We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hosts and the Freshest Food”
Review of Mario's Cuisine - CLOSED

Mario's Cuisine
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are a Costarrican family, who love to receive people from around the world for a unique dining experience in Costa Rica. My husband Mario, a Chef for 20 years now, learned his cuisine from Old School International Chef's and from there he created his own Fusion style cuisine, who he really felt identify with. This type of Cuisine its only possible with fresh ingredients of the day, from the salad to the seafood, everything its carefully chosen on a daily basis and from scratch prepare with passion into explosive delicious flavors to the palate. Everyday we create and serve a 4 course dinner in our terrace, where you can also enjoy the breeze, the stars and the beautiful magic of Guanacaste in an intimate ambiance. We required reservations in advance.
New York NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Hosts and the Freshest Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The husband and wife team create a beautiful warm atmosphere, professional, yet chatty. The food is fresh, no cans or frozen items, yet it looks and tastes excellent.

Since this isn't a typical restaurant with a menu choice it's important to clarify exactly what kind of foods one may be allergic to, or perhaps, specify what foods you do like. We got little shrimps on the plate, each with a unique homemade sauce that just looked so tempting, but crustaceans and me don't work together - and I have only myself to blame. The papaya-ginger soup was absolutely terrific, as was the fresh snapper caught earlier in the day.

Call them ahead of time, be specific with what you like, and come ready for an amazing evening. They do breakfasts too, which is something I'd really like to do if I ever get to that part of the world again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shloime E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal of the Trip”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An excellent evening for a small group or couple. Elegant and causal at the same time. Mario and Ericka will work with you to create a memorable dining experience based on your needs and the catch of the day. They have a beautiful dining patio right of the kitchen so it is like eating at the chef's table. You need to make an effort to do this if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding Evening”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Mario and Ericka were the most hospitable hosts - the company was friendly, natural and they made us feel as if we had been friends for years. Mario's cooking and presentation of the 4 course meal was unbelievable. Always willing to share spice "secrets" as we'll as culinary experiences from his vast knowledge of Costa Rica..... The red snapper had been caught that morning, and the papaya ginger soup was outstanding - yes, papaya soup!

Can handle wait to visit again, and see what Mario and Ericka have planned!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing meal at Mario's! We were lucky enough to have the chance to meet Mario, Ericka and the rest of the family. We stayed right across the street, they have 3 really great kids that our daughter loved to play with. Playa Hermosa is very hit or miss on the restaurant scene, with a lot of turnover in chef's. One week a restaurant could be good and the next horrible with a new chef. We went out several times, and our best experience (beside's Mario's) was mediocre. You are guaranteed an amazing meal and experience at Mario's Cuisine. You will learn all about Costa Rica, culture and get great tips on things to do and see. We left with our bellies full of delicious food and with some new friends. Thank you Mario and Ericka!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WisdomRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly excellent!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a great experience! The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. One of my favorite meals during our trip. This isn't just a restaurant, it's their home, so you must make a reservation so they can prepare for you. Ericka and Mario were both so welcoming and they really made this unique experience an enjoyable one. You should definitely check them out if you're in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Cuisine also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing