We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Playa Hermosa”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

While searching for a reasonably priced hotel on the beach in Playa Hermosa, I came across El Velero. On arrival, I found a friendly, quiet, older hotel right on the beach with everything we required - clean, spacious rooms with air conditioning, wi-fi, safe. I had booked 2 rooms, one with a king bed, one with 2 queens and both were comfortable - located on the second floor. There is a veranda overlooking the beach on this floor with comfortable seating as well as a number of books for reading. We spent our evening after dinner just enjoying the sound of the surf and an evening shower complete with a fireworks-like display courtesy of a huge lightning strike in the ocean. While breakfast is not included with the room, there is a restaurant which also offers nightly specials. Definitely on our "places to return" list.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Velero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

A quaint cozy hotel with a beautiful beach and fantastic reasonably priced dining. The staff were a cheerful and eager to please team of professionals. Management was eager to assist with our excursions and activities. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This place was amazing.....not a five star by any means but the owner and staff made up for any luxuries the hotel lacked. Clean, friendly and on the beach. The food was outstanding as well. We had stayed at an all inclusive up the beach but were forced to extend our stay when the hurricanes hit Miami and our flight was canceled. What a find.... a third of the price and a way better experience....If I do it again this is where I will be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falconer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We enjoyed a breakfast and lovely dinner while on a family vacation. The "Typical breakfast" was great with wonderful fruit and the juices were especially tasty, We came back for dinner a few nights later and sat at a table on the beach to enjoy the sunset. The seafood was terrific - very fresh and prepared just right. My husband had yellow fin tuna - cooked exactly as he requested and well seasoned. Service was attentive but not intrusive, making the whole experience enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 52Beckyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Made reservations for one night, enjoyed it so much we decided to stay 2 nights on our grand tour of Costa Rica. Staff was very friendly and helpful, food and drinks were wonderful-taco night while we were there-the beach was great...right off the bar/restaurant and not crowded at all. Best place we stayed in on our 10 day trip.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel, going out for day trips and enjoying the beautiful beach and sunset each night. Rooms are comfortable with good A/C which is extremely important here and there were nice touches. The bed was also comfortable. The pool/restaurant/beach area is very welcoming and enjoyable. Downside is that breakfast is not included, but we did end up having breakfast at the hotel and it was good. There was an evening with live entertainment, which was very low key and entertaining. We did not see any other hotel on this beach that was better than the El Velero, and it was good value.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This has to be the most charming small hotel on a beach in Playa Hermosa! The food is wonderful. And the staff are absolutely awesome! They make me feel so much at home when I'm there. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#7 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $98 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing