We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect little getaway...very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway...very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was originally planning to got to Nicaragua this year for Spring Break, but a friend suggested Playa Hermosa to me and El Velero. I checked out their website and then of course, Trip Advisor. It looked like the price was right, it was on the beach and so we called the hotel directly and booked our room. I could not have been happier with our choice. The staff were exceptionally friendly. It was as if we had known Luis, Joshua and Mike for years, not days. Our room was perfectly acceptable, two queen beds a closet, tv and bathroom. Every morning we woke up to the sound of the howler monkeys in the trees. Very cool! The hotel is right on the beach and the sunsets are fantastic. It is super convenient that the hotel has a restaurant and the food is really good. I thought the prices were very reasonable. We stayed for a week and our tab for our meals was around $600 for a family of four. Our kids had dessert every night...after all, it was vacation! The girls LOVED the brownie sundae. My favorite was BBQ night - I couldn't resist the Mahi-Mahi...it was charcoal grilled and served with garlic butter. Probably about the best fish I've ever eaten. It was served with steamed vegetables and mashed potatoes. Super delicious! We had a great time and I hated to leave, but we will definitely go back again some day. Our kids had fun in the pool and we felt that they were always very safe at the hotel, even when we weren't directly supervising them. The beach is beautiful, but take note, this is volcanic sand and not the white, sugary sand that you find in the caribbean. Monkeys are everywhere in the trees next door...everyday we watch a family of about 12 monkeys eating mangoes and jumping around in the trees. My girls loved this experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    112
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
75
122
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The El Velero is an excellent hotel right on the beach in Playa Hermosa. It has the Miami 1962 feel. It has a laid back vibe, excellent staff and the food in the hotel restaurant is excellent. Wednesdays and Saturdays is barbecue night. I recommend the red snapper and for lunch try the burger. All in all this hotel has everything, the sunsets on the beach are amazing as is the swimming and boogie boarding. There is nothing fancy about this hotel but if you want location and good value for your money El Velero is the place to stay in beautiful Playa Hermosa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebStoneyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Right on the beach. Terrific staff.Excellent kitchen with options for American breakfast or Costa Rican breakfast. VERY reasonably priced at $75/night. Families or retired people seem to constitute the bulk of the guests. Rooms are simple, but clean,quiet, and spacious. The beach is great for collecting shells, jogging, swimming, and more. Playa del coco isn't a long drive for a quick change of pace with lots of restaurants, bars and tchotke shopping. Good happy hour prices and great local music playing in the background. The hotel looks a little tired but in a good way...like your favorite pair of worn, comfy shoes. A great place to relax, kick back and leave it all behind.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back are quieter but don't have a view of the beach. But the hotel itself is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tumptee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, nj
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Have had several stops here for lunch and dinner. It is a hotel but also a restaurant and bar. Right on the beach, place isn't fancy but it is nice, reasonable rates and great food. Had dinner looking out at the beautiful sunset on a Wednesday night which happens to be one of their bbq nights. It isn't the Four Seasons but if you want to feel like you're actually in Costa Rica try it. The staff is super and there is such a relaxed feeling. Just sit around as long as you want, watch the sunset, the serf, talk and have a beer. Have noticed several families with kids there and they really seem to enjoy the pool and the sea.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kman147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Right on the beach. Clean, open rooms and friendly staff. Good happy hour specials without being like a noisy, boozy bar (when we were there it was mostly families and retired folks). Very nice, safe beach with an even more calm beach just two kilometers north. Breakfast is not included as it was at the other place where we stayed- it will run you between $6-$10. Also the veggies weren't very good here as they were in the mountains, but the fruit was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Booking this hotel seemed like a bit of a risk, but it turned out to be a winner! The hotel restaurant was ON THE BEACH. The rooms were clean and roomy, but no views. The vibe was super relaxed. Travel to and from airport and excursions was simple, but we didn't really want to leave the beach. Playa Hermosa seemed to be enjoyed by many local families, it was simple to walk the entire crescent shaped area, and the water was clean and easy to swim.
Pros: LOCATION, price, friendliness, cleanliness.
Cons: small pool, unreliable hot water.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninadg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

On.line booking made this a very good choice.The hotel was clean and had everything we needed. The restaurant was exceptional as verified by the people coming from other hotels along the beach to eat there. The staff was so friendly and helped us make travel arrangements around the province.We will surely stop there when we return to Costa Rica in the near future.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on north side away from parking lot were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing