We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario's Cuisine - CLOSED

Mario's Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Fusion, Healthy, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating
Description: We are a Costarrican family, who love to receive people from around the world for a unique dining experience in Costa Rica. My husband Mario, a Chef for 20 years now, learned his cuisine from Old School International Chef's and from there he created his own Fusion style cuisine, who he really felt identify with. This type of Cuisine its only possible with fresh ingredients of the day, from the salad to the seafood, everything its carefully chosen on a daily basis and from scratch prepare with passion into explosive delicious flavors to the palate. Everyday we create and serve a 4 course dinner in our terrace, where you can also enjoy the breeze, the stars and the beautiful magic of Guanacaste in an intimate ambiance. We required reservations in advance.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

A wonderful culinary experience combined with an intimate cultural exchange. Thank you again Mario and Erika!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MagneticCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A one of a kind experience - best meal you can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a true delight! You meet a wonderful couple and eat the best meal of your life. Mario makes a fabulous dinner using the freshest ingredients. We ate fish caught earlier that day, had a ginger soup that i will never forget and could have lived on his fish cake forever. We were so stuffed but still managed to find room for his specially prepared birthday dessert! My only recommendation, don't eat all day befor you go. If you are near playa hermosa this is a must. Our kids loved making new friends with their kids. A night I won't soon forget

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CUmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best night we had in Costa Rica!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Erika found us on the beach our first morning there and had a reservation open that night and it set the whole tone for our vacation! They have a lovely home and we're so sweet, not to mention the food was AMAZING! If you are in the area it is a MUST!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kturp720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best dining experience in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from our visit with Erika and Mario and not only was it the best food you could imagine but the company was fantastic, Everything was fresh, fresh, fresh and the technique Mario exhibits should rank him as one of the top chefs in the country. The food was perfectly seasoned the the sauces were fantastic.

The atmosphere is unique as you are really not eating at a restaurant but being invited into their home and being made part of the family. I can truly say that we made some friends and will be returning as often as possible for additional doses of both friendship and the best food in Costa Rica.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TerraWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again a fabulous meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I love Costa Rica so much that I went back there again last week and just had to visit Mario's Cuisine in Playa Hermosa and once again was not disappointed! Mario is such a fantastic chef. He prepared fish for dinner that he personally caught that day. Can you imagine how fresh that is?! And everything with it was so delicious! Mario, Ericka and their kids are lovely people and so welcoming and friendly. I feel like part of the family now! I hope to see them again real soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Cuisine also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing