We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sunset view”
Review of Aqua Sport

Aqua Sport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Management! Beach front restaurant. Second entrance to Playa Hermosa. Open year-round. Liquor license. Open for lunch and dinner.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Fantastic sunset view”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent place to watch the sunset. Great Peruvian and costarican style ceviche. Fantastic live music. Love the tables right on the sand. Overall very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sol4980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    196
    76
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A delightful place to spend the day or watch the sunset.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The service was incredible. Danny was our server and we'll go back because of him. It was almost like being part of the family. We went for drinks and appetizers to watch the sunset. Our calamari plate was perfect. Their mussels on the half shell with a salsa were superb. We've had mixed drinks elsewhere in Guanacoste that seemed watered down but not here. My Margerita on the rocks was well made and had top shelf tequila and quantro and lime as opposed bar brand tequila and syrup mix I've had elsewhere. Their music system was high quality and added to the experience. I suspect they change themes and volume base on the crowd and we loved it. We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeGastonRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice night out”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Some of the fish that was ordered was overcooked. Some was fabulous. Music was great, a bit loud at times, but overall a pleasant rustic venue.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cartwheel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Service, food and location was great. Best ceviche I have ever had! It was busy but the service was great, presentation and selection of food was awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were staying in area for a few weeks and noticed little improvements all the time. New seating area, swing, chairs. Wish they had some sun umbrellas as we couldn't sit with our feet in sand as it was too hot, so had to sit on the deck. The whole fish meal was fresh, and very large portion. I preferred the fish tacos with coconut/ batter--really good. I believe the fish was mahi mahi. Wine selection sparse, but the white was cool and quenching. Best approached from the beach.
Visited a couple of times, service was always good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stonewashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Sport also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 

Been to Aqua Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing