    139
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
95
173
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We came to this beach right after landing in Liberia. It is very convenient: about 25 minute drive from the airport. It is right on a black sand beach. Price is average: not a real bargain.
They have a small clean pool in the middle of the hotel. At the end of the beach: a tidal pool. You will not be able to find much on the rocks except crabs and hermit crabs. However, if you snorkel, there is treasure in the water. Water is calm. My husband saw long nose gar, small sharks, sting ray, moray eel, some little eels that peaked out of sand, and a bunch of other fishes. On the other hand, most of us were stung by jellyfish around the tidal pool. It stings the first few minutes or so, in a few hours the rash completely disappeared without any treatment.
For some reason, it does not bother my hubby at all. However, the kids refused to get into the water again. If you swim on the beach, there is no danger of jellyfish stings.
The rooms are clean. Very interesting decor. Dinner is overpriced. Food is nothing great. Front desk helpful.
The water is clear and calm; thus pretty safe to young children ( my daughter is only 7 yo).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My family and I were scheduled to stay at Hotel El Velero for 3 nights and then push on to other destinations. But my back went out and I could not travel. They accomodated my need for 3 more days in the same room (204) which we found very comfortable. Being a first time visitor to the country I needed help finding professionals like chiropractor, masseuse and pharmacist, etc. The staff helped me make good choices.
Additionally, I was lucky to be at the El Velero because of its location (on the beach), restruant (good food) and friendly bar. A great place to rehabilitate

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank See-the-w0rld-n0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, MS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Yes the hotel in on the beach and if you have a room up front above the check-in desk ( and there are only 2 such rooms #211 and #212) you will be able to hear the ocean waves.
The room was not that bad and the beds were comfortable, but the pillows were very small and uncomfortable.
The staff was not so friendly and did not seem to care if you were there or somewhere else.
Hotel really need some good old fashion cleaning. Had not been painted in many years and the patio furniture was very rough. The pool was also nasty and needed a good paint job. The grounds were also in needed a lot of attention.
This could be a very nice place, but someone is not doing what needs to be done.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

If you want the Four Seasons, this hotel isn't for you. But, if you want to be a step from the beach, friendly people, clean enough room, this is your hotel. The location really is right on the beach and it was just beautiful. The restaurant is good. Reasonably priced, but not inexpensive by any means. All the food was good though. The balcony area with the rocking chairs is very nice. It was relaxing to just sit in the breeze, watch the waves, and read. We even saw monkeys three feet from us while sitting there. It is a short cab ride to Playa de Coco (nightlife) and it is about 10 dollars. There are restaurants in the area that you can walk to though so you aren't stuck at the hotel or anything.

The only negative was that the power kept going out. It went out multiple times throughout the day, making setting the clock worthless. The air conditioning also went out with the power which made being in the room uncomfortable. Sitting on the beach you are innundated by time share offers and locals selling their goods. Most are very respectful when you say you are not interested and do not push at all though. We did hook up with one of the beach salesman to go snorkling - 25 a person so it was a good deal. We also could have got a half day of fishing for 120.00 for two people.

When we went there were two stray kitties that lived around the hotel. They are both really skinny. The first was a black/brown one that was a bit skittish but loved being fed, even cauliflower! The second was a tabby and he was so nice and friendly - I wanted to bring him home. I went to the grocery store and bought them some food....if you stay there and see them, please say hi for me!!!

The stars were beautiful on the beach as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkeytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2009

I'd been looking at several hotels over the internet, and most had very good photographers. After nearly two weeks of winging it around Costa Rica with my buddy, we arrived at my chosen detination of Ocatal and quickly decided it was non-existent. Playa Coco was excellent if you are after non stop party, but we were mid forties dudes after a bit of a quieter retreat- we limited our partying to about 4 hours a night max.
Playa Hermosa fits the scene perfectly. There's no surf, just dumpers, but so what, you want surf -head to Nosara.
El Velero is a perfect spot for me. Great staff, great location. Our room was a bit smelly from plumbing the first day, but it was fixed promptly. 6 klicks from the nightlife, good food and happy hour and a Beneteau yacht for rent if you want it. What more could you want? BTW, take the bulb out of the hallway light, we did.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OckerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Spent our first night in Costa Rica here - it is only about a 25 minute drive from the airport. The staff is friendly and the restaurant was excellent, This hotel is beachfront and met all our expectations. The owner is a Canadian named Mike - he will sit and fill you in on all your questions. The room was good and had a safe in the closet.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpilat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
536 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing