We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Scott B
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed March 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent 8 days at Villa Rocmar, and could not be have been happier with the spectacular property, service, and stunning location.

We were two couples with 3 teen/pre-teen boys.

From the accommodations that included full bathrooms in all rooms, a great kitchen for cooking (if you so desired), a very nice pool table and tv room indoors, and a stunning outdoor pool area and covered patio with a ping pong table, everything was just first-class. We lived like royalty for a week, and the boys had a blast.

Playa Hermosa is also a great little town with a beach that is far nicer and less crowded than the more popular Playas Cocos down the road. There are several very good beach side restaurants, and a small grocery store in town that are handy if you need quick supplies, don't feel like cooking, or want to move from the pool to the beach. Playas Cocos offers a bit more, and has a more touristy feel, which can also be fun, and is a 10 minute drive away.

We would also point out that the popular Diamante zip lining park is an easy 25 minute drive away and highly recommend if you are travelling with teens.

You will want a rental car if you rent this property. It's an uphill drive for about 1.5km from the gate at the main road up to the house.

The caretaker at the property is very friendly and helpful.

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. This property truly made the trip special. It was safe, friendly, fantastic weather, and authentic.

The house is about 25 minutes from Liberia airport and easy to find.

One word of caution....if you book this with teenagers, you might be on the hook for a new rec room ping pong and pool table when you get back home.

Again, 5+ stars. We would come here again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottieW2...
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Spectacular views and an Amazing Villa”
Reviewed March 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

The photos of this property are spot on as this villa is magnificent! My experience was textbook perfect. The owner/management company were quick to respond during the entire process and their suggestions were excellent and very helpful. Playa Hermosa and Playa Coco were both the types of atmosphere we were looking for on this trip which was laid back. The Villa is about 1/2 hour from the Liberia Airport and that was a real plus. I would HIGHLY recommend getting a rental vehicle or at the very least securing a driver for your trip as there isn't much that is an "easy" walking distance from the Villa.
We did take a trip to Tamarindo which had WAY more activity than Hermosa or Coco. Tamarindo is a more touristy area but it also has surfer vibes, that being said, we preferred the Hermosa and Coco areas more.
Our group consisted of 4 couples, each bedroom having an en-suite was critical for us. The villa is large enough that any couple wanting privacy could do so with no worries. The kitchen is nicely equipped with a large refrigerator and most every pot, pan, or utensil you would need. We spent a lot of time at the pool soaking up the sun and the view...both of which were plentiful. There is an outdoor covered seating area which easily accommodated our group for outdoor meals as well as a built in grill and outdoor fridge (which we made good use of). If your group is looking for villa in a great location, with a full kitchen, plenty of space, and excellent views Villa Rocmar is worth exploring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin...
1 review
“Owners would not rent to group with young children”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The websites I have seen this property listed on all say something along the lines of "children welcome" and/or "family friendly." Unfortunately, this is not the experience I just had. My family and I are traveling to Costa Rica in June and attempted to book this home on a week listed as available. We have five adults and four young children in our party. After requesting to book, we spent the next several days going back and forth with the booking company via email answering questions from the owners. Initially we were advised the owners just needed a little more information about the children, which we provided as best we could. However, as the emails continued we were asked to confirm more specific information for each child, which we again provided. Towards the end we were advised that the owners were still deciding but that they seemed uncomfortable allowing small children on their property. Ultimately, approximately six days after making the initial request to book we were advised the owners declined to rent to us (and accepted another group's request to book our dates). I don't conceptually take issue with the owner's unwillingness to rent to families with young children, but it is misleading to list this property as children of all ages being welcome if they are not. We lost time that could have been spent securing an alternate home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2018
It is very unfortunate that you were misinformed on our property from the booking company. The booking company and all our websites indicates that we have restrictions regarding children, and that they maybe welcome upon request only. Our villa is located on a steep hill which also as a drop off by the pool area so we feel for safety reasons we need to ask the ages of the children before accepting a reservation. My only question with the representative was how old were the children. This is not a personal decision but this is a legal requirement. The safety of our guest is our 1st concern. The response was giving to the representative within 72 hours which is according to our policy. Why you received the response in 6 days we have no control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELK1989
Chester, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular home and breathtaking views!”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week in early June at this magnificent mountain top home with the most spectacular ocean views, framed by an infinity pool. The home was lavishly furnished and catered to all of our needs. The amenities were perfect for entertaining 5 college aged guests and three adults. The caretakers Marlon and Carmen were wonderful. Marlon kept the grounds perfectly manicured and the place in tip top shape. Carmen kept us well stocked in fresh clean towels and linens. We took advantage of both of their excellent culinary skills and had them cook us a wonderful dinner Costa Rican style. Vivian and Eric were immensely helpful in planning our tours and fishing trips. We rented a car as the beach is close, but the walk would be too long (and exhausting!) Grocery stores are nearby which was a plus with a hungry crew! We also took advantage of the local restaurants, which were very good. The views, ocean breezes and features of this home exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this home and wish we could wake up in it every day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
It pleases us greatly to read that you had such a good time in our wonderful villa and that you were happy with the services provided by our local caretakers and our representatives. It is our goal to make our guests feel at home and enjoy their vacation time to the fullest.
We would gladly welcome you back in our home on a future occasion, for you and your travel companions to enjoy anew the ocean breezes, the impressive view and the tranquility of the house.
Thank you for your visit! Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sferrall
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing house with an amazing view”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We travel often and can say without a doubt that we have never vacationed at a house that has better accommodations and a more spectacular view than Villa Rocmar. As soon as you walk into the house, you are met with a stunning view of the Ocean.

The interior of the house is beautifully decorated. Each bedroom provides plenty of privacy, its own balcony, bathroom and safe. There are gorgeous common rooms for entertaining. The family room has an awesome pool table and a large screen TV with a DVD player for those nights when you need some down-time. Cable and Wi-Fi kept the teens happy. We spent the majority of our time outside by the pool. The infinity pool is large and has a shallow end which is great for lounging and a spa section that looks out towards the ocean. There is a full outdoor kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator, a bar, a large gas grill and plenty of seating. The view from the deck and pool is absolutely spectacular!

Marlin and Carmen are the caretakers of the villa. They are both great people; very friendly, not intrusive and accommodating. Carmen cooks a fantastic authentic Costa Rican dinner.

This house is in a gated community ideally located near Playa Hermosa and a quick drive to Playa del Coco. I recommend that you have your own vehicle as driving is required to go anywhere from the villa. We did not mind because the location felt very safe.
We will definitely return as soon as possible!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our villa. We appreciate it. We are glad that the Villa RocMar and its amenities were to your liking and that you were well taken care off by our local staff. Our guests and their satisfaction are very important to us.
You are welcome anytime, so do hurry back! Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel G
Boucherville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing view!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is incredible, the pictures don't even make it justice. Upon arrival we are met with Marlon and Carmen the caretakers of the villa, they are both very friendly and eager to please. A care package was left for us with coffee, milk, cookies, chips and dip, this was very appreciated since we arrived late and did not have time to go to the store before arriving at the villa.

The villa is beautifully furnished and decorated inside and out. the pool is absolutely huge and is divided into several levels/sections so that the kids can play in the shallow end while the parents can relax in the spa section looking out towards the ocean. We saw Howler monkeys in the trees right behind the villa. Again the view is just amazing, and surprisingly we can hear the waves crashing on the beach.

Eric and Betsy were very helpful in suggesting good tour companies, we used Tico Tours Guanacaste, they are located just outside the gates of the community on the 1st entrance to the beach. Playa Hermosa has plenty of great restaurants within 5 minutes drive from the villa, and Playa del Coco is only 10 minutes away.

We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Dear Mylene and Michel,

Thank you for your kind words about the villa (you are right, it is a fabulous villa on an unique location), about Marlon and Carmen, and our team.
It was our pleasure to assist you in making your stay at the villa memorable and we are very happy that you had such a wonderful time.

We would look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion. It´s our goal to have people come as guests and leave as friends...

Saludos cordiales,
Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas Del Coco Guanacaste
Reviewed August 19, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing