We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A work in progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Sport

Aqua Sport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Management! Beach front restaurant. Second entrance to Playa Hermosa. Open year-round. Liquor license. Open for lunch and dinner.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were staying in area for a few weeks and noticed little improvements all the time. New seating area, swing, chairs. Wish they had some sun umbrellas as we couldn't sit with our feet in sand as it was too hot, so had to sit on the deck. The whole fish meal was fresh, and very large portion. I preferred the fish tacos with coconut/ batter--really good. I believe the fish was mahi mahi. Wine selection sparse, but the white was cool and quenching. Best approached from the beach.
Visited a couple of times, service was always good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stonewashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    194
    75
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some changes good, some not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Still a great location on the beach, with the addition of loungers and chairs for sunset watching and enjoying a beer at the end of the day. I would like to see a smaller menu with more consistent food preparation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sasktraveler155042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to Aqua Sport to watch the sunset from the beach, The view was spectacular and the appetizers that we sampled, mussels and calamari were excellent. There are not that many places in the area where you can see the sunset in this area so this was a wonderful experience

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found this hidden jewel last Tuesday while we were walking down the beach. The vibrant colors & the lounge chairs attracted us to this place. We spent all day laying on the beach lounge chairs just relaxing and drinking Margaritas that were brought to us by very friendly staff. Just as we were getting ready to go a live music duo started playing so we stayed a while longer and had an amazing dinner -Try the Thai Fish and the Tato Burger- The next day we went back and did it all over again with such good luck that we found out that another local musician was playing that evening - Need I say more!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Toes in the sand, cold beer & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stopped at Aqua Sport on a quiet night but they invited us to come back the following night for live music...wish we could have come back as it sounds like fun from the other reviews! The food was good and service was friendly. The catch of the day and fish tacos (a slight coconut taste) were the best - really nicely prepared, tasty and a good value. The casado plate was good too. It sure was pleasant sitting outside in the warm air, beachfront on Playa Hermosa, enjoying good food and ice cold Imperial!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Sport also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Aqua Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing