We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, very good food”

El Velero Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, very good food”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Found this to be the best restaurant along the beach in Playa Hermosa. Only place that did fried or poach eggs, and had the best bacon of all the places we tried. My wife stated their yellow fin tuna was the best fish we had out of the many fish dinners we ate. Loved their Blackberry juice. They were a bit pricey, but the quality was worth it. Only restaurant we found where the waiters watched their guests to make sure they were serviced properly. Spoke English better than most of the other places in the area.

The Restaurant is owned and operated by a people friendly Canadian, so expect to see a lot of Canadians during the cold months of North America.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    92
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hail the Cesar”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A most delicious cesar salad with chicken and also the stir fry. They staff was very welcoming and friendly plus very good service and fair prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views, tasty eats. ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a quick lunch of nachos and cervesa. Beautiful views of the beach, and a great place to people watch.

They advertise a BBQ night which we regretfully were not able to experience.

An easy walk from the far end of the beach near Villa Del Sueno.

Helpful?
Thank standardkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Open Air BBQ”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place has happy hours from 5-7 Very friendly English speaking waiters Also has a open air Bar B Q on Wed and SatGreat place to sit on the beach and watch the sun go down

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank frannie1155040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I love this hotel and restaurant is fantastic. Staff is always kind and very helpful!! BBQ night is awesome. Best lobster ever. I've been coming here since 2006 and never had a bad meal. Always fantastic!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Velero Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Velero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing