We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate a few times here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Velero Restaurant

El Velero Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ate a few times here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We ate dinner twice and plan on breakfast tomorrow. Best ceviche we've eaten in Costa Rica, wonderful place to watch the sunset and on Wednesday nights...it's Barbecue night where the Chef sets up the grill outside and the menu is mostly grilled options. Great staff, and food is terrific...but the casual atmosphere of a beachside haunt without the tourist trap feel!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    88
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BBQ on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoyed the BBQ on the beach very much. Can't beat the atmosphere. The meat/seafood we had was very good but all the sides were mediocre (we found this to be true the entire vacation). The lobster was $32 U.S. Dollars but the shrimp kabob was about $11 which seemed to be a fair price. Very generous portions and cooked well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyEOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious meal con vista bonita!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice setting on the beach. The mahi mahi was cooked perfectly as well as steak! Pleasant customer service as well. Prices very reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wishwewerethere_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beach front wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Watched the sunset from our table and saw the green flash! Ordered lobster that was delicious. Service was great. I wanted to eat at this place again but our trip was too short. Would highly recommend. Also told that they can arrange to cook fish that you might catch and that there is a local bar Pescado Loco behind the beachfront restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The food you get for the money is pretty good at this restaurant. The portion size is big and it is right on the beach. This place also has free wireless so you can catch up with the world while you are waiting for your food. We only at there once and the food was decent. A lot of seafood not many choices for vegetarians.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trupti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Velero Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Velero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing