We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best night we had in Costa Rica!!!!”
Review of Mario's Cuisine - CLOSED

Mario's Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Fusion, Healthy, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating
Description: We are a Costarrican family, who love to receive people from around the world for a unique dining experience in Costa Rica. My husband Mario, a Chef for 20 years now, learned his cuisine from Old School International Chef's and from there he created his own Fusion style cuisine, who he really felt identify with. This type of Cuisine its only possible with fresh ingredients of the day, from the salad to the seafood, everything its carefully chosen on a daily basis and from scratch prepare with passion into explosive delicious flavors to the palate. Everyday we create and serve a 4 course dinner in our terrace, where you can also enjoy the breeze, the stars and the beautiful magic of Guanacaste in an intimate ambiance. We required reservations in advance.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best night we had in Costa Rica!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Erika found us on the beach our first morning there and had a reservation open that night and it set the whole tone for our vacation! They have a lovely home and we're so sweet, not to mention the food was AMAZING! If you are in the area it is a MUST!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kturp720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best dining experience in Costa Rica”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from our visit with Erika and Mario and not only was it the best food you could imagine but the company was fantastic, Everything was fresh, fresh, fresh and the technique Mario exhibits should rank him as one of the top chefs in the country. The food was perfectly seasoned the the sauces were fantastic.

The atmosphere is unique as you are really not eating at a restaurant but being invited into their home and being made part of the family. I can truly say that we made some friends and will be returning as often as possible for additional doses of both friendship and the best food in Costa Rica.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TerraWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again a fabulous meal!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I love Costa Rica so much that I went back there again last week and just had to visit Mario's Cuisine in Playa Hermosa and once again was not disappointed! Mario is such a fantastic chef. He prepared fish for dinner that he personally caught that day. Can you imagine how fresh that is?! And everything with it was so delicious! Mario, Ericka and their kids are lovely people and so welcoming and friendly. I feel like part of the family now! I hope to see them again real soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you are in Costa Rica - make it a point to dine with Mario and Erika”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Mario and Erika, without a doubt, have the best dining experience in Costa Rica. However, they bring so much more to the table than amazing food: they bring friendship and warmth.

As a former chef, I can say with confidence that you won't eat a more interesting meal in all of Guanacaste - and perhaps the entire country. Mario's technique is cutting edge, yet his flavors are soulful and draw from a variety of traditional Costa Rican flavors (with a twist). Moreover, Mario's cooking is very healthy - something very hard to accomplish. Cooking with a lot of fat and sugar/salt is easy... anything can become tasty. Mario, on the other hand, makes magic out of diverse and nutritive ingredients.

Beyond the food, Mario and Erika shared with my friends and I the best conversation we have had in a long time... and that is REALLY amazing considering we just met each other. While I cannot say when the next time we will all be in CR is.... I can say we left CR with two great new friends: Mario and Erika.

I hope they make it to the US some day so we can return the favor :)

- Justin/Erin/Andrew

p.s. seriously- don't miss the place.... you've made a bad decision if you pass up this opportunity.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Personal dining experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The only reason I wouldn't give this place a 5 star is because I was expecting it to be an regional Costa Rican food experience. With food that the locals eat in the region. This is however Gourmet Latin Fusion. The aim here is to take the local ingredients and present it in a different way. The soup we had there Papaya Ginger was delicious, so was the salad. The hostess is very down to earth and loves to talk. She will make you feel right at home. Chef Mario will come and sit with you after dinner and answer any questions that you might have. This will be an outdoor seating with a open view to the kitchen, so wear your bug spray before you go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trupti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Cuisine also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing